We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in safety and cleanliness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel National Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel National Harbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Portland, Oregon, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lacking in safety and cleanliness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was a conveniently located and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, that is the only good thing I can say about it. There was a police car in front of the hotel when I arrived, and it had returned on the day I departed. The hotel design and decor had been intended as a 3 star, however the clientele and lack of a good cleaning would bring it down to 2 stars or lower. The elevator appeared as though a herd of goats had just come through with dirt caked on the interior frame. There were pubic hairs left in the shower. I think I'll stop there. Not recommended if one values safety or cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    7
    13
    8
See reviews for
15
4
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I happened to be in town for an event at the Gaylord National and due to budget restrictions was not able to afford the rooms there. I was a little worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor but I can tell you that either something has changed in the last couple of months or maybe these comments need review from the hotel's management.

My room was clean, had no bugs in it and everything was in working order. The furniture is a little outdated and there are no flat screen TV's yet. The front desk staff was very welcoming every time I walked in the door and whenever I needed anything they were a phone call away. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a convention at the large convention center hotel nearby at the Harbor. Co-worked booked a block of rooms, so i stayed here. Due to our company's challenging and sometimes downright pitiful hotel budgets, I've become a master of hotel booking sites and usually stay in a 3.5 or 4-star for the same price paid here: over $130/ night for the clarion. *Minimal* amenities: (coffee in room, um.... I would say shampoo/conditioner in room but they didn't give me any). No breakfast included, which is usually the case in most budget hotels. Internet works marginally. Room had stains on the walls, stained carpet, a broken toilet (cracked), my bed had a disgusting yellow stain on the bed AFTER they cleaned the sheets. It's in a terrible area - while close to the Harbor ($12 taxi/ 10 mins) the clarion specifically is in a bad strip/block/ (I'm told it is "getting better") - I wouldn't walk/shop/dine anywhere within the immediate area. There is a 'lounge' which I wouldn't expect you'd want to get a drink at (a makeshift counter in lobby which closes at 10).

Did I mention I didn't get shampoo/conditioner/soap? In their defense however, they did provide these when I went to front desk, along with shaving cream.

For the same price, I could have gotten 3-3.5 star hotels in Alexandria ($15 taxi/15 minutes) or a 4-star for 20% more. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were on a school trip to the D.C. area and stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms smelled like smoke at first, even though it was supposed to be a smoke free hotel. The air conditioners were not working the first 24 hours, and the rooms were just so-so. No fridge as most places have and really strange bathroom set-ups. The beds were comfy though and the food that they had for us in the mornings was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a school trip with 48 kids and 5 chaperones. On the first night, we had to switch two rooms due to the bugs in the beds and on the walls. When we awoke the next morning, none of the three elevators were working and for the next two nights we had to walk down/up 6 flights of stairs.

The breakfast we had was okay, but as all the workers stood around, they yelled at the kids to clean their own dishes and service the tables as the workers just stood around.

We bring our students every year to Washington DC but will never return here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Clarion Hotel is in a great location near the Harbor but you would think since it is a great location they would do a better job keeping the hotel clean the rooms are not in good condition the have bugs and dirty sheets on the beds and the halls are dark and dull looking the furniture is not clean and it looks like second hand furniture i think when you use the name harbor you could go the extra mile to make your guest stay a pleasant one. CONCERN GUEST

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Comfortable beds and friendly staff are the only perks found here. The furniture had ink marks all over them upon check-in and rather than take care of the problem maintenance/housekeeping said it would get wiped down after our stay. The high-speed internet did not work properly regardless what hour it was tried - hotel desk staff stated there were too many people. HBO was listed as a feature of the room but was not provided until well into the stay and a complaint filed. The fitness center had two machines broken down with no notice to guests which limited use. The 24/7 available coffee was not kept fresh and full 24/7 and front desk staff had to be notified. The indoor pool hours were horrible limiting children from enjoying their stay. There was no courtesy breakfast offered for guests and prices of breakfast was not worth the value. For the price - it should have been nice but unfortunately what you see is not what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel National Harbor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Interstates 95 and 495, the Oxon Hill, MD smoke-free Clarion Hotel® provides inviting accommodations near several national attractions. We are walking distance to the Oxon Hill Farm, seven miles from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, and minutes away from:White HouseUnited States CapitolLincoln MemorialWashington MonumentThe National Archives BuildingShop, dine and sight-see at the National Harbor, where you’ll also find the Gaylord National Convention Center. Several outdoor parks are also in close proximity.On site, enjoy a meal at the Clarion Restaurant and Lounge, which also offers room service. Other amenities include:Free wireless high-speed Internet accessFree local callsCopy and fax servicesAccess to our business center, exercise room and indoor heated pool is also provided. Host your next event in our five meeting spaces, which can accommodate up to 1,200 people.Our spacious guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail and cable television. Select rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators, work desks, sofa sleepers and wet bars.Microwave and refrigerator rentals are available at the front desk. Valet cleaning service is offered.Enjoy convenient location and cozy amenities at the Clarion Hotel in Oxon Hill, Maryland. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.