We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's

Rudy's
6101 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78412
361-906-0327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 579 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good BBQ for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Not the nest but I would go there again. I like the layout of the place very clean and a smooth operation for the most part but I would eat there again it was good for the most part.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First Texas Smokehouse BBQ for a couple of Canadian Snowbirds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great Experience and excellent food! After reading the reviews on here and the Urban spoon, we just had to try it. What can I say better than the July 30, 2011 posting. Everything said there was accurate. We had a half pound of brisket, half pound of turkey, 1 - jalapeno sausage, a pint of potato salad, a pint of green chili. We didn't have drinks other than ice water with lemon in it. No charge for the water or each, 2 slices of wheat bread. We didn't have to ask for the bread, they offered it to us. Total cost $25.00 We ate the whole thing, we were stuffed and very pleased with this dining experience. The hand washing station is rustic but very efficient so dig into your food with your fingers, "bon appetite!" When in Texas, do as the Texans do!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Sorry I just do not like this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Food is questionable temperature both hot and cold. I do not care for their beef nor do I particularly enjoy them serving a cooking sauce as a serving sauce. Some people like food from this chain but I do not care for it at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The brisket, turkey and sausage were great. Very tender. Nice spicy sauce to put on it. Also the potato salad was good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“1st time at Rudy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

My son lives near here and was bragging about how great the BBQ was, so one afternoon we had to checked it out, I really liked how the place was laid out, country store style, big big big ice chest in the middle with so many differnt kind of beverages to choose from that it was mind boggeling. thaey had a cooler with many differnt kinds and sizes of sides like coleslaw and such, when you got to the counter you chose your meat, brisket, (moist or dry) chicken pork, and a couple of sausages I had the moist brisket wich was good Not the best i ever had but still very good! wife had a pulled pork sandwich which seemed kind of dry to her. also tried the sausage and it was very good. This is a carnavoirs paradise! Meat is sold by the pound! Two differnt kinds of sause on the table if you need it, the sissy sause is a mild sweeter sauce than there signiture sause which is a little spicer sauce, which was my favorite! I am a firm beliver that the BBQ should stand on its own (no sauce needed but i had to add some for flavor) All in all I would go back to Rudys next time i am in town ! It was not the best bbq i have ever had but it was pretty good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rudy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.