We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Corpus Christi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Corpus Christi to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6773 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Food & Beverage Offer
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great stay! This is a new property and we were in town because of my daughter's soccer finals. The food was great and the service was wonderful. The rooms were clean and tbe staff helped us find what we needed in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Albert S,

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and then took the time to review Hyatt Place Corpus Christi. I will pass along the kind words you have written about our staff. We look forward to hosting you again for your next soccer tournament or anytime you want to enjoy all that Corpus Christi has to offer.

Regards,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
40
25
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I stayed for 3 nights. Free parking, free breakfast, and free in-room internet made it worth it.

It is a 10-15 minute drive to the Shoreline Blvd. area with all the touristy stuff (USS Lexington, Art Center, American Bank Center events center, Selena statue, Texas State Aquarium, etc.). It is a 30 minute drive out to Malaquite Beach, which I highly recommend as the nicest Texas beach I have been to (sometimes a $10 entrance fee is enforced by the US Dept of Interior; $20 for overnight camping).

The hotel itself is very new and in great shape. The hallways are uncommonly wide--which is a surprisingly nice perk when you have to wheel a luggage cart down the hall. It also has a nice indoor pool and adequate fitness center with elliptical, cycle, two treadmills, and dumbbells.

Hotel was at capacity on Saturday night and there was considerable noise heard from the room next to us. I would rate sound insulation as average to slightly above average for this hotel.

Internet is nice and fast. The only reason this isn't 5 stars is because housekeeping somehow skipped over our room one day and we had to call down for fresh towels and to have our trash emptied. Housekeeping didn't restock shampoo/conditioner/toothpaste in our rooms the following day. Argh.

Apart from the hotel, I recommend renting the 4-seater bikes (2 adults and up to 2 kids) along Shoreline Blvd. in downtown Corpus (no reservation needed). It's $10 for 30 mins and $15 for 60 mins. Great fun and a bit of exercise to boot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Braziliansoccerstar,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and also taking the time to post such a thorough review. You not only mentioned the amenities that make Hyatt Place Corpus Christi a great place to stay, but your recommendations for entertainment while visiting Corpus Christi were great as well. I would also like to offer my apologies for you not receiving service from housekeeping one day during your stay. I will share your situation with our housekeeping department and use this to improve our service going forward. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Corpus Christi.

Thank you,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, Cornwall, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is immaculate and new and all the fixtures and fittings are pristine. The staff are this Hyatt's real asset from the front desk to the kitchen and porters. They are all very friendly and helpful, the age of the staff varies but is mostly young people in their 20's but they really are dedicated professional young people. The breakfast is very good and included in your stay, lots of variety and very fresh.
The hotel is on i45 but is very quiet and the beds are very comfortable. The air conditioning is very efficient as the units are new and really pump out cold air. Nice big TV's in the room and complete with full subscriptions to TV Direct included (but not all the Hispanic channels).
This hotel is situated on South Padre Island Drive so is away from downtown Corpus Christ which is not a bad thing, it's located close to everything, La Palmera Mall, Target, Kohl's, Best Buy and Walmart/HEB.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on the back of the hotel away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Trivster,

Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Place Corpus Christi. Like you mentioned in your review, there are many reasons why our hotel is a great place to stay but our staff is truly the key. They enjoy exceeding all of our guests’ expectations and I will share with them the kind words that you have posted. Please enjoy all our hotel has to offer upon your return to Corpus Christi.

Thank you,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I love to stay in newer hotels like this one because they are generally cleaner and not broken. Our room was very clean and very nice. It had a living area with a nice couch, desk, and tv. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioner actually worked really well, and the sink and bathroom were clean. There was also a small bar by the check in desk that sold alcohol as well as sodas and such. It also has an indoor pool and workout room.
The hotel is located about halfway between downtown Corpus and North Padre Island which is perfect if you are like us and visiting both places.
The only downside was the breakfast in the morning which was not as advertised. They advertise their breakfast as having waffles or breakfast sandwiches with sausage, etc. But all they had was eggs and other dry breakfast selections each morning (and no sausage or bacon). It was included with your room though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Arcapleego,

Thank you for the kind words that you have written about our hotel. I'm glad that you were happy with our location, conveniently located between downtown Corpus Christi and the island. I am sorry that you weren't able to enjoy the hot items that we serve for breakfast daily. We do offer signature sandwiches, waffles and pancakes during the week, in addition to scrambled egg skillets on the weekends. I will have a discussion with our breakfast staff to improve our service going forward. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly at 361-985-8888.

Regards,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great brand new hotel! I especially loved the breakfast variety, protein choices and tea selections. They had a great selection of Tazo tea. Also, we ordered food to eat in our room at night. The hummus and pizza was great! The hotel was very clean. The pool and workout center was nice. The only small complaint is that we were placed in a handicap room that had a handicap shower. We are not handicap and the staff never informed us in advance that the room was handicap. This was a little disappointing due to the handicap shower had no bath and we were unable to take a bath. Other than that small issue all else was great. The hotel also offers a decent AAA and military discount. The hotel is a perfect location nearby a lot of places throughout the city. I highly recomment this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Sarah123139,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hyatt Place and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Like you mentioned in your review, our selection of Tazo Teas and Starbucks coffee serve as the perfect pick me up in the morning. I would like to apologize for the lack of communication on being assigned to an accessible room. I will use your experience as a tool to improve our service going forward. We look forward to hosting you again on your next getaway at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi.

Thank you,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Being very new, we expected fresh and clean. However the sink was dirty, a used washcloth was put back on the rack and the shower had mold. Combine that with an uncomfortable bed and "thin walls" made our $176 bill a waste of money. We checked out early.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear TexBear44,

I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. I am truly sorry that your Hyatt Grand Bed was not comfortable and that you were unable to rest due to the noise coming from the room next door. I will be discussing your concerns with our Housekeeping department regarding the unsatisfactory level cleanliness that you experienced during your recent stay.

We constantly strive to improve our customer service and feedback such as yours assists us to continuously improve our property on a daily basis. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and hope to see you during your next visit.

Regards,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is new, clean and very comfortable, The location is ok but not perfect, and definitely nothing to look at from the hotel. Easy access to Padre Island but not in the charm of downtown Corpus Christi.

Breakfast is lacking and half of the "fresh" options actually look like plastic! The gym is ok but I have seem Hyatt Place properties much better equipped. Pool was closed for maintenance on a Sunday afternoon- definitely not acceptable on a weekend.

Not hotels fault but neighbors were loud and could hear the talking in the corridors.

Overall ok but not my favorite experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place_CC, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear MTCB,

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Our goal to continuously improve the service provided to each and every one of our guests. Reviews like yours are an excellent tool that we use as we strive to improve our level of service. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for our pool being closed for maintenance on the Sunday afternoon of your recent stay. Our engineering staff had to make a repair to our pool and unfortunately had to close the pool until the repair had been completed. It is our hope that you choose Hyatt Place for your next stay in Corpus Christi and that all of your expectations are exceeded.

Sincerely,

Austin Pruett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Corpus Christi

Address: 6773 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently in the heart of Corpus Christi, Texas the newly built Hyatt Place Corpus Christi is your home away from home. The hotel's many amenities include 103 spacious guestrooms, indoor pool, fitness center, Bakery Café, gallery dining and a business center.Traveling for business? Hyatt Place Corpus Christi is centrally located along the busy commercial corridor of South Padre Island Drive. The hotel is convenient to numerous major company offices, Texas A&M University Corpus Christi, Naval Air Station Corpus Christi and the Corpus Christi Army Depot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.