We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful -- and frightening!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6170 Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful -- and frightening!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We arrived at 11:00 p.m. from Upstate NY, not knowing the area at all and thinking since it's close to Mt. Vernon, etc., it would be upscale. The first tip-off should've been the locked lobby and the clerk behind glass. But since it was so late, we paid and went to our room -- only to find it hadn't been cleaned, beds unmade, unflushed filthy toilet. Should've left then...but took another room. Carpets are stained; upholstery is dirty and soiled; sheets are thin, gray and full of holes. Yuk. I went back to ask for additional sheets to toss over the blankets (who in their right mind would touch a hotel blanket?) and the clerk said they're "locked up." Locked from who? Only he feels safe, certainly not us when the parking lot is full of loitering ghetto types, shirtless, dirty men smoking and tossing butts in the parking lot. It's only midnight and I can't wait to leave in the morning -- just hoping our nice Suburban will still be here -- with windows intact. We're sleeping with the AC turned off to listen for breaking glass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    19
    7
    19
See reviews for
12
10
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I'm staying here for a couple nights until I get over a cold (so my friends don't catch it), but this place is big time ghetto. Driving up I saw people fighting in the middle of a parking lot. The management hides behind bullet proof glass. People just walk around aimlessly at night. The walls are so thin I can hear every word said clearly. Loud music plays at random times (like 1:30 AM). I was thinking of taking a trip to see the capital, but I fear for my safety on the long walk to the metro (4 miles)... and I'm a 6'3" 27 yr old male. They do have wireless internet, but it is not fast enough to stream low quality youtube videos. The room is clean, but has that musty smoked-in cheap hotel smell. Four of the seven total lights work. The sign on the door says that the hotel is only liable for $300 if you get robbed unless your items are in the safe (yes, there's a safe in the room). When I got here, a cop car was sitting in the parking lot, but he left 10 minutes later and I haven't seen another. I'll be staying in the room my entire stay. If you want my advice, bring a gun, otherwise avoid this place like the plague. Lots of fast food places nearby though.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I can't believe this place represents the Red Roof chain. I filed a complaint with corporate after the lady at the front desk said, and I quote (" Sorry,I guess to you we all look alike ..huh?") My jaw dropped!! I had to endure 4 weeks of staying here. They didn't tell me I had to register every week so on Saturday morning they sent the police to my door beating on it telling me I need to get out. I told him I had a four week reservation and he said that's not his problem. I had to go to the front desk and they said this was standard procedure. You can't believe the attitudes here. They are rude, unapologetic,bull headed and stubborn here. They just don't give a crap. The area is dangerous. There is always a cop in the parking lot. The rooms have bugs in them. I woke up in the morning and a roach actually managed to crawl his way into my lighter!! (I will attach photo soon) I hope you think twice about stopping here. I wouldn't wish this place on anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I travel a lot throughout US and Latin America and have stayed in very poor and humble hotels, specially in Latin America, but this is, by far, the filthiest, disgusting place I've had the bad luck to stay at.

First of all, we arrived by 8.00 pm and the lobby was already closed for "safety" reasons. That gave me an initial idea of where I was. We had to go to a small room, where there is a vending machine and ice maker and a window to the lobby where the front desk person would check you in, but the room was hot as hell.

My reservation was not right, of course.
The person checking us in managed to get us the three rooms, only after begging her to do so.
We all asked for non-smoking rooms and the actual rooms had non-smoking signs but smelled like the hell.

Carpet was filthy and sticky, walls were stained.

Shocked, I walked out to my friends room to find out wether I had been the "lucky one" getting this room. Turns out theirs were the same filthy ratholes.

We had to leave, smelling like we had been at the smokiest bar in the world.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The price was reasonable but it kinda seems like a shelter the way people hang around outside all day. Room was reasonably clean, free wifi.......

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I was traveling to the area for a funeral. I was early Saturday morning approx. 5am. I called to see if there were any rooms available the desk clerk said yes. Upon our arrival, approx. 5:45am, I proceeded to check-in. The clerk said he would have to charge me for the entire night if I checked in at the current time. I then asked what would be the earliest I could check in, he replied 11am. I explained that I had a funeral to attend that started a 10am and all I need was a place to freshen up and change clothes and I was planning to stay for the the next day or so. I asked if there was anything he could do to help. He said no. Desperate and pressed for time I took the room only to later find out that had we waited another hour and 15 to 20 minutes, they could have checked us in if there were rooms available, which there was, and they would not have charged me for a full night to just freshen up, brush my teeth, and change my clothes. After the services were over I explained the situation to the manager. He explained to me that this is the way they conduct business and made no concessions about his clerk giving misinformation or no information at all. They charge me $109.00 for two hours and check me out of the room before I returned from the funeral. I was planning to stay another night but after all of that I looked else where and found a brand new hotel in the SpringHill Suites for the same price, continental breakfast, much cleaner facility, PROFESSIONAL SERVICE, and a helpful staff. I travel for my job and I have had some trying times but never one as bad as the lack luster service and pss poor professionalism as I received at the Oxon Hill, MDI RED ROOF INN. I would sleep on the street before I stayed there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I went on one of the hotel websites to check out costs and found Red Roof for $79 per night. The website sent me a confirmation but never got with the hotel. I was upset. So, my room rate was reduced to $69 for the one night I stayed. I thought it was a good deal. The check in process was easy. Free internet use w/ my laptop. The room was clean. Okay, so the sink was plugged and it bleched a few times as the water was draining.

Then there was a lot of noise at night. People were talking loud. I mean at 11:30 pm. A family got up and left at 3:30 am and obviously didn't realize that people were sleeping. They kept screaming to each other. None of these people had the common sense to be quiet. Too much loud noise. It was hard to get to sleep and it wasn't pleasant.

I told the manager in charge and they were rude to me about my telling them to police the noise at night! I am the customer.

Check out the other hotels though before you make a reservation. If you make reservations from a hotels website, triple check so that they have your reservation.

If I go back to Oxon Hill or the DC area, I will have a list of other hotels so I totally understand the property.

This place was too noisy for me to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel
Harborside Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
2.4 mi away
The Westin Washington National Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill

Address: 6170 Oxon Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc - Oxon Hill Hotel Oxon Hill
Red Roof Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.