We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and out dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Central to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   538 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Corpus Christi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“old and out dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the rooms are over priced, the staff had an I don't care attitude the air conditioners were out on the 3rd floor , appliances didn't work.... shouldve stayed in a days inn for half the price... breakfast was icky... won't stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    16
    8
    13
See reviews for
36
20
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable bed, clean and spacious room, typical breakfast selection. Location was away from the hustle and bustle but easily accessible to where we wanted to go.

Was very disturbed to go back to our room in the afternoon and find that our room door was left open and no one from housekeeping/hotel staff was in sight. When I contacted the front desk to ask why our room was left open, they replied that housekeeping had probably gone to get towels even though they did state this was not their standard procedure and would get back to us to explain what happened. Regardless, such carelessness is inexcusable and no one returned to stock clean towels nor did the front desk follow up with us on this incident.

Although we reserved a room with a sofa bed, extra sheets, blankets and pillows were not provided and when we asked for them, the front desk stated they didn't have any on hand. A flat sheet was provided but we had to improvise with was already in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Outside looks nice. Front desk ok. As you start to head further in you start noticing chipped walls, dirty carpet...nothing too too major. Seems like management ignores too many of the "little things" that makes all the difference in the looks of the hotel which is my biggest complaint. There is 1 elevator for 4 floors...so dont expect to make a quick run up to the room. The jacuzzi outside was green and looks like it hasnt been in use for months. My room had a stained cushion bench which grossed me out. The toliet was clogged but fixed when I reported it to the front desk. I noticed black marks all over the walls and there was missing sheet rock below the window sill. Breakfast is served until 9:30 and was ok. Lots of "sweet", choices as in waffles, pastry, oatmeal. The cost was fair since breakfast was included. I personally didnt have this issue..but I overheard that they ran out of extra pillows and blankets...so bring your own if you have a big party. Bed and pillows are comfortable. Overall my stay was comfortable and did not encounter any major issues simply had to crinkle my nose at the up keep of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at check in at 10.45pm and it took us 30 minutes to check in and we were the only ones. Receptionist was very sweet but obviously very busy and stressed. We had to take our own sheets and blankets for the pull out sofa upstairs. When we got up to the room it smelled (not of smoke) just really stinky. The pull out sofa was broken so my two teenage children had to sleep on floor!!! Although our bed was comfortable the sheets had holes in! Room was reasonably clean. I had to go back downstairs to get more things out of car when I came back the lift had stopped working so I am had to climb up three flights of stairs. The internet was down. The printer both in business center and also at reception was broken. If we had not been so tired and it had been earlier we would have left and found another place. The breakfast was ok for the price although the boiled eggs were like rubber balls. Not impressed and will not be going back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful staff!! A problem with our car rental required a last minute, late evening hotel stay. This property provided transportation from the airport and worked with my different memberships to get me a reasonable rate. They also granted us a late checkout, which we appreciately greatly!

Delicious hot breakfast included waffles, eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, choice of juices and more. Nice pool with hot tub, and fitness room was well equipped.

Clean rooms, comfortable beds and quality toiletries. And a convenience store, Burger King and Whataburger within walking distance, hooray!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed at a number of hotels in the Corpus area and this one is by far my favorite one, the beds are extremely comfortable and well kept, the rooms are well appointed with large modern flat panel TVs and it's just a short drive to most of Corpus Christi's restruants and attractions. When I'm in the area this where I stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I expected this hotel to be worthy of a 4.3 rating at the time I booked it, but I was very disappointed. The good: staff was nice and they were able to find a room at 12PM, 3 hours before the scheduled check-in time. The bad: the room was just OK, the AC unit didn't cool too well (glad it wasn't June!), the carpet had several black stains and the room lacked attention, the bed sheets were torn in several places, wallpaper ripped...it was surface clean, not clean clean and was in disrepair. The pool area was shabby and the jacuzzi had a disgusting yellow color! The hotel is lacking in attention, seems to get only a minimum amount of maintenance and is in need of work. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#29 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#18 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#35 of 83 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Fairfield Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#5 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
5.1 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#6 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Central

Address: 538 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi opened brand new in July of 2008 with an elegant design package sure to please all guests. Every room has a microwave, mini-fridge, free HSIA-wired and wireless, work desk, 37" flatscreen TV, and the best beds in town! Hotel extras include free full breakfast, exercise room, outdoor pool, business center, meeting rooms, free local calls, and our easy to get to, central location, close to everywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.