We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6170 Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
1 review
“I enjoyed my stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Front desk clerk Pamela is a excellent worker and place has affordable good prices then nearby hotels. Housekeeping is good will keeping rooms clean and made sure I have everything that I needed during my stay. I have been here for awhile and enjoyed my stay. Close to restaurants and harbor. I can't wait to see the new look of the hotel that will be happening soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0181, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. It is nice to hear that our front desk employee Pamela and housekeeping provided you with good service. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope that you will visit us again in your next stay.
Sincerely,
Bikas (GM)
6170 Oxon Hill Road
Oxon Hill MD 20745
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    11
    2
    13
See reviews for
6
5
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was hooking up with my daughter who was staying in Alexandria. I chose this place because as a RR I knew what to expect with a Superior King, and that's what I got :-)

It was a little over $100 which isn't bad for this area, and 10 minutes from Alexandria (non rush hour!). Biggest problem was finding it as the road-side sign is fairly small and it is tucked back behind a bank.

The room was large, remodelled, clean, cool and comfortable with working wifi and free long distance (in SK rooms).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0181, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your experience at Red Roof Inn, Oxon Hill. I appreciate your comments regarding your stay. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are happy to let you know that Red Roof Inn Oxon Hill is under renovations now with all new furnishings, wood floors, flat screen TV’s, upgrading all of our beds with Love-your-Linens™ and all new comfy bedding with Rest Suite beds by Serta®.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bikas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clerk behind bullet proof glass (we arrived before sundown).
Standard room, clean but no hair dryer.
Not far from downtown, but even with the GPS we had a hard time getting there and getting back (we're not new at traveling and navigating new cities.) Next time in DC (we love the city, we will be back) we will spend a little more money and stay closer to the main attractions.
At night, the parking lot is as bright as day and there is police presence. I never once felt unsafe, but definitely on alert as this looks like a poor suburb.
Would I go back? No. Do I recommend this place? Not really.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0181, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Oxon Hill Red Roof. I am sorry for a dissatisfying stay; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are happy to let you know that Red Roof Inn Oxon Hill is under renovation now with all new furnishings, wood floors, flat screen TV’s, drapes, shower curtain and upgrading all of our beds with Love-your-Linens™ and all new comfy bedding with Rest Suite beds by Serta®.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bikas

General Manager

Red Roof Inn - Oxon Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed to attention a convention in town. It was clean and nice sized room and much cheaper price than the rest of places in town.

However there was no hair dryer which as a female I was highly disappointed. It may have been my fault for not checking what the rooms offered inside, but what hotel doesn't have a small hair dryer hanging on the wall?

The thing that bothered me the most was there were no wash rags. There were large towels and hand towels but no wash rags for the shower. That's a bit unsanitary if you ask me and makes me wonder what people wash WITH. Brining my own wash rag is inconvenient because it stays damp and could get sour in my luggage.

The overall environment of the place was a little uncomfortable and unsafe feeling. If my boyfriend hadn't have been with me I wouldn't have stayed alone nor would I take children to this particular Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0181, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I wanted to express my sincerest apologies for no wash rags in the room. Please rest assured that I have personally followed up with housekeeping staff and corrective measures have been taken. We do appreciate your business...

Sincerely,
Bikas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

A standard Red Roof. Clean & comfortable room. Very quick access to Alexandria and southern DC area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We arrived at 11:00 p.m. from Upstate NY, not knowing the area at all and thinking since it's close to Mt. Vernon, etc., it would be upscale. The first tip-off should've been the locked lobby and the clerk behind glass. But since it was so late, we paid and went to our room -- only to find it hadn't been cleaned, beds unmade, unflushed filthy toilet. Should've left then...but took another room. Carpets are stained; upholstery is dirty and soiled; sheets are thin, gray and full of holes. Yuk. I went back to ask for additional sheets to toss over the blankets (who in their right mind would touch a hotel blanket?) and the clerk said they're "locked up." Locked from who? Only he feels safe, certainly not us when the parking lot is full of loitering ghetto types, shirtless, dirty men smoking and tossing butts in the parking lot. It's only midnight and I can't wait to leave in the morning -- just hoping our nice Suburban will still be here -- with windows intact. We're sleeping with the AC turned off to listen for breaking glass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I'm staying here for a couple nights until I get over a cold (so my friends don't catch it), but this place is big time ghetto. Driving up I saw people fighting in the middle of a parking lot. The management hides behind bullet proof glass. People just walk around aimlessly at night. The walls are so thin I can hear every word said clearly. Loud music plays at random times (like 1:30 AM). I was thinking of taking a trip to see the capital, but I fear for my safety on the long walk to the metro (4 miles)... and I'm a 6'3" 27 yr old male. They do have wireless internet, but it is not fast enough to stream low quality youtube videos. The room is clean, but has that musty smoked-in cheap hotel smell. Four of the seven total lights work. The sign on the door says that the hotel is only liable for $300 if you get robbed unless your items are in the safe (yes, there's a safe in the room). When I got here, a cop car was sitting in the parking lot, but he left 10 minutes later and I haven't seen another. I'll be staying in the room my entire stay. If you want my advice, bring a gun, otherwise avoid this place like the plague. Lots of fast food places nearby though.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill

Address: 6170 Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc - Oxon Hill Hotel Oxon Hill
Red Roof Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.