We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time and will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   15202 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We had a great time and will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We just had a great weekend stay at this hotel. If you know what you want to do, have your priorities straight, and come with the proper set of expectations, it's a blast. The location is fantastic both for staying put or as a base for excursions to Port A or into Corpus Christi.

The hotel is literally on the seawall and is steps from the waves and has a really fun Jimmy Buffet-like groove. It's enjoyable to be around other guests and families who are having fun too. The live music all day Saturday (starting around 1PM with the first band, and wrapping up at around 10PM with the second band) was fantastic. And people actually danced at night, both adults and kids!

We normally stay further down the seawall at a condo, but waited too long to plan our trip this year, so ended up renting a room here. While it's certainly more cramped than a 2 bedroom condo for a family of 4, we're hardly ever in the room, and it wasn't as much an issue as I had worried it might be. There is a microwave and mini-fridge so if you pack the right snack and sandwich stuff, you'll be ok without having to pay to eat out a lot.

The rooms are standard size rooms and everything was more than adequate with the physical accommodations. Beds are super comfortable, WiFi reliable, and bathrooms good enough. For a beach hotel, this is all I ask. It's an older remodeled property and it serves its purpose of putting you right on the beach.

Our room was near the front corner, top floor. overlooking the pool and bar/cabana area and live music. From the room, the music can be heard clearly. If you don't want this noise, ask for a room on the north side of the hotel. If you have small kids that need to nap in the afternoon, or you want quiet before 10PM, don't stay o the south side during party season. But, if you're that noise intolerant, maybe a completely different hotel is needed. This is a place where people are having fun and it's noisy.

Another reviewer mentioned staying further away and driving or taking a cab to the beach instead of paying the higher room rate. That's the worst idea I've ever heard. I've been coming to this beach since 1981. By staying in the hotel, you have the following routine available:

1) Walk from room to waves, barefoot with just your towel and bathing suit, and be in the water in 3 minutes. Do this multiple times a day and it's worth ever penny to pay more for location. Riding a cab would be insane and it would be extremely limiting.

2) Get out of the ocean, walk to the showers near the pool and wash off all the sand. Try working this out in a rental car or cab. Major hassle, sand everywhere. Don't try it, it would be dumb.

3) Get into the pool and/or hot tub and relax/swim for a while longer. Coming off the beach and being able to rinse and swim, or soak in the hottub (which was in fact very hot) is a major convenience and adds to the relaxation. There are two pools and plenty of lounge furniture. Also some covered tables in the cabana and seating at an outdoor bar. Not quite at "resort" level as far as size, but more of a boutique experience that is more than adequate.

4) Hang out at the bar/cabana area and get some cold drinks or icy fruit drinks for kids. This is available any time, whether after a swim or not.

5) Head back to the room to change, rest, snack or order a pizza and eat outside.

If you want the ability to have a rhythm to your day without having to exert much energy or get into a hot vehicle, this hotel provides that opportunity. We're veteran beach travelers (at least twice a year, every year) and our routine is to hit the waves very early each morning before it gets to hot, chill out midday, swim in the pool, and hit the waves again late afternoon. Fun time, pool, day trips and excursions are in between and at night. This has worked well for us.

We did order a pizza for lunch just as the band started at 1Pm on a Saturday, and the pizza was surprisingly excellent. Really good. Obviously cooked in a real pizza oven. Actually, I was stunned at how good it was. We never ate in the restaurant or ordered anything else so I can't comment on it otherwise, but I did go inside for a look around, check the menu, and it looks like a nice place to sit and look out at the ocean while eating, but I doubt the food is award winning. I wouldn't expect more than a pricey Denny's-Level food experience, but the setting and view are nice. There is also in indoor bar adjacent to the restaurant, good for those who want to stay out of the sun and in cooler temperatures.

Is there a lot I could complain about? Probably. The elevators are slow. So what? Who cares, you're at the beach. That's what bugs me about some of these reviews. A hotel like this gets battered by wind, sun, sand and salt water. Wet and sandy people (who didn't properly rinse at the shower) are coming in and out of the lobby all day and night. There is a yellow "wet floor" caddy in the lobby most of the time. The floor is wet, There is sand on the carpet in the hallway. There are loud kids and sun burnt parents. That's why we're all there. It can't be reviewed from the same mindset or set of standards one might use for a downtown Hyatt. IT'S A BEACH HOTEL! Cut it some slack and focus on what's important instead of nitpicking the little stuff.

