We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Brownsville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   825 North Expressway 83, Brownsville, TX 78520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Brownsville
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Business in Brownsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place was perfect for one night on a very fast business trip at the University of Texas for Texas Parks and Wildlife. I was able to get my laundry done, go swimming and enjoy the out of doors all while staying here. There is Wifi for checking email and doing last minute business planning and corresponding. It is clean and the people are friendly. Breakfast is available in the cafeteria in the mornings at 7....coffee, oj and waffles plus other great things are available. Well, worth $39.99 plus tax on "a Volunteer Facilatator Budget".

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor, but there are 3 stories....go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Like many other reviews the room was horrible. No fitted sheets on the mattress. Disgusting room accommodations. Ive stayed in old hotel rooms but this hotel was just not cleaned properly or maintained. Worst of all is that their business practices are sneaky! They charged my spouse the room he signed the debit card slip charge and was given a key. We were so grossed out by our room that we requested a refund for our day two booking. They said there are no refunds but realized that they never gave my spouse a paper that they give the customers to sign. (Form is a information sheet that explains no refunds etc.) They were reluctant to help much. We had to wait till the owner returned calls. Luckily, we were given a refund because they knew they messed up by not presenting him that form. Buyers tip check out the room first! We learned our lesson!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Front desk women were a little rude. The hotel was average. They breakfast was nice. They had waffles, cereal, juice and cofee with a t.v while you eat. The room was clean, the beds were ok, they Didnt put fitted sheets on the mattress, which was uncomfortable through the night they kept slipping off mattress, I thought that was odd. Who the heck does that, the pillows were flat. The mattresses were weak. The restrooms were ok, old. So I thought maybe they made a mistake not putting fitted sheets on the mattress but I went to my moms room and the same thing no fitted sheets on the mattress and her sheets were all off too. Terrible. I wouldnt stay here ever again. The rooms did have a refrigerator and microwave, cable and a pool. There was not a jacuzzi. There is a bbq pit and a table by the pool. and a hose in the parking lot. One washing machine and dryer. Not a good view from window.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with company employees. We had 4 rooms. Three of us had to change rooms right after check in because of the strong mold smell in the rooms. After finally getting settled in a decent room the stay was not too bad. The beds and other furniture was in bad need of an update. Someone needs to buy this hotel and remodel it. The location is good and the rooms are good sized.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I selected this hotel because it had a low price and was very highly rated on Tripadvisor. I don't believe the glowing reviews were honest. This place was poorly maintained and I was not comfortable there . Positive: the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Negative: the common areas were dirty, the plumbing fixtures were old and cranky, and the desk chair literally fell apart as I sat in it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice hotel in a great location. Great room, nice decor and comfortable beds. Would stay there again any time.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you posed your feelings on Tripadvisor, I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Marisol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our family's first time visiting South Padre. The price of the room for a double queen was fantastic. The room was always cold, which was a blessing with the heat. Everyone was very friendly. They did provide us with free WiFi. The pool was over chlorinated, but we prefer over verses none at all. We paid for a big room & got it. That was important to us. We were ok without a huge breakfast or mints on our pillows.

I did have a concern about the broken lock on the side door. Made me a bit nervous with us being on the first floor with 2 kids. But all in all, our stay was well worth the money. If we were to visit South Padre in the future, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay I hope to see you again soon

Thank You

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 825 North Expressway 83, Brownsville, TX 78520
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Brownsville, located near Gladys Porter Zoo. Our property is conveniently located just 4 miles from Matamoros, Mexico and minutes from area attractions like Sunrise Mall, Gladys Porter Zoo, South Padre Island and University of Texas at Brownsville. Valley Regional Medical Center is also nearby. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Full service amenities and features include: FREE high-speed Internet access, FREE American breakfast, FREE local and valley-wide calls, FREE coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.