We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs improvement ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (Formerly Omni Corpus Christi Hotel Marina Tower)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 81 hotels in Corpus Christi
Muskogee,OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel needs improvement ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was in town from 04/14-04/16 for a business meeting. The problems started from the time we arrived. Inexperienced desk staff, rooms not as expected (very small), two members of my party had rooms switched to different room type then what was reserved and were not notified prior to arrival. Both are platinum ihg members.

The restaurant was a whole different set of problems. Day 1 attempted to have breakfast approx. 15 people were seated upon our arrival in the restaurant. Took 10 mins for waiter to come take order, then took 15 more mins to get drinks, then 10 more mins for food to be delivered. Once our check arrived it took over 5 mins for the waiter to run my credit card. Wait staff seemed very under trained and inexperienced.

Ice machine on 7th floor was totally disgusting. Mild growing in the ice machine and on ice. With all the upgrades you would think you could have replaced the ice machine or at least clean it. Another idea mini fridges in rooms would be great.

Had dinner at the bar one night with co worker, we had 1 beer apiece and dinner. Charged to room, showed up as $34 liquor charge. Not a good practice for business traveler filling out expense reports.

This is an old hotel that has somewhat been remodeled, but could still use some work. For the most part the staff was very friendly, but hotel could use some more upgrades. Great location next to the marina. I would have a hard time staying at this location again, with newer Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    19
    15
    2
See reviews for
21
14
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I rated this stay an 'average' in that the three nights I stayed there ran the gamut of highs and lows. The check-in process was smooth with a courteous rep on the afternoon of April 1, 2014. While checking in, however, a guest approached complaining that his key would no longer open his room and that it was the fifth time in five days that it has happened. During my stay, it happened to me once, and twice to a co-worker. I also heard several other people state their keys weren't working--so there was definitely something going on with their key system that made for some inconveniences with guests.

My room was very clean with the exception of cigarette butts on the balcony from a previous guest. Housekeeping shouldn't assume that no one would leave trash on the balcony. The wind was blowing very hard, so I am not sure how they didn't blow away, but seeing them detracted from the overall clean appearance.

One night I woke early and decided to use the exercise facility. The on-duty desk person told me they don't open the room until 6am. I have been in many hotels where there are people working out at 4am because they need to be showered, and have eaten and out the door by 7:30am. I thought this policy was ridiculous. In all fairness, there was a door to the pool from the fitness room, but couldn't they just lock that door and let guests use the fitness room around the clock? In any event, I went jogging outside and returned at 6:15am and the room was still locked--so I don't know what their actual policy is for that room. If you work out in the mornings, don't assume you can do that here.

The next morning I decided to do some work (via internet) and found the wi-fi was down. I went to the front desk and the rep told me that she about the problem and the 'tech guys' would have to reset it (their router, I assume). Knowing I could use my mobile phone, I did have 3-bars of service on the 16th floor using a Samsung Note with Sprint--however, my co-worker had no service on the 15th flood with an iPhone using AT&T (just an FYI).

Overall, the property was very clean and all personnel I encountered were very courteous and respectful. It was conveniently located for my business trip and I probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This location is not worth the money. Ok i just recently stayed at the one off Navigation Blvd which is centrally located making it easier and funner to explore Corpus and Padre Island. The price you pay to eat and park you can use in gas to stay at the Navigation Blvd location. The rooms are better,staff are more eager to accomodate,the housekeeping is way more proficient, breakfast is free,outdoor pool,malls and walmart close by. The list goes on. At the downtown Marina all you get is easy access to the beach and boardwalk unless you come for a meeting, conference, etc...and then ofcourse you need this location. The view is definitely a plus,but housekeeping was horrible or should i say not getting any. Restaurant closes,i had to get a ride to Water Street the first night and Walk to what a burger the next. You pay for parking. Rooms are not huge. They were clean though. I just wasn't impressed. Its not a horrible place it's just not the bomb either. So i say Average.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ILOVETRAVELING100,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our housekeeping staff. We’re also sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at this property, and likely my last. Starting with the positives: this place is sparking clean and the rooms are comfortable with great views. Front desk staff were very professional and personable (esp. Denver). Everything about room service delivery was flawless. Be aware that you will be charged $10 to self park and $15 for valet. The negative: The restaurant. I had the breakfast buffet ($14, not a good value). The service was so poor that I had to write this review. The hostess seated me, brought a menu, got distracted and took the menu with her. I had to chase her down to get it. Once I decided on the buffet, I realized that was a poor choice. Eggs were dry and looked like they'd been there a long time. Gravy was the consistency of water. I ordered a soft drink and the waitress took 15 minutes to get it to my table. I had to go to waitress stations to request a check, then after paying, request a receipt. The restaurant staff were passive-aggressive in their neglect and acted as if they'd prefer to be anywhere else. That's no way to run a restaurant. Because of their poor service, my colleagues and I will seek better treatment at another local hotel that actually appreciates our patronage.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jay J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great view of the Gulf. Affordable for the location and comfort. Love that the pool is half indoors, half outdoors. Located downtown by the marinas and easy access to highway system. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms to the east face the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay very much, located very close to the ocean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Tish helped us get our AC fixed immediately. We felt very welcome & at home! Good mattresses & pillows. overall was enjoyed my stay completely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The best mattress and pillows I have ever slept in. This Holiday Inn is excellent for the price. The room and bathroom was clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating , room service was excellent, plenty of parking, bar in the lobby, small market for snacks or drinks, close to the water. I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Also Known As:
Omni Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Omni
Address: 707 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (Formerly Omni Corpus Christi Hotel Marina Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel. Conveniently located in downtown Corpus Christi, experience an iconic coastal hotel overlooking the beautiful sparkling waters of the bayfront. Our luxurious hotel is directly across the street from the historic seawall and within an easy walk of local night life, restaurants, fishing and more. This includes the Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Museum of Science and History, Whataburger Field and the American Bank Center. Take time and go for a swim and sunbathe by our beautiful indoor and outdoor pool offering panoramic views of the Corpus Christi Marina. The Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel is located in downtown Corpus Christi near many corporate locations offering convenient access to our business guest. These locations include the American Bank Convention Center, Exxon Mobil, Christus Spohn Hospital and Koch Industries. This 100% non smoking facility features large meeting and banquet space offering delicious catering menus. Our hotel offers a truly unique and enjoyable experience for all of our guests whether you are visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.