We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful Zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gladys Porter Zoo

Gladys Porter Zoo
500 Ringgold St., Brownsville, TX 78520
956-546-7187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Brownsville
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known to be one of the best zoos in the United States, open every day of the year.
knoxville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Not only a great zoo but during the Christmas season you get to see the Christmas Village. The zoo has so MANY great exhibits in a "natural" setting. South Texas has so much to offer PLUS the best weather in the entire U.S.!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    64
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Celebrating 40 years of the Gladys Porter Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recall my first visit to the Gladys Porter Zoo being in about 1976. The pink flamigos welcomed everyone to the Zoo...the flock stood up front saying "Welcome to the Zoo"...being sub Tropical in climate the small Zoo was a great source of adventure for the Border Community and the Rio Grande Valley. Today, it is a natural science experience in Zoology and Biology, it offers workshops in Earth Science and Animal Husbandry. You can walk and talk and share life from all 7 continents. The exposure has grown to be an International Attraction offering educational, investment and otherwise, family fun in the sun with a day of spotting, pointing and sharing the discoveries of the WILDS.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very NIce Smaller Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited over the Thanksgiving holiday. Very well laid out with many different species. Easy to walk the whole zoo in an afternoon. Plenty of shady areas. Probably the biggest collection of snakes I've ever seen. Free parking, very reasonable entry fees.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I love this zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This was the most unique zoo I've been to. Such a cool thing to see animals with no bars or caging. I loved the free roaming birds, the cockatoo, and of course giraffes & kangaroos. I will tell my friends home this is a must see..!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“You're in the wilds of Africa, Asia, and Texas when you step in!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been going to this zoo since I was a kid and every year it seems that there is something new to see. For example, I was recently amazed to see a pair of exotic komdo dragons- the world's largest lizards, wow !!! You may also see a kookaburra, an American bald eagle, a white rino, a colorful tucan in the same day, as well as a host of other exotic and endangered animals. The nice thing about the zoo is the fact that most of the animals are not in cages. They roam about on little island and canals the meander through the zoo. The natural habitats have been re-created so that the visitor almost has the feeling that he or she might actually be wandering on a bush walk at Kruger National Park in South Africa,( I've been there too) and the feeling you get at Gladys Porter is about the same !! The best way to see everthing is to walk and this is the one thing that may tire some people out. However, there are also restrooms, benches,and places to eat so don't let that discourage you. I'ts a great place for family too- the kids love it!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys Porter Zoo also viewed

 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gladys Porter Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladys Porter Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.