We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Corpus Christi
denton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The location opposite the marina is great with local restaurants within easy walking distance. Would recommend water street oyster bar and restaurant for their great daily specials. Breakfast at the hotel could be improved on but they are currently renovating the 11th floor restaurant so this could of been just be bad timing on our part.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we appreciate your input regarding our breakfast. We are currently renovating our entire 11th floor and are expecting to be complete by April 2011. Please come back and see our wonderful view from the 11th floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    155
    89
    49
    35
See reviews for
155
141
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have young boys (6 & 4) who have been begging to go to the beach. So we squeezed in quick 4 days to catch some sun and sand. We live in Texas and wanted somewhere not crowded, a quick drive from central Texas and had nearby attractions in case we bored or it rained.

Coprus Chrisiti was the perfect fit. Best Western Marina was the perfect choice as well for our family.

We had a double room with queen beds. No molding smell that you usually get from sea side hotels. It had a small fridge and microwave which was a life saver for mid night snacks and cold drinks.

We had a room on teh 8th floor that have a great view of downtown, the pool, cool boats in the marina and the sea wall. Awesome. I got up early most mornings to catch the sunrise and read a book.

Staying at this hotel put you less than 5 mins from the beach, aquarium, USS Lex, and a gazzillion little parks and playgrounds.

Roof top breakfast was served hot by a busy and friendly staff and offered the most amazing 180 degree view of the bay, downtown, the statue of Jesus and the Lex.

They are pretty firm about their 4:00 check in. We arrived around 3:15 and waiting in the lobby. they did offer to allow us to hang out in the pool.

We did use there pool. A little small but every one made it work and it was not nasty or overly warm in any way.

the beds were comfy. linens were clean (we checked) and bathrooms were adequate.

I plan on returning. It was great value for price and location.

it is not five star but delivered on all my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The hotel is showing its age for sure. Because we had our small dog with us, they charged us an extra $25. The hotel had only a few handicapp parking spaces and parking is a challenge even if you are not handicapped. We were approached by a street person trying to pull off some kind of scam while parking almost a half a block away. The staff when we were there didnt have a clue I dont even know if the girl knew where she was! However, the view was beautiful and the room was clean. The bed was broken on one corner, my corner of course and we paid $125 for that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time write a review regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days with my husband and young children. I think the rooms are a great value with breakfast included and the free parking. The marina is right across the street where there are some good places to eat (Landry's, Joe's Crab Shack, etc). My main problem with this hotel is the lack of any kind of security in the parking garage. We had about $1000 worth of stuff stolen out of our vehicle. They know this is a problem and do not do anything to protect the guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time write a review regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. We have recently added security cameras to several areas in our hotel, including our parking lot. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Our room had a king size bed, frig & microwave, tv, table. Separate sitting section with hair dryer & coffeepot. Standard bathroom. Our room overlooked the What-A-Burger. Landry's & Joe's Crab Shack within walking distance. Front of the building faces the water & sidewalk to walk along the water. Clean room. Great breakfast on the 11th floor which overlooks the water. Pleasant setting. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

While touring the USS Lexington Aircraft Carrier Museum , we chatted with a woman from Minnesota; we asked where she was staying and she highly recommended the Best Western Marina Grand Hotel -- saying she and her hubby now make this a destination every year.

Wow, what a recommendation -- the room was very, very clean and very well-appointed. I could lie in bed and watch the glorious sunrise over the marina. At night, we opened the windows for a cool breeze.

We had planned on staying only one night, but after a good night's rest, we decided to extend our stay. Breakfast on the 11th floor with views of the water was a perfect way to start our day.

The restaurant recommended by the hotel personnel was absolutely delightful -- wonderful wait staff and the fare was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Was and Awesome location to everything and located right on the bay. Was never too hot due to the wind right off the bay and the staff was great. plenty of parking and they give you a real breakfast every morning a hot breakfast! Your right across the street from Captain Clack's flag ship, Joe's Crab shack, walking distance to the Selena Memorial and the Pinta' replica ( Christopher Columbus ship) there is just too much there to put it all. You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel

Address: 300 North Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corpus Christi Marina Grand Hotel. Overlooking Corpus Christi Bay and Marina, the hotel is across from the historic seawall, and minutes from beautiful beaches, restaurants, fishing boats, piers, golf courses, museums and attractions, such as the American Bank Center Arena, Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Selena Museum and Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.