We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small disappointment...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Bar & Grub

Costa Sur Bar & Grub
15113 S Padre Island Dr, Suite 101, Corpus Christi, TX 78418
+1 361-945-8303
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Alice, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A small disappointment...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Everything we wanted to order they were out of. No alcohol. They didn't have a license yet. Had to go to the bar next door to get a beer but they didn't mind they said it was fine to bring it in. Food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos to die for....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A co-worker sent me here when I was working in Corpus and said it was one of his favorite places. He said he loves the fish tacos and ceviche. The place is small, intimate, informal and friendly. Fresh quacamole made in front of me with mango in it was delish. Fresh snapper fish tacos were freakin' amazing.... and they have Shiner Bock. I will be back every time I visit Corpus!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice to find Peruvian but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were excited to hear of a local Peruvian restaurant. We had one delicious salad with quinoa, and some traditional Peruvian plates, which were decent but not great. They are traditionally served with ahi pepper sauce and bread, which we had to ask for and were told we needed to pay for the bread. But it was great to have the variety.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Island experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nice to have some different cuisine in an upbeat setting- not fancy but you can dress for an evening out. Fusion ceviche was very good except too salty. Maybe that is the Peruvian style. Quinoa salad very tasty and fish tacos as well. 'spicy' is very hot so go for milder version if you need. Tacos are small though sabroso. Pisco chocolate cake was excellent. Be prepared for a long evening as it took a while to get food and no free munchies. Good drink selection. Reminds me of the real deal in Peru - dinner and good company take time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“sat for an hour...no food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The waiter did his best. We order and then sat for 1 hr, no food. We inquired, the chef had not started our dish.
This has never happen to us, a restaurant who does not serve food.
Only go to this place if you have nothing to do but wait.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Sur Bar & Grub also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Costa Sur Bar & Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Bar & Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.