We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is OK - Clean - Rooms look fairly new” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15201 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Corpus Christi
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Place is OK - Clean - Rooms look fairly new”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

It is not an expensive place so my expectations were low. Rooms are clean which is important being near the beach. Not humid or muggy inside. Kitchen performs well though I would not recommend cooking anything complicated as there is no ventilation in the room besides the AC - you cannot open a window in the room.
Served my purpose, close to the beach - could go back - may look for a more romantic place next time. Bed was comfortable - not as another reviewer experienced.

Room Tip: Request highest floor to get a view. Ask for a free late check-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
70
72
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a better location. Beach was walking distance. Fridge, range, microwave, dishwasher, dishes and pots and pans in the room. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Free breakfast was not impressive (cereal, toast, and nasty make-yourself waffles). Roach in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

After spending alot of time researching and reading reviews we decided to stay here. So glad we did. We actually arrived 4 hours before check in and had just planned on parking our car and walking accross the street to the beach. I decided to ask the man behind the counter if there was a room available to check in early if possible. RAVI was on duty and was as nice as can be. He said if there was, we could check in early then we wouldnt have to keep all of our luggage in the car. There was a room available and he let us check in early. We have a king bed room and it is a good size with kitchen area and large shower in the bathroom. We would definately stay here again upon a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times before (because of Priceline :)

There are no king size beds in this hotel at all, so the "upgraded" rooms are two doubles and a standard room is a single double bed or upgrade to a queen size bed. If that is important to you, it may be a deal breaker.

We stayed here with my son and thought since they were suites there would be a sofa that he could crash on, afterall he wasn't very big. No, just a single double-size bed and a chair. So if you are a family traveling, you want to "upgrade" to a room with two doubles. A roll-away bed is $20 and to "upgrade" the room is $25. A rip off if you ask me.

Separate trip:
So I had booked a reservation here over Easter weekend and had to work until 5, which means driving from Austin it would be late when I arrived. I called ahead saying I would be late because I'm driving from Austin and when I arrived they had given my room away.

nice... sold out weekend because it was Easter and now nearly 4 hours from home! Luckily I was able to get a room at the Island House condos which are much nicer but had to pay alot more.

This place seems like it is run by a bunch of cheap people. Not my idea of a relaxing vacation at the beach.

Room Tip: Specify how many beds you want and the size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were very surprised and pleased with our room. After reading bad reviews about other hotels in this area were decided to give Hawthorn Suites a try when we found a great rate online. Our room was spacious, clean and had a good view. Even though we did not use the kitchen area for cooking it was nice to have the full size refrigerator and an extra sink. The bed was super comfortable and linens were a notch above the usual. The interior doorways were very wide but the entrance was awkward to navigate if you were carrying lots of luggage. Large TV and closet and even a DVD/VCR in the room. The shower was very large but there was not a tub. Location is quiet and not commercial. A very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My room was a spacious room with a king sized bed. The room had a full sized refrigerator, full size stove with microwave above it, & dishwasher. A laundermat is located in the hotel for guests to use. There was an average breakfast included with the room. Accross the road was a Holiday Inn that allowed guests of the Hawthorn Suites to use their beach. The Comfort Inn next door to the Hawthorn allowed you to use their pool. Both were an easy stroll from the hotel. The hotel was within 10 miles of the Padre Island National Seashore Park. My stay was very enjoyable

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for 4 days, from 22 to 25 Fev 2011. We were aware that the hotel was located across the road from the beach. We had rented a regular one-window room but it upon seeing the room, it was obvious that we did not want to spend 4 days in this crowded room. We decided to rent a two-window corner room with separate BR for an extra $40 a day. The beds were comfortable. However, there were several inadequacies with this rental facility:
a. While the building is rather new or has recently been renovated, the interior decorating of the rooms is poor and lacking. Too dark and depressing.
b. The hot water temperature was at least 10 or 15 degrees F. too low. Even when using EXCLUSIVELY hot water, we never managed to take a hot bath. For a shower, the water temp. was barely adequate. The management was not sympathetic in this regard; that is that the need to increase the water temp. was not deemed necessary.
c. The kitchenette is very minimally equipped in some aspects: tools, no wine glasses, etc. The door of the fridge and freezer open the wrong way. Very inconvenient.
d. The exterior windows were very dirty, the dirt blocked about 35 % of the visibility and did not seem to be included in any cleaning plan. I managed to raise a portion of the windows and to clean one row of glasses at my own risk because there were no metal bars to prevent anyone from falling down from the 3rd floor.
e. Free breakfast is served at the adjoining hotel. The attendant does not seem to be aware of his duties, is dressed like a janitor, does not feel a need to assist new customers, does not replenish stocks of food as required, does not clean table tops as required (bread crumbs, etc.
f. The computer in the lobby appears to be of two generations ago. Very slow. I stopped using it for those reasons.
g. It was difficult to obtain simple information, such as the address of the closed tourist information office.
h. The main entrance door looks like the one for a back entrance. The lobby is small, unattractive an inadequate even for a small hotel like this one. The is parking restriction in front of the entrance, but a concrete stopped makes it hazardous for patrons entering or leaving the building. Since it is a non-parking zone, there is no need for the concrete car stopper.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi

Address: 15201 Windward Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is 5 minutes from Corpus Christi International Airport. Hotel is centrally located, 2 exits from restaurants and shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Bahia Mar Corpus Christi
Bahia Mar Hotel Corpus Christi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.