We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't try it, trust reviews and go somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   538 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 82 hotels in Corpus Christi
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Don't try it, trust reviews and go somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I still booked after reading bad reviews. Mistake, especially for price, could have gone somewhere else and the rooms were SMALL SMALL.

1) Pool/hot tub is like old bath water that everyone keeps jumping in. There is NO chlorine in it and probably hasn't been drained in ages, which is why its dark, green, murky water, can only imagine the bacteria built up from 100/1000's of people using it with no chlorine. Kids were disappointed they couldn't swim much, got them out when i realized, but I was not trying to let them get sick.

2) took 45 min. to get settled after check in. First room had water all over floor by AC. got new room keys for second room, but someone was already in that room since we heard kids through the door. front desk hadn't put them in the system as checked in yet, even though they checked in that morning, per the mom we talked to.(thinking that's a safety problem giving access to other people's rooms... hmm...)

3) third room had dog hair all outside the door(do they vacuum at all??) no pets are supposed to be allowed. thinking it was in the room too at one point since my son kind of started his sneezing from allergies. but we stayed and dealt, tired of going down by that point. only two wash/drying towels, no extra sheets for sofa bed(which is OLD flat metal springy mattress) thank goodness for air mattress we brought to put on top.

4) Elevator(there is only one by lobby that is SLOW) went out of service two times. Hope you like stairs and dragging your luggage up them.

5) Continental breakfast. stick to things they don't make. waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit. don't eat the eggs, NASTY and rubbery, we all spit them out. coffee was good, that was only plus.

6) Front desk is constantly busy with people complaining about rooms, trying to transfer people to other rooms, worrying about getting towels or sheets, wrong billing, etc. etc.

We were glad to leave. Turned off by comfort suites in general now, flinch at the signs when i see them! spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel, any room will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
14
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 310 on a Friday night. There were a number of problems that were annoying and indicate that management is not paying attention to details. The room was a small suite that had a desk that was too large, thus the table that accompanies the couch had to be against it all the time. The sink was plugged. The toiletpaper dispenser was incorrectly assembled, so the only way to get toilet paper was to remove the roll. The phone by the bed did not have a dial tone. The water in the jacuzzi was cold. In addition to these inconveniences, the rates were excessively, even after a AAA dicount, for a hotel that is sitting right next to the freeway. I have stayed at Comfort Inns for many years and have never encountered one with these many problems

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We are frequent business and family travelers as well as Choice Hotel members. We have stayed at several other Comfort Suites and have never had such a poor experience. I am also a frequent Trip Advisor Contributor. I enjoy rewarding good locations and have never given a review less than 3 stars. We stayed 4 nights, my husband on business, while the kids and I enjoyed the local attractions. We would have left, but it was convenient to my husbands work and they discounted the rate due to the problems.

Given the age of the hotel (5 years), the hotel room walls and decor are in terrible shape. Two different nights the hot water for the whole hotel was broken and we had to wait for a technician to arrive to fix. Once, the small and slow elevator was broken for a couple hours. The hot tub at the pool was disgusting and cold. The manager "closed" it after multiple complaints. The sink and tub in the room were as clean as they could get it, but still had issues. The hide-a-bed mattress had a bad smell, so my 13 year old son slept on the couch cushions. I overheard two different guests leaving, one because of a broken a/c unit and one because the bed had sandy sheets from the previous guest.

The staff were young and their customer service skills were severely lacking when assisting unhappy customers. The front desk was left unattended and the phone unanswered at times. We asked for extra bedding for the hide-a-bed and they gave us sheets but no blanket or pillow. We complained about a late night suspicious gathering at the open back gate of the parking lot and the night clerk told us it was fine, just other guests. We asked her to close or lock the back gate since the lot was full and we had to park back by the gate and she refused. During the stay we witnessed several car using the parking lot as a high-speed cut-through.

Even thought they gave us a $160 discount on a $700 bill, they were unapologetic. These kinds of problems are more than just an employee with attitude. I hope Choice Hotels takes notice and gets someone to address the problems at this property.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife stayed at this hotel and her stay was horrid. she called me that night and she said that the hotel was not cleaned and she tried asked the front desk for the mgr and nothing. I called the next day and they said the mgr will not be available till 4pm. Poor service overall.

Room Tip: Never stay at this hotel. Not even close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the rooms are over priced, the staff had an I don't care attitude the air conditioners were out on the 3rd floor , appliances didn't work.... shouldve stayed in a days inn for half the price... breakfast was icky... won't stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Comfortable bed, clean and spacious room, typical breakfast selection. Location was away from the hustle and bustle but easily accessible to where we wanted to go.

Was very disturbed to go back to our room in the afternoon and find that our room door was left open and no one from housekeeping/hotel staff was in sight. When I contacted the front desk to ask why our room was left open, they replied that housekeeping had probably gone to get towels even though they did state this was not their standard procedure and would get back to us to explain what happened. Regardless, such carelessness is inexcusable and no one returned to stock clean towels nor did the front desk follow up with us on this incident.

Although we reserved a room with a sofa bed, extra sheets, blankets and pillows were not provided and when we asked for them, the front desk stated they didn't have any on hand. A flat sheet was provided but we had to improvise with was already in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Outside looks nice. Front desk ok. As you start to head further in you start noticing chipped walls, dirty carpet...nothing too too major. Seems like management ignores too many of the "little things" that makes all the difference in the looks of the hotel which is my biggest complaint. There is 1 elevator for 4 floors...so dont expect to make a quick run up to the room. The jacuzzi outside was green and looks like it hasnt been in use for months. My room had a stained cushion bench which grossed me out. The toliet was clogged but fixed when I reported it to the front desk. I noticed black marks all over the walls and there was missing sheet rock below the window sill. Breakfast is served until 9:30 and was ok. Lots of "sweet", choices as in waffles, pastry, oatmeal. The cost was fair since breakfast was included. I personally didnt have this issue..but I overheard that they ran out of extra pillows and blankets...so bring your own if you have a big party. Bed and pillows are comfortable. Overall my stay was comfortable and did not encounter any major issues simply had to crinkle my nose at the up keep of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Central

Address: 538 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi opened brand new in July of 2008 with an elegant design package sure to please all guests. Every room has a microwave, mini-fridge, free HSIA-wired and wireless, work desk, 37" flatscreen TV, and the best beds in town! Hotel extras include free full breakfast, exercise room, outdoor pool, business center, meeting rooms, free local calls, and our easy to get to, central location, close to everywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.