We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids liked it too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS LEXINGTON

USS LEXINGTON
2914 N. Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78403
+1 361-888-4873
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the most highly decorated Essex Class aircraft carrier of World War II.The 16-story "Blue Ghost" displays military artifacts and more than a dozen aircraft.5 Tour Routes,3D MEGA Theater,Ship's Store,Mess Deck and Flight Simulator. National Historic Landmark located on North Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kids liked it too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great time filler before check in time at our hotel. We're not accustomed to the heat and humidity, but even then, some parts were air conditioned so we had some breaks from the heat. I'm a history buff, so maybe this review is biased. I loved it. Love the planes, love being able to see the types of ships my dad worked on, love the Pearl Harbor exhibit. The movie was so-so, the flight simulator was so-so. I like the self guided tour, gives you time to read and enjoy yourself. The kids were allowed to play on some stuff, and they LOVED the anti-aircraft guns. Overall, I suggest this to anyone who enjoys history or needs to kill some time before going to the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    271
    52
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Must see for World War II buffs. Self guided tours with access to many of the ship's levels. Great piece of history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Navy's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Even though my husband was on a carrier when we met, I am still amazed and awed whenever we visit one of these ships. We had our 7 year old grandson and he was totally fascinated. He wanted to see every nook and cranny of this ship and I think we did! The 3-D movie Rescue was wonderful (it was about the rescue efforts during the Haiti earthquake) There was lots of helpful staff to answer questions and the displays regarding Pearl Harbor were terrific. I cannot say enough it was just a great experience and one not to miss no matter your what your age. They do Live Onboard and have all kinds of programs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemount
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really cool bit of history!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's an awesome experience. Big groups call in advance they have discounts. They do have overnights also. I recommend coming in cooler months if possible it is hot and humid in summer!! Movie they offer is really cool. If you are military buff it will take awhile.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A great experience for all ages. I was very impressed with all of the displays and variety. Lots of different types and styles, from short videos to movies, miniature models to full size cut outs, walk throughs to hands on, replicas to actual artifacts. Second best museum only to the smithsonian. We loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LEXINGTON also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to USS LEXINGTON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS LEXINGTON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.