We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Seafood & Steak Restaurant

Doc's Seafood & Steak Restaurant
13309 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418
(361) 949-6744 / 6755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 598 restaurants in Corpus Christi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

looking for a great sunset? this restaurant is right on the water with great views of the SPID bridge and and sunsets......big garage doors are open facing the water. Great seafood, with a wonderful selection in a fun atmosphere. Enjoyed a talented musician while there too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    112
    92
    53
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We waited for 1hr but it was worth the waite...we loved it service, friendliness, food excellent :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fun beach place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is unremarkable but decent. This place is all about the funky beach experience. Open air, perched over the bay on the second floor, take your binoculars to watch birds while you sip beer and wait for your food. We went for a late lunch. The crowd was pretty tame. I would guess it is quite a bit more lively at night

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Sunset and the Dolphins.... not to mention some great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Under the JFK Causeway there are two seafood restaurants's and if I had to pick a favorite, it would be Doc's. For a few reasons, full service bar, full service restaurant, and accepts credit cards. Also when in season, you can always get oysters on the half shell. I have feel in love with their seafood salad which is a combination of lightly grilled tuna, calamari, other seafood, fish, ginger and a great dressing. I find sharing a dozen oysters, along with my seafood salad and a nice glass of chardonnay make for a wonderful dinner. Last time I was there, I was able to enjoy the beautiful sunset along with the dolphins frolicking in the water.

I will say, one Saturday when I was there I waited sometime for service. So I asked the manager if my waiter would ever visit my table. I was pleasantly surprised when he not only served us and gave my daughter and I full attention but made sure our waiter came and took care of us as well. So speak up if you feel you need attention and you will get it.

Love the place and will will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Plenty of good food to Sea at Doc's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was raised in New England and I have eaten in some of the best sea food places around. Doc's is one of them. It was a Friday evening off season but the locals love it and it is clear why.
The selection was more than enough. But when you take a couple of Shrimp heads to a sea food joint... Well let's just say some things never change. We both ordered Shrimp differant types of course so we could share. It was great. The salad was fresh the Bread was hot out of the oven and the beer was ice cold. What a great way to start off an off season weekend on Padre Island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Seafood & Steak Restaurant also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc's Seafood & Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Seafood & Steak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.