We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family attraction - no complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gladys Porter Zoo

Gladys Porter Zoo
500 Ringgold St., Brownsville, TX 78520
956-546-7187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Brownsville
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known to be one of the best zoos in the United States, open every day of the year.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good family attraction - no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our extended family visited the zoo (first time here for me) and we really enjoyed it. It was a gorgeous day, weather-wise, and we enjoyed the wide paths and the variety of animals. The grounds were clean, and the animal enclosures seemed maintained and the animals well cared for. We appreciated being able to rent a wheel chair for our dad ($6) at the gift shop. Restrooms were okay. Gift shop had a good mix of items (pricing and quality). I would definitely go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    64
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So So...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went this past weekend and its a small zoo that needs lots of improvements. Some areas are without animals...but the kids had fun. Theres a petting zoo so the kids loved the interaction with the animals. Not many options to grab snacks. We were in an out in about 2 hrs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Zoo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great zoo, very nice landscaping, clean grounds and habitats. We have been to zoos all around the country and this is by far one of the best. The layout & design of the grounds and enclosures may even make it at the top of my list. The animals seemed content and very well cared for. And as a bonus the zoo was not crowded at all and the animals were visible. How many times have you been to the zoo and seen just the last 4 inches of the tiger's tail? Not so here, while the animals did have privacy available in their habitats they all seemed to be front and center today. The gorillas were the highlight, plan to spend 20 minutes or so watching their antics!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day with the family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are a family of 6 with two teenagers and two under ten. We had a lovely day at the zoo. It was engaging for all ages. The food was reasonably priced. We did not visit the gift shop. There were a few incidents of trash near the water features, but all the animals looked very healthy and well cared for. Our oldest-18-said she had more fun here than at the Memphis zoo, which we have frequented for years. As a parent, the $54 cost for all six to get in was a little pricy, but I also understand privatized zoos have to turn a profit. It was worth the money after the 5 hours we enjoyed as a family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first time there and I was greatly surprised by how nice this zoo was. Lots too see. Very well set up, clean and very friendly staff. I will visit again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys Porter Zoo also viewed

 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gladys Porter Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladys Porter Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.