We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a disappointment.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 99

Pier 99
2822 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78402-1006
361-887-0764
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 597 restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! What a disappointment.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to Pier 99 for a friend's birthday. It started out bad and only got worse. It was crowded and there was only one bartender. Our waiter explained that he had worked a double shift, perhaps he should've left after his first shift. We requested forks several times, but they weren't brought out until after the food was sitting in front of us for 5 minutes. The food was cold and overcooked and one person in our party didn't receive his food even after three requests. One person sent his over cooked fried seafood platter back, but didn't ask for a replacement. He decided that he would rather be hungry. Beautiful location, view, and the band was good. I hope they get their act together. We won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    117
    84
    59
    40
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Service was bad. The place wasn't busy at all. The food was not fresh and was cold. The kids meals were like cafeteria food. I dong think we'll ever try it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Service, food and atmosphere beyond words....Loved the entire atmosphere of the restaurant and staff, real seashore feel. The food was very very good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheesy in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is everything I love about tropical towns. It's right on the water, it's big, it's got a large outdoor seating area, live music, serves cheap beer and tropical drinks, has tacky tiki and fishing decore, and the food is GOOD. We stopped here seeking relief from the relentless heat and humidity, and we found it. I ordered the fresh catch burger (today, it happened to be tuna): a huge tuna steak on a seared bun, with cheddar, grilled onions, and chopped jalapenos, along with a Rolling Rock. My husband ordered the Macho Burger: two half-pound patties, bacon, and whatever other accompaniments you want to add. This is not a burger for the weak of heart (literally...don't order it if you have heart problems). He also ordered an app of bacon-wrapped, jalapeno-stuffed shrimp, deep fried and served with a spicy mayo. I gave up eating pork, but I couldn't resist trying one. Delicious. Our waitress was lovely, and we had a great time hanging out on the large deck, feeling the breeze roll in off of the bay and listening to the live music (even if it WAS all country).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very beachy and relaxed but the foods was amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Rough and rustic looking but dont pass it by. It was amazing delicious and omg reasonable. The server was a pirate sort of looking perdon but was friendly and did a good job.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 99 also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 99, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.