We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and rude spider webs all over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing

The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Van Buren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing
Save
You added The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing to your Saves list
110 Front Street, Suite #1, Van Buren, MO 63965   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pricey and rude spider webs all over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 23 girlfriends. The rooms are big the parking is not even sufficient for the new building we were in. Everyone that worked there definitely were doing you a favor by even acknowledging you. A suite that sleeps 8 had only 3 keys. The steps to get to the rooms are outside and are filthy with decaying bugs. The rooms are very noisy. You can here every word said in the suite below and the room next door as well as people on the deck walking by. I think for 405 a night in the boondocks it should have some sound deadening of a nice hotel. The room were spacious just noisy as heck. Security guard likes to threaten you before the midnight curfew very rude to us. Parking by the river was amazing the young man Kenny has a personality problem and is mean.
For a company that has monopolized the area you would think they could provide hospitality instead of making sure we knew we bothered them. Paying for our floats was painful it took forever and they have a terrible system for transporting and getting on the river We repeatedly spoke to the landing about a 11am float only to be on the river close to 1
I have never seen such a horrible system

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Bluff, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband booked a room one night for us at The Landing for our anniversary(April 2013). We were wanting something closer to home but yet different and with something out-doorsey to do. Unfortunately the river was way up bc of recent heavy rain so our adventurous plans of going rafting the next day were ruined (not The Landings fault of course.) We did however take a small dvd player (not available in room) and hooked it up to the very small old school TV and watched some red box movies after eating a snack at the Jolly Cone (thumbs up!) and later dinner at the Blue Heroin restaurant down stairs.
Pros-The room was clean, the staff was curteous, the restaurant staff were curteous and accomadating (the fish I ordered was not cooked well and was very soggy. They were gracious and the cook grilled me shrimp at no extra cost)
Cons-the bed was so so, i was missing my king size comfy bed at home, the TV was kinda crappy given the flat screens are in most hotel rooms now, the room seemed damp and kinda cold, the blinds were shifted and the sun was shinning right into our eyes while lying in bed (could not get them closed completely) Lots of road noise, the deck/outside sitting area needed cleaned of leafs/debris. style seemed dated 90's
Overall it would be a good place to stay if you were from out of town, wanting to experience the river for a day and after a full day of floating wanting a place to lay your head, rest up and drive home the next day. If that is what your doing, skip the blue heroin and try the float stream restaurant, jolly cone or stray dog bbq!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Don't book it. Every "Deluxe Riverview" has a view of the highway with noise included. I asked to be moved farther from the highwa. They offered a room 3 floors directly below us and were stupid enough to think that would be different. (Chumley worked the front desk.) There were no other occupants in the entire building! Sooo not flexible. The trash outside my door was never emptied during our 2-day stay. There were cobwebs everywhere, even on the stairways. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The shower was terrible with no pressure and changing hot/cold. To wrap it up, overpriced!! We did not try the restaurant; it is very pricey.

Room Tip: Rosecliff Rooms with River View have Terrible Road Noise and View of Highway. Building the the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Rosecliff Lodge for our daughter's wedding. Our room was very clean and the furnishings looked brand new. There was a beautiful armoir with a nice TV in it, a mini fridge, a spacious sink and counter top and the bathroom had a very nice tiled floor. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others. After reading some of the previous reviews, we were a bit leary and expected a terrible room. We were pleasantly surprised! The only negative thing I can say is that the mattress was very hard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant. Nice seating in front of the river that is perfect for a quiet evening. Would only recommend off-season, however. Lots of road noise from Hwy and there wouldn't be much privacy for seating. Room is adequate, but would of been nice to have a blow dryer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, had to call the front desk after the first night to get clean towels and the garbage taken out. Next day towels were brought to the room but garbage was not taken, nothing cleaned and almost out of toilet paper and still have all the dirty towels piled on the floor, never picked up entire stay. No hooks in the room to hang a towel on. Beds are like sleeping on a rock and all this service for only $135.00 a night. Do not waste your money, could do just as well sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

For the price, they have a lot of improvements they need to make. Motel is a great location, right on the river but the rooms are ok. We sent three nights and they didn't clean our room after the first night. The second day, after complaining, they made our beds and left clean towels but didn't empty the garbage cans or take the dirty towels off the floor. Also the mattresses were like sleeping on cement.
Format too expensive for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing

Address: 110 Front Street, Suite #1, Van Buren, MO 63965
Location: United States > Missouri > Van Buren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Van Buren
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the historic Rose Cliff Hotel in Van Buren, Missouri, this 56 unit riverfront lodge is home to the largest river outfitter on the lower Current River and is the only riverfront lodging on Current River. Only 3 miles from Big Spring. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rosecliff Lodge at The Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.