We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar

Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar
309 N Water St, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2537
(361) 882-2211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 625 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Ate here with a group of 4 in Corpus for a convention and were happy with our choice. We had called ahead, but on a Wed. night, it wasn't necessary. Warm fresh bread was brought to our table right away. Entrees were priced from about $12 to $25 with several specials on a board. The blackened catfish came with gumbo and was delicious and the fried shrimp were tasty. The pecan crusted fish was in the fryer a bit too long and was slightly overlooked. The vegetable medley was undercooked and too crunchy. Service was quite good and overall we were happy with our dinner. A good choice for downtown Corpus, walking distance to many hotels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Service ... Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Waiter, as well as bus boy, very professional and welcoming. Manager visited table and interested in anything he could do (beyond obligatory "how's everything"). Entres and appetizer - seafood of course - were unique and well prepared. Desert off the chart! A great value and experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Memories of San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our server was hilarious and provided fantastic service. This warehouse-like restaurant serves interesting combinations: blue crab cake burger with sweet potato fries, or shrimp-stuffed chicken (with sweet tea!). Warm yummy bread and sweet butter a company every meal. Good for groups, families, or casual dining.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food, nothing amazing but nice location in Downtown Corpus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We ate there and had a nice meal. The Tuna was good, but pricey. The shrimp enchiladas were good, but nothing special. Chicken entree was very good. Wine selection was good, prices reasonable (we had a J Lohr Merlot for $30). Service was good, attentive, but the place was pretty much deserted at 7:30 on a Sunday night. I'd try the Oyster Bar next time, but this is a good option for dinner downtown. Needs a freshening, seemed to be a bit dated/old.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had dinner here on Presidents Day. Even At 6:30 p.m. it was not very busy. The service was good, and the food was good. My wife had the Gulf Sampler, and said it was good. I had a steak, and it was also good. Nothing exceptional, but all quite good. Our only complaint was it was pretty loud. We would go back if we are in the area again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.