We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare Please Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Emerald Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nightmare Please Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is a total rip off people please listen to the reviews and stay away.I stayed at this hotel august the 10 for my Fiance Birthday and we went with 5 other couples and the room rate i had on my reservation confirmation was not the price i was charged on check in the confirmation was for 155$ with tax included when i arrived at the hotel they charged me 220$ a night and when i tried speaking to the mgr on duty i showed her my confirmation and she said she doesn't care what the confirmation says im here and the rate is 220$ so i cxl the second night and when the rest of my party tried to cxl as well she said she will have to charge them penalty's since so many of us are canceling leaving the hotel in a bind.Second after that horrible service we come back to the room after my fiances birthday party we had down the street at the water street oyster bar and we get back in our room and its 84 Degrees in our room. The A/C was not working I called the front desk and informed them of the situation and they apologized and said the maintenance man would not return till 7am the current time when I called was 12pm So we sweated it out till 7am when i walked downstairs and talked to the mgr on duty and informed him of everthing that happen i even showed him my fiance DL to show that this was her birthday weekend and its been ruined by holiday inn and all he had to say was i can comp you 20$ for the inconvenience and if i was ready to checkout because there were people waiting on rooms! i could not believe the way this hotel operates and the management is worthless. So again people there are lots and Lots of better choices then this HORRIBLE HORRIBLE Hotel please stay elsewhere i wish i would of listen to all the bad reviews I read.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere But here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear tankmunoz,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach, TX. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    70
    58
    64
See reviews for
133
46
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

booked for two nights n stayed only one because everywhere else was booked entirely. It was my last weekend of summer vacation with my daughter n I'm so sorry we had to change plans bcuz of this place. Jessica at HOTELS.COM said I wasn't going to regret it but I'd beg to differ Beds ad been made but the bedding was not replaced since the sheets didn't smell clean, when we pulled the covers both beds had blood n yellow stains inside(I'd hate to think it was urine) coffee maker had built up residue, roaches in the bathtub n night stand, long hairs from previews guest, rust in metal fixtures including the fire sprinklers, the beach was dirty, the trash cans on the hallways were full so there was trash, beer cans n all type of stuff in the floor around the trashcans n at the beach called front desk to send housekeeping n the lady (Deborah) literally handed me the bedding for me to replace them which of course I wasn't going to do it. They sent a gentleman(Ruben) to help the lady which showed her the proper way to do things. The manager Johnny Lee(according to a HOTELS.COM) didn't offer any compensation at all except for the attitude, and said that since we booked through hotels.com, we pretty much had to take it up with them. As a trucker I have stayed in many hotels n motels all over the U.S. and n it is a pitty to see how this place puts the name Holiday Inn to shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Buffalo1977,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This property has such a nice location! However, the property itself is outdated and some of the hallways smell like cigarrette smoke. It was under renovation when we were there, so hopefully it will be improved for future guests. The A/C unit in our room was so loud, it was difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha S, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Please always let the staff know if there is an issue in your room and we'll be happy to address the problem promptly to find a solution. We do hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This facility is in diar need of remodeling/updating. Ceiling tiles sagging, shampoo no conditioner, no refrigerator in the room, cleaning lady coming in at 8.00 in the morning, overall color scheme overwhelmingly outdated and unpleasant. There are a lot of little things that could be done to set this hotel apart from the rest. Holiday Inn is usually good about this and i hoTilley will evaluate the needs of this facility. I believe it would be worth the investment.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Lizlaceyrn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the condition of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Family summer trip to the coast and Holiday Inn- Emerald Beach’s enticing convenience of being on the beach should have made for a picture perfect trip!

Upon our arrival, our room was not ready and when we finally got out room the key badge system did not work on our room. Maintenance had to be called.

The entire hotel is completely out dated and over priced for it’s filth. The hotel features rust on metal fixtures in the room, mold in several places in the bath/shower and smaller than average bathroom and beds. The hotels ceilings are low and with a guacamole green walls in hallways it is surely not for the claustrophobic type.

One of two small elevators was broke leaving just one (that only holds about 5 people) to accommodate everyone coming and going between the 6 floors; causing long lines and several exhausting minutes for those wanting to use the elevator. We gave up and just took the stairs the rest of our stay. We realized it was much quicker walking up 5 flights of stairs to get to our 5th floor room rather than wait in line for the elevator.

The pool area was even worse. With mold/alga growing around the pool’s deck, it can be very slippery. Ceiling tiles appear to be water damaged and some even appear that they could fall soon. More rust on metal fixture and lots of dust on everything.

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the convenience of how close and easy it is to walk onto the beach…and maybe that’s why they charge what they do and haven’t remodeled in many decades is because they know people will book because of the beach access. It was so disgusting we ended our trip early.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying premium rates to be on the beach and to stay in filth, than this is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha S, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I'm so sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we may rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I saw some negative reviews about this hotel but decided to risk it & book a two night stay here and I am glad we did! I called ahead to discuss my room preference and spoke with a very nice lady named Aida. She was very helpful and helped us get a great room with an awesome view of the bay. Great location and nice to just walk right out to the beach! The beds were super comfy and the room was larger than I had expected. The housekeepers did a great job of cleaning the room and we also ordered room service for breakfast which was delicious! The only downside was the one elevator that was always packed w/people and we had to take the stairs most times. Also the parking there can be hard to find due to conventions and people parking there to go to the beach. All and all it was a clean hotel with friendly staff and they even have a live band playing on the beach which was nice to see right from our room. I would definitely stay here again if they get the other elevator fixed : )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha S, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We did, in fact, get the elevator fixed and are very sympathetic to the hotel guests this past summer that had to deal with the inconvenience. Should I be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Corpus Christi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I searched and searched before booking with Emerald Bay Holiday Inn so after all theresearch I am glad I did. I had read reviews that weren't so complimentary of this hotel, but our experience was great. We had rooms facing the Bay so we had great views. The staff was very accomodating with fresh towels and check in and out was a breeze. We stayed in the two story building that is seperate from the main hotel and it was quiet and peaceful. There were absolutely no roaches in our room or on the grounds, roaches can be problematic for water front hotels. Also this is a dog friendly hotel and I was able to take my dog with no problems. The location of the hotel is central to everything in Corpus Christi. The only drawback is there are no waves in the bay. If you want to play in the surf you need to go out to Padre Island or Mustang Island which is just over the Causeway. All-in-all, this hotel was quite nice and my family as well as extended family were all happy with the choice (normally it is hard to please everyone).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean get lots of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha S, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
That was a very nice review about our property. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that everyone in the family was pleased. Please be sure to come see us again next time you're in town. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Address: 1102 S. Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.