We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth The Time And money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS LEXINGTON

USS LEXINGTON
2914 N. Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78403
+1 361-888-4873
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums, Military Bases/ Facilities
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the most highly decorated Essex Class aircraft carrier of World War II.The 16-story "Blue Ghost" displays military artifacts and more than a dozen aircraft.5 Tour Routes,3D MEGA Theater,Ship's Store,Mess Deck and Flight Simulator. National Historic Landmark located on North Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Time And money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

You Could Easily Spend At Least 3 Hours Here To Look At Everything. There Are 5 Different Self Guided Tours. I Have Spent As Much Or More Other Places To TourA Submarine, And This Is Just One Part of The Tour. Very Interesting. Totally Worth Spending An Afternoon Here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    246
    51
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Visiting the Lady Lex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great experience for both the history buff and the casual history visitor. There are five self guided tours available. Each is devoted to a different part of the ship; such as, the outside flight deck with the 20 historic aircraft on display. So if time is an issue, you can chose the tour that would be of the most interest to your group. Just opened before our visit was a new scale model Gallery of Warbirds and Warships . This exhibit was extremely well done and will be expanding in the future. On their web site, there is a list of model donations they are seeking for this exhibit. These models were done by master craftsmen from all over the country. Also, loved the 3-D movie on the assistance given during the Haiti earthquake. The USS South Dakota ship model were amazing sitting on the Hanger Deck. It is 30 foot long. The original ship was 680 feet long. Pay parking is available across the street, and they run a golf cart type of transport between the ground display to the ship's entrance, which is handy since that is a long walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice set up you can get a ride up and down the long walkway to the boat (sounds silly but remember it is HOT down here). They have 5 tours set up, took about 2 hours to go through the tours and look around for some souveniers. Enjoyed by all from 8 yrs old to 46 yrs old.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kids liked it too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great time filler before check in time at our hotel. We're not accustomed to the heat and humidity, but even then, some parts were air conditioned so we had some breaks from the heat. I'm a history buff, so maybe this review is biased. I loved it. Love the planes, love being able to see the types of ships my dad worked on, love the Pearl Harbor exhibit. The movie was so-so, the flight simulator was so-so. I like the self guided tour, gives you time to read and enjoy yourself. The kids were allowed to play on some stuff, and they LOVED the anti-aircraft guns. Overall, I suggest this to anyone who enjoys history or needs to kill some time before going to the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Must see for World War II buffs. Self guided tours with access to many of the ship's levels. Great piece of history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LEXINGTON also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to USS LEXINGTON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS LEXINGTON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.