We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toscafino Ristorante & Pizzeria

Toscafino Ristorante & Pizzeria
3001 Pablo Kisel Boulevard, Suite N, Brownsville, TX 78526
+1 956-574-9888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 273 Restaurants in Brownsville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Here at Toscafino, we're committed to providing the most satisfying Italian dining experience possible for every guest. We serve fresh, authentic foods at reasonable prices and pride ourselves in our excellent customer service. A cozy, inviting atmosphere allows our guests to feel welcomed and appreciated during every visit. Our chefs use the freshest ingredients and everything is made from scratch, in-house daily. Our brick oven artisanal pizza is the best around. Choose from our selection of fine wines to enhance your meal and remember our pleasant patio is ideal for dining alfresco with family and friends. Toscafino is the place to be, whether you're looking for a quick tasty lunch, an exquisite romantic dinner, a cozy place for happy hour with friends, a classy place to enjoy a varietal of fine wines or a hospitable venue for a memorable family reunion, private party or special event. We want the Toscafino experience to be unique and memorable. We believe our restaurant belongs to every customer and through their continued satisfaction and patronage this tradition will continue. Our mission is not just to be another place to eat but to be considered a second home for the wonderful people of the Rio Grande Valley .
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing place to eat with good service in Brownsville, give them a try. The atmosphere is not typical to the normal chain restaurants in Brownsville. I would consider this an upscale casual restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Hondo, Texas
1 review
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had our company Christmas dinner this year and we had a great experience at Toscafino's. The food was great and the service was excellent. There was background music playing and it was nice and not so loud so that we could still have a conversation without having to raise our voices. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody.

~American Contracting U.S.A., Inc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmito, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The place at least has an excellent atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food was overpriced for Brownsville and over priced for what it was. I had the tortellini and it was tough and the sauce was water thin. It was tasty though and a pretty plate. The service was pretty good. The atmosphere is very good with a piano in the background. I believe I was overcharged and I just made my fifth call trying to get someone to address the problem. No one will return my call and this used to be one of my favorite restaurants but they will have a hard time getting me back. The prices are much higher than listed on this site. It was $92 for dinner for two with only coffee...should have been $82...and that's still too high. This restaurant isn't what it used to be and the food isn't as good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great at times, but inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I have eaten at Toscafino's about eight times in the past two years. Once or twice we had one of our best meals since I moved back to the Valley five years ago. Several times, however, the food was not so great and/or the service indifferent. Our last visit is an example. We live in Harlingen and decided to take our Dallas house guests to Toscafino's despite several mediocre experiences the past year. Everyone loved the food and the service was quite good. And the background music was delightful as usual. The only problem was the bar. The bartender on Friday, July 20 (waiter later told us he was filling in) made every mistake imaginable ... eg, watered down drinks, wrong drinks, slow service. That frustratied the waiter as well as the four of us and kept us from having a five star dining experience. I keep wondering if Toscafino's, which could be one of the Valley's best, has gone through frequent ownership or management changes in the past three years. We will continue to dine at Toscafino's, though infrequently, but will not introduce the restaurant to any more of our friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Came for a late night meal on a business trip. The entertainment was actually very good as background music so we could still talk. Martinis tasted watered dow. We had to keep on the waiter for timely service as this place has the reputation for lax srevice. Everyone said their meal was good, but nothing more. Food was italian with a touch of Mexico.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscafino Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Toscafino Ristorante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscafino Ristorante & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.