If you know how to have fun, organize your day trips and activities, and take advantage of the benefits of the location and you just want to get in a lot of easy and convenient time on the beach, this spot is a great choice, with or without kids. You'll have a great time if you don't sweat the small stuff and you allow yourself to just have fun on your vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    106
    84
    50
    58
See reviews for
141
96
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We just got back from a short weekend stay and were a little taken by the high price tag. We knew from other reviews that the workmanship at the hotel left a lot to be desired, but the rooms appeared clean enough. We paid $195 with a gov. discount and we were facing the street. They wanted almost $70 more for a "window" than can barely be seen through that sort of looks at the beach and they call it an "ocean view". There are very few rooms that are actually "ocean front" so good luck trying to get one of those in high season for under $300 per night. We did have a giant roach in our bathroom sink the second morning (KEEP your drains CLOSED!). Not sure if it came up the drain or what, but I threw my toothbrush away just in case-LOL. The Bath and Body Works amenities were a nice touch, but did not warrant a Sunspree Resort classification for this hotel. The pool was OK, but one pool was full of beer by the end of the day and smelled like vomit. We were traveling with 2 families, with 5 kids from 2-13 yrs. old, so all of the sloppy drunk patrons was a bit of a turn off. The beach was nice, though, and there was plenty of room to relax. There were beach cabanas for rent each morning, priced $60, $70, and $80 (according to how close you are to the ocean). There was a wedding taking place on the beach the Sat. evening we were there, and I felt so sorry for them because the hotel didn't rope off the area so people were trampling though their wedding photos like they weren't in the middle of a ceremony. The hotel should have asked the other people on the beach to please move to the side of the photos or something. There was basically a rectangle of nicely decorated chairs and a wedding alter facing the ocean that was surrounded by drunk, bathing suit clad loud people. I've seen MANY beach weddings (including my own in Jamaica:), and this was by far the worst because of the hotels' lack of preparation. Either way, after researching for weeks and knowing this is the only hotel that is on the beach, if we visit our friends in TX again we would probably go back to this hotel. Also, be warned that TX beaches do feel nice, but are more like smooth mud and will stain your swimsuits, so don't wear white or pail pink.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front-NOT ocean view. Reg. rooms are the same and have large balcony to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here with our teen sons and it was perfect for them to experience the ocean. Our room was not facing the ocean, but we could see it from one of the rooms windows. If this hotel were anywhere but beachside, I might consider it overpriced, but for our trip it was nice to be able to step out the front door and just walk a few feet to the sand and ocean.

In the mornings, we would go to the Stripes Convience Store to get some breakfast and take it back to the patio and watch the ocean waves crash. Just don't feed the seagulls or they won't let you eat in peace.

We walked down to the jetty and look for sea turtles and fish during the day. At night we took our flashlights and watched the crabs scurry about in the sand.

The location makes this hotel worth the money.

Room Tip: Get oceanside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

It is a great location and a fine place to stay if you keep your expectations in check. This isn't the place to stay if you want to be pampered. Although I will say the a/c worked and the beds were comfortable.
We also stayed in the one "family" room; it has bunk beds behind a 3/4 wall. It was full in bottom and twin on top with a DVD player set up. No remote though; we asked for one twice and never got a response. It is older and worn but sufficient. Having the pool and on the beach is nice. The restaurant breakfast is awful, don't let the kids eat free sway you - not worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two teen daughters July 13th for one night. Although being right on the beach was great, the hotel is anything but. It is not only outdated, but also not well maintained. We might have gotten newly renovated rooms because we did have a frig and microwave, but everything from the paint job to the bathroom caulking was very shoddy. The windows were very dirty. There was a crack under our door leading out to the balcony and the wind whistled constantly until I put a towel across the bottom. Our bathroom, which was VERY small, had a commercial-type toilet with no tank. It at least had a seat cover. However, it moved and creaked whenever I sat on it to the point I was afraid it would pull off the wall (I am a small person weighing 125lbs in case anyone thought that might be the issue!) We got an adjoining room for our daughters and although check-in was supposed to be at 4pm, we were not able to check-in to their room until after 5pm.
When we went to the beach, we saw a bunch of lounge chairs stacked next to the wall and were going to take a couple when we were told we had to rent them for $15 each! There were some canopies staked out on the beach but we never did find out if someone rented those, too, or if they were complimentary. Other than that there were NO amenities for guests for the beach.
There was an outside bar next to the pool (we did not use the pool so cannot comment). We were given two drink coupons for the bar; however, it stated on the coupon that you could not use them for beer, wine or mixed drinks! So I guess you could go to the bar and get a free soda or tea!
We did not utilize the restaurant so cannot comment on that.
The staff for the most part was friendly and helpful. We went down to the gift shop to get some bottled water and the guy was closing just as we got there but he was happy to open back up and take care of us, so that was nice.
We stay at many Holiday Inns since we are priority club members and this one has to be the worse we have stayed in, and the most expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is an older hotel with updates that should be updated again. The room was adequate. There should be a refrigerator and microwave in the room though. Not all travelers are back at the hotel during restaraunt hours. Very close to the beach. Just step off the hotel grounds and you'll be in the sand just foot steps away. There is also a small swing area in the grass for children.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The subject line says it all. the cockroaches in this place were two inches long and hard to crush with a shoe. After the third one crawled across the bed the girls couldn't sleep for the rest of the night. We checked out the next morning....early...without a refund. The staff didn't seem to care as though the roaches were like a pet cat or something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Address: 15202 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Corpus Christi, Texas is North Padre Island s only full service hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico.Hand painted murals liven the inside and summer weekend entertainment livens the outside at our Sand Bar. Seasonal children s activities, an outdoor playground, and indoor game room create a perfect family beach vacation. Two large outdoor swimming pools overlook the natural beauty of the ocean and there are many direct beach access points. Both corporate and leisure guests will appreciate the meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom has a microwave and mini-fridge and many offer an ocean view and a balcony. The Beachside Grill and Lounge complete this perfect hotel package!Golf and tennis are less than 1 mile from the hotel. The USS Lex Aircraft Museum and the Texas State Aquarium are 22 miles away.Downtown Corpus Christi provides night life fun, fishing and sightseeing boats and bicycle rentals. Sports enthusiasts can watch a baseball or football game at Whataburger Field, a hockey game at American Bank Center, or Texas A & M Islander basketball. Fish from Bob Hall pier, kayak around Packery Channel, surf at J. P. Luby Park, boat around Bird Island, or walk the many birding trails in the Coastal Bend. Book your hotel reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - n. Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.