We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly

Dragonfly
14701 S Padre Island Dr, Apt S, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6260
361-949-2224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 598 restaurants in Corpus Christi
Restaurant details
Rockport, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great food, great service, great wine. Went for lunch on a Thursday and the place was not crowded as it is off season. The owner is a french chef and it shows in the preparations. Our waitress (Malissa) was very familiar with the menu even though she has only been there for a couple of weeks and this shows that she was well trained. This place is very laid back and has seating inside and out. The prices are very low for the quality of the meals. A 8-10 oz filet mignon with sides is $26 at night. Most other restaurants with this kind of quality the steak would be over $35 and if you went to the big city, around $50. I had crusted flounder with veggies and it was probably this best ever for $14. They have an assortment of appetizers as well. Wanted to try the crab cakes but for sure next time. The restaurant is in a small shopping center and is not hard to find as they have a large sign on the front of the building. I recommend this for lunch or dinner and do not dress up. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    45
    18
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my wife just recently went to Dragonfly for a night out, we've been in Corpus for a few years but don't venture out to island that often. Well that is about to change the food at Dragonfly is great, the atmosphere is very casual. The service was great, the waitress explained the meals on the menu and told us about the specials. I ordered the lamb meatloaf with twice baked potato and plantain sweet potatoes, my wife had shrimp skewers with coconut rice, the portions on the plate were huge and we were stuffed. But we did try to brownie in a jar, couldn't finish it so we took it home, but if your in the area I recommend going to eat at Dragonfly you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dragonfly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love Black Sheep Bistro- especially their fresh fish or lamb chops, but our new haunt is Dragonfly- best crab cakes and their Mediterranean Chicken is healthy and fabulous (and I never order chicken)- but this is worth it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

In multiple trips to Dragonfly, I've never been disappointed by the food or the service. The specials are outstanding- typically fresh seafood with unexpected combinations. And their wine list is a welcome surprise from an unassuming storefront. I always look forward to my next trip to the island and Dragonfly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an upscale eatery that hasn't quite made the ambience upscale, but they are working on it. The food was tasty and they sat us where our little boy could see the fish tanks. It was a highlight of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.