We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True German food!~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JB's German Bakery and Cafe

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
15137 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX
361-949-5474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Bakery, German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“True German food!~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So good! The breakfast food offers a variety for everyone's taste buds. From a meat breakfast to sweets, or the great breads...all is great!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
central Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

WE ate here for breakfast both days of our CC stay and highly recommend it. Also bought cinnamon rolls and hazelnut pastries and croissants for the long trip home and all came through with stars! Will surely visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top quality pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We frequented JB's which was near the condo we rented for a week. The pastries we had for breakfast snacks are top quality and if you were to price the servings by the pound, they are a much better value than you typically find at the local donut shop. The sesame seed and hazelnut pastries were the best, but the apricot and rasberry were really good as well. You can get a real bargain at JB's if you buy the day old pastries at half price then zap em in the microwave to revive most of the fresh taste. The forty something lady working on the first visits provided great customer service, the young girl working on my last visit didn't and showed me the customer is always wrong when she tried to charge me full price for strudal that was displayed with the half price pastries, then argued with me and insisted that even though it was in the half price display it was not half price and offered no explanation why it was not with the strudal in the full price display.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been in corpus for years and decided to make the short drive to the island to try this little bakery out. The environment was not as authenticly german as I was hoping for, the service was decent but nothing fantastic, but the food was worth the visit! And the coffee is very tasty!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WonderBread! Brava!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

So good! JB German bakery is in the round blue building on the bay side of route 22 heading south toasted south padre.
Excelent sandwiches- not too big for one person.
Lovely streudel - but not too heavy or sweet.
Delicious espresso.
Fabulous service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB's German Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.