We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastry paradise....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JB's German Bakery and Cafe

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
15137 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX
361-949-5474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Bakery, German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pastry paradise....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The largest selection of pastries and fresh baked items I have seen in many years. The chocolate cream cheese strudel was rich and delicious. My children loved the jalapeño kalachi. My mom said the poppy seed French toast was delicious. However, I only gave 4 stars because the service set up was awkward and it took over 30 minutes to get the order when there was only 1 cooked item (not pre-cooked already in case. It is a true gem and a refreshing change from Breakfast at McDonald's or IHop. Will return there on every visit to Corpus Christi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“large selection of pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ive been to Corpus just once on vacation and I stopped by with my family for something sweet. I couldn't even make up my mind on what pastry I wanted since there was so many and it all looked so good. They also had a breakfast menu and some sandwiches. I'm definitely stopping by again on my upcoming visit to Corpus soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Excellent Pastries. We would go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Heard that this was a great place to visit while in Corpus and it did not disappoint. Awesome oversized homemade pastries. Too many choices so we got several varieties to try many different flavors and types. All were excellent. Amazing. Huge. And very inexpensive for what one gets. There was a line at the counter and it was busy so very little available seating, but it was a weekend morning. Friendly servers. They have some outside seating too. Inside there are mostly large long tables and you share tables with everyone. Our pastries and breads were so good we got some to go. We would go back and recommend It for breakfast pastries. Only issue was very limited parking due to crowds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ordered a wide variety of pastries and sandwiches from JB's. Their pretzel bread is very fresh and was amazing! What's even better is the Rueben on pretzel bread. We also ordered various cookies/cakes, all which I would recommend to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We saw the reviews for this place on Trip Advisor and were intrigued. When driving on North Padre Island we saw the place and decided to give it a try. It was a little place packed with people. Lots of selection, friendly staff and super service. The prices were a little high but I don't mind paying more for a fresh and quality product. I would recommend this place and would stop again the next time I'm in Corpus.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB's German Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.