We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulfstream Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corpus Christi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulfstream Condominium
Save
You added Gulfstream Condominium to your Saves list
14810 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel made our short vacation in Corpus Christi an absolute delight. The staff was very friendly and always present to help with whatever we needed-restaurant advice, etc... The room itself was great. A nice large kitchen with plenty of storage. The kitchen was very clean and updated.the bedrooms were spacious, private, and cool (a must for our Canadian family). Having two bathrooms for the 5 members of our family was a nice change and made mornings much easier. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers were warm and comfortable. The beach was absolute paradise. This is one of the best kept secrets in all of Texas. It's very under developed which makes it quiet and private. The water is crystal clear and very warm. The waves are small and lots of fun to play in. The beach is immaculate and allows for you to park there (with the purchase of a permit for $12 at any stripes location, that's good for the whole year). This made carrying all of our beach supplies much easier! There is some action at the beach at nighttime but nothing outrageously noisy. We never used the pool on our stay but it was popular with others and appeared to be clean and well kept. The pool was quite active at night time however all activity promptly ceased at 10 when it closed.We had a nice balcony that had a fantastic view of the ocean, one thing we would have liked was some patio furniture so we could sit outside. Housekeeping came and went while we were at the beach and did a quick and efficient job. We always felt safe and never once worried about security. We hope to return to this resort again soon!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Met up with our daughter and her family to share a short vacation. For us it was a big trip coming from Tucson, Az. But the end result was perfect from every aspect. The condo was in a great location and view off the Gulf and the sand dunes from our lovely balcony was the best part. The wildlife was such a treat for us desert dwellers as well as for our grandson. The weather was perfect everyday. First two days had some clouds and the last day was real sunny. Always have a gentle ocean breeze especially on the balcony. A very modern kitchen with Stainless appliances. Split bedrooms so we had our privacy. The pool was also a highlight for the kids. Couldn't get grandson out of the water with lots of kids to play with. You have BBQ's in the pool area if you want to cook. Maid service daily. The front desk people were helpful when we asked any questions about where to eat etc??? Swimming in the Gulf was great. Warm waters, gentle waves, only caveat was some seaweed but even that was not the yukky kind that is slimy. Again, a real treat for us desert dwellers. All in all, you can't go wrong at Gulfstream.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our stay the Gulfstream Condos over the 4th of July week. Our unit was nicely furnished and had a nice front view of the beach. The gulfstream is right on the beach, so there is no hiking or crossing roads to get there. The pool is good sized and has a deep end which my kids enjoyed. Housekeeping is just chaning towels and taking the trash away, which was fine with me.

I have mixed reviews of the beach itself. They let cars drive on the beach so the sand is compacted and fairly hard. There is a fair amount of seaweed which I think is fairly typical of the Texas beaches I have visited. They did have bulldozers come out a couple of times to scrape the seaweed up off the beach. Waves were pretty good. Water was warm, but not too warm.

Overall, we had a very nice visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

If you're looking for a fancy schmancy resort this is not it. These are individually owned condos on the Gulf of Mexico. They are all different, but all nice. Some of my best childhood memories are of this place, and now I plan on taking my son as often as possible. And don't tell but North Padre is an amazing beach that's light on crowds. Also, eat at Snoopy's if you're looking for good fresh seafood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

they charged us for damage we did not create. Stay clear of this property.

Room Tip: Room 316 both beds squeaked
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

We checked out the reviews of several properties before booking here. Overall, we were pleased with our experience. The room was large with two bedrooms and two baths and a balcony overlooking the gulf. The beach was right outside the gate. Our two teenagers loved the pool too which was always warm. Housekeeping was only seen twice in our four night stay and then at weird times--6 pm one night, 9am on the day we checked out! And bring your own shampoo as none is provided. Even with that, we would come back as it's a great value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our family visited Padre Island at the end of March 2012. The Gulfstream Condominiums is an older complex, but all of the complexes/hotels in that area are. The units evidentally are all different and I feel like we got a typical unit. There were some upgrades and overall very nice. One bedroom had a King which was had an extra firm mattress. The other bedroom had two twins which were perfect. It should be noted that the two bedrooms are not "really" two bedrooms. One of the bedrooms is separated from the livingroom by a sliding wall of louvers. This actually worked perfectly for our situation and when we opened the "wall", it really opens up the living room to the view. But I can see situations where this would not work and it was never disclosed anywhere I remember. Normally I would not rate a property of this age with 5 stars, but: #1 - The staff is all very nice, helpful and friendly. #2 - The rooms and the whole complex are very clean and well kept. #3 - We absolutely loved the pool. Many places you go say they have a "heated" pool and you get there and its not true. This pool was truly heated, very warm... we loved it... especially on the colder days!! We would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are three levels of pricing. We chose the middle level (partial view) room. We were very hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulfstream Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulfstream Condominium

Address: 14810 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gulfstream Condominium Hotel Corpus Christi
Gulfstream Hotel Corpus Christi
Gulfstream Condo Corpus Christi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulfstream Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.