We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Used to be Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (Formerly Omni Corpus Christi Hotel Marina Tower)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Corpus Christi
ROCIADA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This Hotel Used to be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for several days about 11 years ago when the hotel was still part of the Omni chain. It is now a Holiday Inn, and it has not fared well in the change. I stayed here for three nights while attending a conference in downtown Corpus Christi. The room I had on the 16th floor had a great view of the marina, but later, I realized soon enough (when I attempted to go to sleep) that the wall the bed was on backed up to the elevator shaft. All night it sounded like a roller-coaster coming at me. I also had trouble with the air conditioner. It was not working by the second day and the room was humid and hot. The staff (who were all very nice) did send someone to make a repair, which consisted of taking out the malfunctioning part (some kind of valve) and jerry-rigging the a/c so that it ran constantly. After the repair the thermostat could not be adjusted, so it was soon freezing cold in the room, which was better than hot and humid, but not what you expect from what is supposed to be one of the better hotels in town. Additionally, my coffee maker did not work. The first morning I was able to get a half cup out of it. I asked for a new coffee maker, and when I came back from the day's conference, a new one was sitting on the desk, however the old one was still in the bathroom and I had not been given a coffee cup, so no coffee at all (not even a half of a cup) on the second morning. The water softener in the hotel was working double-time so the soap in the shower was hard to rinse off. Because of the soft water, the floor of the bathtub was so slick I had to put down a towel inside the tub to keep from falling. I complained to the front desk about this as well, but was told that there were no rubber mats available. The restaurant downstairs had a breakfast buffet for $14 but the food was worth about half that much. The second morning, they were having problems with kitchen and wait staff not showing up, and so the buffet was minimal and picked over but there was no reduction in price. The third day we walked across the street for breakfast. The parking garage was convenient although the security gate was broken and stayed in the open position the entire time I was there. I don't know why I was given a security number to punch in for the gate to open. However, they did deduct the parking fee from my bill. The internet did not work well, kept going off, so I had to keep restarting and logging back in -- annoying. This used to be a superior hotel, and it is still clean with good beds and a pleasant staff, but for this trip, I wish I had booked at the Omni hotel down the street.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    42
    33
    12
See reviews for
41
33
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful staff who believes in going the extra mile for guests satisfaction. Great service is something I look for travelling as much as I do so I truly appreciated the efforts. I will definitely return the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of staying at this location on a recent trip to Corpus. Wonderful amenities and absolutely perfect location. The staff was professional and accommodating and the hotel was clean and comfortable. Look no further if you are looking for a place in CC.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I stayed at this property a week ago; I must say the hotel was very clean and the staff was nice & friendly.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family! Keep up the great job!

Sincerely,
Dana

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed that this property last week while on a short buisness trip. It was very convenient to my office and a beautiful location right by the water. I was on an upper floor with a nice view right out my window. The King Size room was nice and had everything I needed for my one night stay. I ordered the room service which was delivered promptly. The meal was presented well and was tastey . I would recommend this property for anyone in the area and would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
pmgirl,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve our service to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location, location, location. Right on the water, gorgeous views. Hotel was clean and room was nice. No funky smells. The hotel is downtown in the business district and you can walk along the water. We watched the dolphins play.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
bradley e,
Thank you for staying with us and for the 4 star review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the dolphins- I could watch them all day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First things first: the breakfast tacos. Skip the expensive restaurant breakfast and head to the gift shop/coffee shop for some authentic foil-wrapped breakfast tacos complete with red or green salsa. Faster, tastier and, at $2.50 apiece, a much better value.

Now that we have the important things out of the way...
I traveled to Corpus for a conference and my company booked my stay; when I read some of these reviews, I was kind of nervous about the hotel. But I ended up having a pleasant stay without any problems. The hotel is being renovated, so I'm guessing that some of the negative reviews were written in an earlier state of disrepair. My room was comfortable, quiet and clean.

The service was excellent. When I arrived, I learned that my reservation had been messed up by the travel agency. It wasn't the hotel's fault, but Victor at the front desk helpfully took care of everything and smoothed out the situation.

As for the non-taco amenities: There is a free airport shuttle, but it takes a while to arrive, so call as soon as you can from the plane so it can start heading your way. Likewise, the shuttle from the hotel to the airport runs only on the hour, but mine was running 15-20 minutes late, so give yourself extra time.

There is a fitness center, but it's pretty small, so if you want to work out at a popular time (early morning), don't count on getting the particular equipment you want.

My conference was at the American Bank Center, which is eight or nine blocks down Shoreline Boulevard. It's a pleasant walk in the daytime, no cab necessary. Overall, it was a good stay, and I'd recommend it for the business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
DFWtiger,
Thank you for staying with us and for the review of your stay. We understand we can be much better in all areas of the hotel, our service team is committed and as the renovation wraps up we are confident we will have a much better rating on TripAdvisor and other sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Address: 707 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (Formerly Omni Corpus Christi Hotel Marina Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel. Conveniently located in downtown Corpus Christi, experience an iconic coastal hotel overlooking the beautiful sparkling waters of the bayfront. Our luxurious hotel is directly across the street from the historic seawall and within an easy walk of local night life, restaurants, fishing and more. This includes the Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Museum of Science and History, Whataburger Field and the American Bank Center. Take time and go for a swim and sunbathe by our beautiful indoor and outdoor pool offering panoramic views of the Corpus Christi Marina. The Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel is located in downtown Corpus Christi near many corporate locations offering convenient access to our business guest. These locations include the American Bank Convention Center, Exxon Mobil, Christus Spohn Hospital and Koch Industries. This 100% non smoking facility features large meeting and banquet space offering delicious catering menus. Our hotel offers a truly unique and enjoyable experience for all of our guests whether you are visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.