We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos de la Rosa

Mariscos de la Rosa
7738 Padre Island Highway, Brownsville, TX 7852
+1 956-550-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 300 Restaurants in Brownsville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great food, service was a little slow but worth waiting for since the food was very good. I ordered a shrimp cocktail and didn't like the fact that the shrimp was whole and not cut into pieces. Otherwise good food and good atmosphere too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Among the best seafood restaurants in the Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We just discovered this place recently and it immediately became one of our favorite seafood restaurants in the Valley. We ordered the shrimp soup, which was very good, the shrimp cocktail (probably the best one we've eaten in the Valley) and the filete Moctezuma (fish filet with tender cactus and gratin cheese, cooked in a beer sauce), which was also very good! Generally, the portions are big, so consider that when you order!

My only issue with this restaurant is that it is a little bit noisy when crowded, so it is not the best place to go if you want to have a nice chat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner with company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

WOW! Have been living in this city (winter Texan) for almost 3 years and just discovered this place now. Looks like not much from the outside and the parking is always full, good sign number one. We had the shrimp cocktail, fried calamari and the seafood platter; all was shared between 3 of us. Add two beers each and dinner was less than $50 and the food was amazing. Fresh, local ingredients make this place rock. You gotta eat here, ok!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The fish soup is great. The Seafood Platter is amazing...a little of everything (lots of shrimp!). Loved it. It's a small family open area dining area. Nothing fancy and it doesn't need to be. The food is great and so is the service!! Can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmito, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in the Rio Grande Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I went for lunch and it was packed and rightly so. It was an extremely pleasant experience. I had Shrimp Velancia and it was better than excellent. The restaurant was also nice enough to substitute veggies for the rice it is usually served with. The service was excellent too. The place is rather plain but clean but who cares with the food they serve. They only have fish and shrimp dishes or at least that's all I saw and the choice was difficult to make. They all sounded so good. Check out their web site for hours...they are not open very late.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos de la Rosa also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mariscos de la Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos de la Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.