We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JB's German Bakery and Cafe

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
15137 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX
361-949-5474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Bakery, German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed eating at this wonderful bakery. The apple strudel is delicious. Even my grandmother who is extremely picky with her deserts loved the strudel. I recommend to eat the pork slice dish. The pork is delicious. My boyfriend had the german burger and he raved how delicious it was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great gem on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular here. I've tried just about everything. I you are looking for carbs, this place offers a huge variety. The pastries are big and taste great. Their pie slices are huge and taste great. They have great sandwiches, huge variety of breads and a decent breakfast offering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I saw the great reviews of this German Cafe and knew my husband would love it, as he did. He got the Bratwurst plate with the German Potato Salad, and I got the Ruben Sandwich. OMG, it was all so good. And the almond pastry I got for dessert was heavenly. We got some of their bread to go, it was good as well.

It's easy to miss when you are driving by, be sure to look for the German Flag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic German Bakery and Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great bakery and coffee shop right on Padre Island near Whitecap Beach. I am fortunate to live near it so that I can go and get danishes, german bread, strudel etc. All just like in Germany.

If you are looking for some special treat to eat, don't drive by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Deutsches Brot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have lived in Germany for many years and appreciate a nice bread with a good crust. This place makes that bread. In fact their bread shelf alone just looks like the ones I am used to from German bakeries. As for their pastries, fortunately we do not live close by, so I cannot come here every day and eventually die from gluttony. In other words, they are good! As for the previous review missing the meats and cheeses in this place. Yes, that would be nice, but that is usually taken care of by butchers in Germany, not bakers (and I miss those too).
My only criticism about this bakery is that the person helping us spoke no German......hmmm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB's German Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.