We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Emerald Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Emerald Beach when we came to Corpus for our daughter's wedding. We booked a block of rooms for our guests, and everything was handled well. The hotel is old, but the room was clean, comfortable, and updated. The bed was excellent, and the AC worked well. I was pleased that the room wasn't humid or musty, as is sometimes the case in beachfront hotels. The hotel is right on the beach, so it was full the entire time we were there. The only problem we encountered was with the elevators. They were old and very slow, and in one part of the hotel only once was working. Not a real problem for us because we could take the stairs. The hotel restaurant was just so-so....typical for that type of hotel. The beach in front of the hotel was pristine - very clean and easily accessed. Overall, we were pleased with our stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    77
    70
    58
    64
See reviews for
133
46
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

My friend and I stayed here during Memorial Day weekend. I picked this hotel for several reasons--they accepted pets for a $20 fee (I brought my 2 little dogs) and they were on the beach.

Our room was standard and clean. I've heard the rooms facing the beach more worn out than ones that arent, but in any case, we didnt get a beach room so maybe it was nicer than I had expected. The beds were comfy and I slept like a rock each night. There were a lot of families with kids there, but I didnt find the place super noisy.

The beach behind the hotel gets dirty by the end of the day--the best time to go is in the morning after they clean it up. When we went to check it out at 6pm, there were TONS of jellyfish washed up ashore so just be mindful of that. The sand has a lot of broken shells so I kept my flip flops on the entire time. We spent most of our beach time at North Padre Island where the sand is smooth and fine, but we did take advantage of jetski rentals and banana boat rides that are offered behind the hotel beach. They also have beach chair/umbrella rentals, kayak rentals, and a trampoline to jump on.

Overall, a nice visit. I'd come back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

The Holiday Inn at Emerald Beach was average in comparing it to other Holiday Inns. They tried hard to be a four star hotel but did not quite get it. No problem checking in, for the hotel at the time was pretty much empty.

This hotel has it all, a private beach where you can rent chairs, umbrellas and jet skis, outdoor and indoor bar, indoor pool with spa, indoor playground with ping pong tables, pool table, air hockey, and shuffle board. A gift shop is located next to the pool. It also had a business center with free internet access, WiFi, and a restaurant.

One of the drawbacks is this hotel is dated. Meaning it needs a overhaul in presentation and service. This hotel get packed with families for it takes a lot abuse, but it is not an excuse for the Disney resorts have a lot of families staying there and the hotel still looks brand new. On our stay, the hot water took over five minutes just to get warm, one of the elevators went out of service, the cable went out ( city wide Time Warner problem ), parking problem, and poor ice maker. This hotel filled up for the weekend and which caused the pool to get a little to crowded with kids. This hotel allows pets so be aware. No valet parking available when the hotel is full and no doorman. The Handicap door did not quite work properly. And the business center ( no sign present ) required you to go the front desk and get an access key ( one time use only ). The outside bar did not have a TV so I could not watch the game. The hallways and stairwells were too darkly lit where I felt unsafe. Only a few rooms have balconies. No room receipt under the door.
When we were checking out, I overheard other guests complaining about the hotel in general - not good.

This hotel is located on the beach and not too far from downtown. Perfect hotel for kids. The beach is kept very clean and a band was playing on Saturday. An off-duty police office was working the lobby during the weekend to provide security.

Our room was average, but we did have a fridge and microwave, and a balcony facing the beach. The carpet had a lot of sand on it, and the ceiling had water stains. The coffee provided in room was awlful. It did have a LCD TV and couch which turned into a bed. Lots of Pillows provided.

Overall we liked the it and would stay here again for the beach scene else stay at the Omni.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed @ the hotel due to the fact it's the only downtown hotel on the beach. Our kids really enjoyed the indoor pool & beach. Beds were extremely comfortable & I noticed the new look of no bed spreads. My wife & I really enjoyed the outdoor bar "Kokomos" ? Overall it's a great family beach place with very good curb appeal.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This hotel is filthy. It is in desperate need of a major overhaul. Carpeting is dirty and there is a distinctly malodorous quality (mold?) to make matters even worse, the walls are paper thin allowing you to hear considerably more than you may want to. Visits to the business center and fitness rooms require a special one time only key (obtainable by the front desk ). That inconvenience is heightened by the fact that should you need to leave those premises, you need to obtain another key to re-enter. Dark hallway near elevator (and back door parking lot) and only one working elevator for a hotel that size only add to the creep factor. Big yuck!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

The staff was fantastic! At check in, I was greeted with a smile and a personable desk clerk. The hotel and room were clean. The beds were very comfortable. The view of the bay was fantastic! We ordered room service on our last night and it was the only negative aspect. It was ho-hum prepackaged chicken fried steaks. Overall, my stay was absolutely wonderful and I will stay at this Holiday Inn whenever I am in Corpus Christi.

  • Liked — The personable staff and location
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Great hotel for families and for couples. Great play structure for kids and nice indoor pool. For adults, there is a bar in the hotel and one on the beach as well. The beds are comfortable, and the room was clean. This is a great value!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Address: 1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.