We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An icky Comfort Inn, albeit with nice amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6363 Oxon Hill Rd., Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An icky Comfort Inn, albeit with nice amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This Comfort Inn is a few blocks away from a truly creepy liquor store (looked like gang members were thronging there). We stopped there before booking our room so I knew the place would be strange. The staff was fine, though, and we got our 4th floor room without incident. The whole place smelled like very stale smoke which bugged me. The room was completely worn out to the bones (I think the floor was crumbling concrete -- you could feel 1" lumps below the carpet). On the other hand, the bed was comfortable and the furnishings & carpeting were upgraded, so nice. There was a nice thin-screen TV But it had the telltale old 70's doors that were given the cursory paint job... We asked for a quiet room, but could hear the couple next door in the throngs of ecstasy. At least they weren't fighting!

I have been to probably 30 different Comfort Inns over the last 5 years, and I would say this place is in the bottom 3, simply because of the creepy location, the shoddy construction, and the smell. However, the breakfast was quite nicely done. Comfort Inns always have a good breakfast spread -- yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, donuts, cereals, english muffins, etc and this one seemed to have the full gamut of offerings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
10
9
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was bad. The shower didn't work. The owner wouldn't take anything off the price for my family'c inconvience. The front desk attendant "Rachel" was great! She knew we were treated badly and kept saying she we so sorry for all we went thorough checking in and during our stay. We were there for a family celebration and we were an hour late because of all the problems with checking in. I wasn't expecting a four star hotel, I did expect the things to work. The phone and hair dryer didn't work. It was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Advantage : - Only the price. Some staffs are good
Disadvantage ;- old property and away from city. rooms are on average cleaniness. no proper public transpotation though cabs available on request . Nothing to see around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

So it's not got the amenities of a 4 star....because it isn't a 4 star but there a some good things to say about our stay here. It felt family run as if everyone we met was related in some way. We were treated well from the check in to the complementary shuttle to the Gaylord Convention Center. We were attending a conference at National Harbor and we just didn't want to spent so much on our hotel room in this area generally. The rooms are basic but very clean and the beds were comfortable. Not much character to the hotel itself and I'd skip the breakfast. We suggested a change in air fresheners too...way too powerful. Overall I'd stay here again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Nepal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I attended two conventions at Gaylords between 4th and 14th October and stayed 10 nights at Comfort Inn and paid on average USD 89+ taxes. We were a group of around 30 people and had booked around 28 rooms .

I was also little scared after reading bad comments on this property but after staying there for ten nights I can guarantee that the bad comments are baseless as we experienced as follows :
a) Room Size : Decent sized rooms with a flat screen tV, Micro and Fridge, two double beds, linen changed everyday, bathroom was a bit small but effective,shower pressure was a bit low but workable, heating/cooling was perfect, room had a safe, drycleaning service was good. gym was a bit dated but I managed to get a good workout out of it every day.

Breakfast : Yes they don't change the food every day- but hey , you don't have to eat all the items every day..change your choices if they don't change the food....The breakfast is fresh and hot - no complaints.

Free Internet : The internet was high speed broadband - A similar speed internet costs you around USD 10 + Taxes at 5 star hotels.

b) Positive attitude of the Manager and Staff :

Hats off to Mr Natu Patel and Party - they really took care of us , small examples of their out of the way help :

* Mr Natu Patel drove one of my friend to a superstore for getting a cell phone recharge coupon
* James (I think this was the name) the shuttle driver carried our heavy boxes to the vehicle (which were stored at the hotel for a week without any extra charges) to the Gaylords and waited till we managed to sneak in the boxes
* Chris - The shuttle driver did extra trips for our group even when he was off duty
* The reception staff was excellent and took notice of our slightest request
* The house keeping was good and they kept our rooms clean
* We all had laptops, digital cameras etc lying in the room and not a single thing went missing..

We will be vising Washington DC in another 3-4 years and we will definitely stay here.

Now to the security in the area :

People say oh this area is not safe - If you ask me the whole world is a unsafe area now..you should not be at a wrong place at a wrong time..we walked at midnight even around the hotel area and we did not find anything unusual - it was like Manhattan - the main street was safe and we didn't go inside the dark alleys..

nearby shopping : there is a big grocery store and a Marshall's super market .
Nearby eateries : Levis Barbeque - Great place, A Ranch - Good, Chinese food - good and Tacho Bell is also there.

Taxis are readily available 24 hours , place is safe .

I fully recommend this hotel to all people who want value for money...People who have written bad comments on this hotel are either domestic travelers without any international experience or they just want 5 star accomodation at budget prices...If you ask me this hotel is worth staying even if they charge you USD 150 a night !

Best of luck Mr Natu Patel and Party - Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask them for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Comfort Inn located on Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, Maryland is within walking distance of "crackland". Its about $105.00 per night, if you pay by credit card you will not get a receipt until you checkout. There is a hold placed on your card. The bathroom shower head is made by Sunbean and its trickles water, because the pressure is not working. The plumbing is shoddy. You actually feel as though you might break something when you take a shower. Staff or Customer Service is rude, arrogant. It was the worst experience. The good news, its a beautiful room. Charming in fact. If you just need a place to sleep. Also, no "DISCOUNTS" of any kind. They won't accept them. Nada? I guess in this neighborhood, they need all the dough they can get. The Gaylord is miles from this place. And there are hotels at the Gaylord. Remember to pay $10.00 for parking, per night. No kids or teenagers walking here. Its a place for adults and families only. Good security. Will tow your car if you park anywere. At The Comfort Inn, check the next morning to see if your car is still their?

Room Tip: Go to the Gaylord. The Aloft Hotel is more expensive but its a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Inn while on a trip which found me working in the Southeast area of DC. The proximity to the area in which I was working on was good and driving to the area was simple. Access to National Harbor was easy. The hotel itself was mediocre. The room was clean and quiet but the commons areas were hot and stuffy and overcrowded. The breakfast room was overcrowded and the food was very repetitive and only average - only so much you can do with powdered eggs and bagels. The business center was very small,dirty, had only one antique computer, no printer and was not airconditioned. The management seemed detached but tried to help and answer some of our simple questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 6363 Oxon Hill Rd., Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oxon Hill
Comfort Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.