We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We needed more time! give yourself more than 2 hours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS LEXINGTON

USS LEXINGTON
2914 N. Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78403
+1 361-888-4873
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the most highly decorated Essex Class aircraft carrier of World War II.The 16-story "Blue Ghost" displays military artifacts and more than a dozen aircraft.5 Tour Routes,3D MEGA Theater,Ship's Store,Mess Deck and Flight Simulator. National Historic Landmark located on North Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Porter, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We needed more time! give yourself more than 2 hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This wasn't our first visit to this awesome floating museum but it was the first time we got there so late. (we got there at 4pm and they close at 6pm in the summertime. this is just not enough time!!) Obviously you get an amazing history lesson just by walking around. There are several photo opportunities throughout the ship. Sadly though, we have never seen one of the ghosts aboard the Blue Ghost!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    276
    53
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“most fun museum ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This as amazing! Lots of hands on opportunities, loved the 3-D theater show, and a variety of things to see and do. price was fair, nice snack bar that was reasonably priced. Spent 5 hours there and could have kept looking if we weren't so tired!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'm in desperate need of closure! We came to visit this spectacular aircraft carrier late in the afternoon. Much to my surprise there is so much to explore here that I really needed more time than what was afforded. The only other floating museum I have been to is the USS Texas in San Jacinto. Though grand in its own right, a battleship and a carrier are drastically different vessels. Up on the flight deck you can get close and personal with several decommissioned military planes and helicopters. Though a carrier isn't outfitted for all-out warfare, it does have guns for defenses. Feel free to climb in and around the smattering of guns and cannons positioned around the vessel. There is a self-guided tour once you go below deck. What's cool about the self-paced tour is that you follow a cordoned path (for obvious reasons) and snake your way through various quarters. And there is plenty of signage throughout the path that gives you the information you need to understand what you are looking at. Some of the interesting things you will find on the tour include the chapel, defused torpedoes, and scale models of ships past and present. Again because of time constraints, I had to rush my way through to the end of the tour. But given another chance, I could stay down there for hours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My grandson had a great time and learned a little history. Well worth the money. I certainly do not mind spending money for such a worth attraction!

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great unique part of history. Once in a lifetime experience. All retired navy ships should be turned into a museum

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LEXINGTON also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to USS LEXINGTON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS LEXINGTON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.