We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than Landry's next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern On the Bay

Tavern On the Bay
108 Peoples St T-Head, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
(361) 881- 8503
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 605 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Johnson City, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Much better than Landry's next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service was great food was good. Wish I had tried the Lobster Bisque though after reading some reviews here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Smoking Permitted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went on the bay cruise offered by Harrison's Landing. Didn't see much as boat crawled around the harbour for an hour.

Afterwards we were going to have dinner. My wife's appetite was spoiled by the smoking patron's even though the server advised us that smoking was not supposed to be permitted. Our garlic and cream cheese appetizer didn't taste right, so we finished our beer and went elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for outdoor dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have eaten here several times and while I enjoy it mostly for the atmosphere, I would say the food and service are average. We've run in to issues with being out of menu items, taking an excessively long time when they didn't seem that busy, etc. But we go there because the food is pretty decent and to hang out and socialize and have a few drinks too so it fits the bill well for what we want and we will return for that reason.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome setting with excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I love going to this place to eat on the water. I get my usual fish sandwich with red snapper. The bread the sandwich is on is excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Took some friends from out of town here. Food was pretty average, nothing fantastic, and definately not for the cost. You pay for the atmosphere, service was pretty good, and the view is nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern On the Bay also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tavern On the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern On the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.