We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible all the way through. Just AVOID this place.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
5258 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78411-4102
(361) 992-4742
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 580 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrible all the way through. Just AVOID this place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our party of 5 went here for dinner. After a short wait, we were seated. Our server took the order and then we just sat and waited. First for the drinks and then for the food. The drinks took nearly 15 minutes to show up. The food was another 20 mins. Our server looked like she was stoned and could care less when we politely asked her about the delay. When the food showed up, both the kids meals had grapes that were so soft and slimy, I wouldn't touch it with a fork. We asked they be replaced and 10 mins later, we get a new bowl of grapes with equally bad grapes. When we brought the issue up with the manager, he gave us a coupon for half off an entree for our next visit. What more can I say. This is my last trip to Olive Garden, forever. Avoid this restaurant if you can - there are plenty of other much better and cleaner restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not the Best of we've been to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We're Olive Garden FANS and have eaten at many of these franchises. This one on SPID however wasn't up to the quality of others. When we walked in the door it had a strange musty, almost moldy, odor. That smell continued throughout the restaurant and was especially strong in the back corner where we were seated. The food was just standard, nothing spectacular. The service was adequate. The sangria was the worst! Clearly the bartender on duty doesn't have pre-made sangria on the bar and didn't know how to make it. It tasted like berry pop. We will not be returning to this location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationfamily3
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with three smiling faces as we walked in. The hostess was pleasurable. Our waiter great! Our salad an breadsticks came fast and were FRESH. Our entrees were excellent and plenty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
“Worst dining experience ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I´ve been eating in a lot of restaurants in my life, including in eastern Europe! But what my fiancée and I had experienced recently in the Olive Garden in Corpus Christi was by far the worst!!
As soon as we entered the restaurant we noticed a weird smell. Took us a while to figure out it was a combination of cheese and old cleaning water! You know that smell tables get when you´re cleaning them with old, dirty water and a dirty rag? That´s what it was!!
The benches we were seated on were broken and totally worn out.
The table smelled as described above! The menues we´ve been handed out were sticky and nasty! Additionally the wine glass my fiancée had sitting before here, had staints of lip stick on it and fingerprints all over!
We decided not to eat there and left the establishment as fast as possible!!!!
Not going back there!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Long hard night at Olive Garden.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off let's qualify everything by saying that the food was very good. Everything else was a near nightmare.

It was 15 minutes after we sat down before a waiter showed up. The table was dirty and never cleaned. Our drinks were delayed because "The bar is busy". The glasses that were requested with the beers ordered showed up 20 minutes after the beer was delivered. The salad was delivered with no silverware. The entree was delivered one hour after we sat down. How long does it take to boil spaghetti? The crash of dropped plates and splatter of food being delivered to the next door table was a nice ending to the evening.

All in all it took two hours from start to finish of our Saturday night out.

The manager came around and got an ear full from my wife. She was pleasant and comped our dinner which was neither requested , nor expected. The waiter was a nice young gentleman who was having a very bad night. We gave him a decent tip and some sympathy.

I don't think that we'll be going back to Olive Garden soon. I don't think that the reviews being given which indicate a large slip in service quality are inaccurate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.