We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar

Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar
309 N Water St, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2537
(361) 882-2211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 582 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
austin texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Popular place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were in town for an overnight and wanted to eat some seafood. We looked at a lot of places and then settled for the Water Street Oyster Bar. We liked the open, somewhat noisy atmosphere that made it more of a hangout then a restaurant.

We started with the pecan fried oysters, which sounded great but were a little heavy on the breading, covering up the oyster flavor completely. Salads came next, which is a nice touch to have salads included in the price of your entree. The caesar salad was a little strange, but my wife's tossed salad was very good. I had the shrimp harpoons, cooked perfectly and delicious. My wife had the brochette of shrimp and oysters wrapped in bacon. I had thought that there would be separate shrimp and oysters, but they were wrapped together which was a strange flavor combo. (but they too were cooked well). Overall it was a good meal and just what we were looking for on our night out in Corpus Christi

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best oysters in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Would pick this over landrys any day. Oysters were terrific. Waitress was fantastic. The host was the only problem... she seemed liked she was having an off day. Luckily the food made up for that!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Splurge a bit on Water Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The prices are higher than I would like them to be, but we found the food to be excellent. The gouda mac and cheese was killer. 1/2 fried Shrimp/Oyster Po boy was great as well. The pasta gumbo was decent, not over the top good, but filling. Liked how they give you bread to snack on upon arrival. Waiter was top notch and personable. Recommend a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a great place to eat. The seafood was great. The gumbo was pretty spicey. Loved the Key Lime Pie.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We hurried back here for seafood after being gone for 8 years. We got there before many dinner guests had arrives, yet were sat right in front of the kitchen. When we nicely asked to move, we literally were moved one table over. Bummer, as we were on vacation and hoping for a view.

We waited over 15 minutes before our waiter took our order. Food took awhile as well. Coconut and fried shrimp were good, skewers were ok, but blackened. Kids menu is not so great.

Overall, we were disappointed and weren't sure why we were in a hurry to return. Although the house salad dressing was delightful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.