We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Brownsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Brownsville to your Saves list
Courtyard Brownsville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3955 North Expressway 77/83, Brownsville, TX 78520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
Universal City, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We've been staying here for several years now whenever we go visit my husband's family. Our most recent visit was 6/20/2013. We had spent 2 days at the island (SPI) and were very disappointed with the Hilton Garden Inn & Suites there--which cost more than $400. My adult daughter picked up a stomach virus and was literally sick to her stomach when we checked out at noon. It was going to be a long wait before check in time at the Marriott. During our 30 min drive, I called the Marriott and explained our predicament. The desk clerk was most understanding and said there would be no problem checking in early and would have our room ready upon arrival. We got there about 12:45p.m. She immediately gave my daughter a key to the room (with a balcony even). Later on, when my daughter was feeling a little better, I asked the evening desk clerk if I could use the microwave there in the lobby. She not only said yes, but went on further to say she would send a fridge and microwave to our room to make things easier for us. I was most impressed with her offer and very grateful! By the time I got back from getting soups and drinks, about 15 min. later, a gentleman had already taken the fridge and miscrowave to our room. All this royal treatment and I only paid a TOTAL of $99+ tax for our 3-day stay! I have rewards with Marriott and had earned 2 free nights, which I used. I already have another free night which we will use very soon. I can't recall having problems during our stays at this hotel. The staff was AWESOME and went well beyond the call of duty this last go around.

Room Tip: We always request rooms on 3rd floor and away from elevator. VERY QUIET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctc78148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, General Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ctc78148,
Thank you for taking the time to review Courtyard Brownsville and for choosing us for your accommodations on 6/20/13. It is through our guest comments that we are able to succeed in providing the best quality of service.
I am sorry to hear about your daughter getting sick during your visit and I am pleased to learn that our staff was accommodating and understanding to your situation. I am happy that our staff’s quick response to your needs and initiative to go beyond your expectations made you feel impressed during your stay. Our staff at Courtyard Brownsville works hard every day to meet each guest’s unique needs during their every stay. I will definitely share your comments with the entire team and acknowledge the desk clerks that helped you during your stay for their awesome job. They will be extremely happy and grateful to hear this.
I thank you for being a member of Marriott rewards and on behalf of myself and all of the Courtyard staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Thomas P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stay at this property often for work. The staff is very attentive and willing to go out of their way for you. It appears there are all new mattresses in the rooms. Good location for great restaurants and mall. There is no longer a hot tub at this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, General Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear ilovecincy,

It is wonderful to know that you often stay at Courtyard Brownsville during your business trips. We are glad to be able to accommodate your lodging needs and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Our staff strives to meet each guest’s expectations on their every stay and they will be very happy to learn about your feedback.
We recently got new mattresses in June of 2013 and we have had excellent feedback from many of our guests so far. We are centrally located in the heart of Brownsville surrounded by many local attractions, such as great restaurants and the mall as you mentioned.
I apologize for the recent removal of our spa. Ownership carefully evaluated the costs to maintain the spa over its lifetime, including monthly maintenance, chemicals and other operation expenses. Upon review, it was determined that the cost to operate the spa overweighed the value of the spa as an amenity
We look forward to continuing to serve you during your travels to Brownville Texas to ensure that you always have a great trip.
Best Regards,
Thomas P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was ok at best. I think it was a little high for the quality of the room. It had a place for a mini fridge but no fridge. The TV could not be watched from the bed. It was just an ok hotel. The check in desk people were very nice. Parking lot could use more lighting very dark

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, General Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jeff P.

Thank you for choosing Courtyard during your business trip to Brownsville and for taking the time to review our hotel. I understand that you have a choice when you travel, and I am glad you chose us for your accommodations.

I am pleased that you found our desk people to be very nice. They work hard to always exceed our guest’s service expectations.

I understand that your stay left you with the impression of an okay hotel and high for the quality of the room. I would like to share with you that we do have complimentary mini refrigerators and microwaves available upon guest request including a full service lounge and room service available Monday thru Thursday. We also provide free upgrades upon availability. I will inform my desk staff about your concerns so that we can create more awareness of what we have to offer at Courtyard Brownsville.

The safety of our guest is our priority and I will be meeting with our maintenance department to ensure that all parking lot lights are working properly and to purchase brighter light to enhance the lighting in our parking lot.

I hope that you consider staying with us in the future and give us an opportunity to win you back when you travel to Brownsville.

