We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, but it's kind of a dive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Mexican Cafe

La Playa Mexican Cafe
7118 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412-4914
3619803909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food is good, but it's kind of a dive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

If given the choice, I like the La Playa that's up SPID near Weber Rd. They have a lot more choices than this one and the interior is nicer.

That said, some of the menu items here are the same. The waiter proudly told us that this is the original La Playa. Ok, but it's kind of a dump inside. And I don't want to sit on the patio because it overlooks an access road and highway. Not exactly scenic. The margaritas were watered down. Food was EXCELLENT, but it was overshadowed by the other negatives.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    14
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best fajitas !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I'm sure everything there is good but I keep getting their mixed fajitas with cilantro cream sauce.... It's the best!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a group visit the restaurant about 30 minutes before closing. The waiter was courteous and did not rush us. The food was out in record time - hot and delicious!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting experience but wouldn't do it again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband has been raving about fried avocados here experienced at La Playa for years.
La Playa may be the most festive restaurant I have ever been to. The band was really good, but very loud, We were forced to communicate through text while at the table.
Admittedly, I am on the extreme side of healthy eating, so maybe not the best judge. But I would say the food was just ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The atmosphere was great. Just don't sit in the back...with the tv...near the bathrooms. It makes it looks like everyone was looking at us, and it was...rather weird. But the food was excellent. I don't recommend eating their beef just because it's kind of dry. Their house specials are definitely recommended. They all looked very tasty! Their seafood is great! Would definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Mexican Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Playa Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.