We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, disgusting hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Emerald Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location, disgusting hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel 2 other time son the past and loved it! It's a perfect location and they allow us to bring our 2 large boxers. We planned this recent trip for my husband's birthday and had been Ravi g about this hotel to my mom who was coming along for her first visit to Corpus. We booked a "Cabanna" suite which was not included in the military discount. Some of the front desk staff was okay but there was a very nice manager that worked evenings! The room was a lot smaller then the tower rooms we had stayed in before. It had an odor as did most of the hotel. There were roaches all over the grounds of the hotel and 2 large ones were in our room at 2 separate times. We were offered to change rooms but not guaranteed they would be roach free and we were offered to have the room sprayed but it wasn't pet or child safe and we had both with us. The chairs in our room were stained, it was cramped with furniture and missing the information binder. The room service was way over priced and the pizza was gross! 18% gratuity is automatically included no matter how much is ordered! The pamphlets in the lobby weren't from the area. My husband and I got a cocktail in the inside bar and his beer tasted old and my Moscato was flat. The food at the restaurant was okay but n of worth the cost. Parking was horrible!! It's not assigned but you are supposed to have a slip in your window. Needless to say, most people used our lot to park and access the beach. Over all, the hotel is becoming very run down! Dirty, smelly and in need of repairs!! It was not cheap to stay there by any means but the experience reminded me of a roadside motel instead of a beach side resort. I believe it is no longer a Holiday Inn because it is just called Emerald Beach now and the Holiday Inn name has been removed from everything including the sign. The last time we stayed it was part of the Holiday Inn and you can definately tell!!! It is a prime location minus the trash left on the beach and it has a nice indoor pool but we won't be staying there again unless they lower prices and CLEAN/REPAIR the property. Disapointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    77
    70
    58
    64
See reviews for
133
46
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel looks like the perfect set up right on the beach for the last day of our family trip! We purchased tickets through hotels.com and prepaid for the breakfast for our group of 6 plus 2 kids. Statement on Hotels.com: For an extra $12 breakfast is included for all 6 guests and the two children with us eat free! Perfect, so we thought... Mistake #1. We just moved from our hotel close to Mustang Island where the beaches were great... Mistake #2.

Upon arriving at the Holiday Inn we ventured out to the beach all day! The beaches were not as nice as just 40 min away at Mustang Island. The next morning is when the trouble set in: We visited the restaurant where there was a buffet set up. We brought in our two vouchers we were given at check in and presented them two the waitress. She said these were only good for 4 people. While the family waited on me to return at the table I went to the front desk to sort things out. We rounded up the troops at the front desk along with the front desk manager and they all mentioned this is a regular occurrence. I thought that would mean they would like to help resolve the issue. Nope. Management statement, "It is what it is. You will have to take it up with hotels.com".

We returned back to the restaurant to recharge with breakfast. We had two children in our group and guess what! Kids Eat FREE. The waitress said since we had taken so long to order while attempting to sort out the issue the kids order of eggs and toast would take a REALLY long time. Even though there was eggs and toast at the buffet (and milk)? So, we said OK, please bring the toast and eggs and a milk for the kiddos. The family went to the buffet and the kids waited and waited and waited on their milk. The waitress came back by and we had to ask if the children's milk would also take as along as the eggs and toast that were already prepared? 30 min later the kids got milk, eggs, and toast.

The staff seemed miserable with their jobs and we didn't receive one smile from the staff other than the snarky smile when we were sent away from the front desk.

Suggestion: Book elsewhere. Anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn Emerald Beach might be named after a jewel, but it is definitely not one! What should have been an enjoyable weekend at the beach ended up being two days of worrying about my vehicle being broke into.When we checked in we were given a parking permit to put on our dash, the hotel parking lot turned out to be the locals favorite spot to park for easy access to the beach. There was no security evident and no one checking parking permits.....
Being an experienced traveler we knew not to expect great food at a Holiday Inn, but we did expect it to at least have an edible breakfast, they couldn't even reach that mark. Lunch time came and I figured that not even a Holiday Inn could screw up a club sandwich.....the sandwich was delicious! It took over an hour to get it.
BEWARE, we came out of our room and surprised a member of the housekeeping staff as he was wrapping a camera up inside a dirty towel.

Room Tip: No matter what room you choose, do NOT leave anything of value in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been a loyal Holiday Inn patron for well over a decade so I have a standard expectation for cleanliness that nearly all of the hotels have met.
Upon checking in I was greeted in the normal courteous way by the staff. The lobby was well maintained and I had no reason to believe that the room would be any different so I was surprised to find my room in such a bad state. Water stained walls/ceilings, plugged drains, rust stains throughout the bathroom, cracked/peeling chalking, etc. were all signs that not much care is given here about the customer experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear DaveOcc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Please accept our apologies for the condition in which you found your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We will be addressing the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel has the best spot in Corpus Christi for beach access. The newer Holiday Inn and the other hotels aren't directly on the beach, you have to cross the busy street and then chances are you won't have a beach, just the sea wall to the water edge. We stayed in a beach view corner room. The room was large, clean and pleasant. We had a couch and chair inside and a set of patio chairs and table on the balcony. I spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the great view and sea breeze. Even though it was mid August it was comfortable. We had a fridge and microwave. After the first two hours we liked the place enough we added on another night. The bed was very comfortable. It was quiet and we slept well.

The hotel was clean, the pool area great if you like an indoor pool when the gulf is right outside. You walk out of the hotel onto the beach. The beach was clean and had a rental for chairs, umbrellas and water equipment.

My husband was sideswiped by a sting ray (stay well away from the breakwaters and wear beach shoes/tennis shoes in the water) the morning we were leaving and the staff called 911, brought us ice (should have used heat, I learned) and accommodated our need for a late check out as we were at the ER. The staff all were friendly and helpful through out the visit..

We didn't eat at the hotel, not being breakfast people. We wanted seafood meals and the restaurant didn't have any listed.

I hope we get back here again.

Room Tip: Wifi didn't work well at all. We were as far away as you could get though, and we weren't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel at all. The hotel is ran down and filthy. The location is decent but that is all it has to offer. The bar outside and doorway to the hotel was full of sand and water and is never cleaned. It doesn't matter what time of day or night it is. The whole time when we sat at the outside bar we had at least one roach follow us around. No telling how many other roaches are out about

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Crystal_c4,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location but hotel is just old and yucky. The rooms are clean enough , but the pool area is filthy. The doors and windows look like they have never been cleaned. The hotel restraunt is so dark and dingy you really aren't in the mood to eat once you sit down. The service is average, though when we ask for a place to eat breakfast they sent us to a place that wasn't even opened. Not a place I would ever stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Keri S,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Address: 1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.