Best Regards,

Thomas P. and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading other reviews on this hotel it seems most of us have the same opinion: average. Although, my first impression was "this is a really nice hotel." But, the longer my stay was the more I realized management should reconsider some decisions. The first couple of mornings breakfast was served fresh on porcelain dishes and with silverware. My last morning it was served with styrofoam plates and plastic utensils and the food was starting to taste like it was being recycled from days before. The pool was not maintained very well. This should be managements focal point given the fact most visitors are in the area to soak up the sun. Had I not visited the pool or stayed more than a couple of days, I would have given this hotel an "Excellent" rating.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, General Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Connoisseur77,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Brownsville and for staying at our location during your business trip in March.
It is through our guest comments that we are able to track and measure our guest’s satisfaction and improve our overall performance. Our primary goal is to exceed our guest’s expectations with their every stay. During the month of March we anticipate sports groups on weekends and as a convenience to these groups we provide disposable tableware. I have met with our team and we will implement having the option of porcelain plates and silverware including disposable tableware available on the weekends. I do apologize for the quality of food you had on your last day with us and I have also met with our staff to ensure this does not happen again.
Most visitors do look forward to soaking up the sun in the pool area, and I sincerely apologize for the poor maintenance you found at the pool during your stay. I assure you I have met with our maintenance team to resolve these issues and ensure we meet our guests’ expectations.
Please visit us again when in Brownsville, we look forward to serving you soon.
Attentively,
Thomas P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location, across the highway from the Mall and numerous restaurants. There isn't anything wrong with this hotel, it is just your average Courtyard. The staff was friendly and the hotel was in good shape overall. There were little things, your average wear and tear type things that didn't appear to be taken care of. Not sure how old the property is, but it is starting to show some age? The rooms were in good shape and were clean. I did not eat in-house for any meal, so no comments about the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear travelnow39,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Brownsville during business travel in March, I am happy to know that you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms clean and in good shape.
Courtyard Brownsville is still one of the newest hotels in town and I thank you for noticing we are in good shape overall. Our team works hard every day to ensure our guests experience a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I have met with our team and we will be walking our property to target the little things that reflect wear and tear and we will fix them immediately.
I invite you to visit us again when you are in the area and try our restaurant services. We are open for Breakfast every morning including dinner and hospitality hour Monday-Thursday evenings. We look forward to serving you soon.
Attentively,
Thomas P.
Manager at Courtyard Brownsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Nice clean hotel. Lobby is busy in the evenings with meetings, picture takeing and even a get rich quick seminar one night LOL!! Never bothered me. On second floor. Thin walls. Kids loud at pool until 9pm. Guy working with me was above me and it sounded like he was dancing with every step. All and all not bad. Front desk had cookies after 7pm if you ask. Breakfast was usual normal. What was not usual was a lady hovering over you, jocking for a tip in a self service area. Makes you feel uncomfortable


As always I carry a small fan and put a white cloth behind it for huge noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear TexasFight1979

Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott in Brownsville during your 2 week stay and for taking the time to review our hotel in Tripadvisor. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re glad you chose us for your accommodations.

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. Every day we work hard to exceed our customer’s expectations. The hotel strives for our guests to have an enjoyable and comfortable experience.

We are sorry about the noise you experienced and we thank you for your patience with this matter during the weekend when we had sports teams.

We would like to thank you for your views during the restaurant breakfast time, we have met with our restaurant staff to ensure we provide a relaxed and pleasant experience during breakfast hours.

Thanks again, please think of us on your next visit to Brownsville!


Best Regards,
Thomas P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

All the usual Courtyard amenities, with an attentive staff.

I received a voucher for a free breakfast when I checked in, but I was never charged the mornings I ate downstairs.

The food I saw being served for dinner while having a drink looked like just your average bar fare, although the salsa with the happy hour snacks was excellent and made fresh. Unless your'e dead tired, it's worth it to head out to one of the nearby local restaurants for dinner. Unfortunately, none are within walking distance. There is a gas grill available for guest use on the patio by the pool.

For some reason the pool was closed, though it looked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS P, Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear rtj17

Thank You for staying at Courtyard Marriott during your business travel to Brownsville, I understand you have a choice in hotels and I am glad you chose us for your lodging needs.
Thank for taking the time to review our hotel, every guest’s comments help us to improve our quality of service. I am glad to know that you found our staff to be attentive and that you enjoyed our homemade salsa during happy hour.
Our hotel is centrally located on the north side of Brownsville across the main expressway from several great restaurants and shopping centers and we do provide a complimentary shuttle to these locations.
I do regret that you did not have the opportunity to use our pool during your stay. We had it closed for preventive maintenance to ensure the quality and standards of the pool. I thank you for your patience with this matter and I hope that you visit us again when in Brownsville, Texas.

Best Regards,

Thomas P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownsville North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Brownsville
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Brownsville
Residence Inn Brownsville
#7 of 28 in Brownsville
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#6 of 28 in Brownsville
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Brownsville

Address: 3955 North Expressway 77/83, Brownsville, TX 78520
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Brownsville 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our newly renovated Courtyard Brownsville hotel welcome you to the heart of the Rio Grande Valley. Perfect for business or leisure travel, our Brownsville, Texas hotel is located near UT Brownsville, Gladys Porter Zoo, Sunrise Mall and is a short drive from South Padre Island and Matamoros, Mexico. Businesses near our hotel include Delphi, Keppel AmFELS, Port of Brownsville and Homeland Security facilities. Getting around is easy with our free shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. Relax in your recently renovated guest room with luxurious Marriott bedding, microwave, mini-fridge and HDTV with premium channels. When traveling for business, our Brownsville, TX hotel will help keep you productive with free internet access and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Drop by our café for a hearty breakfast, stay fit in our Brownsville hotel fitness center or relax by our outdoor pool and patio/BBQ area. Planning an event? Our versatile Brownsville meeting space can host up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Brownsville Hotel Brownsville
Brownsville Marriott
Brownsville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing