We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs and stairs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel National Harbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bugs and stairs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a school trip with 48 kids and 5 chaperones. On the first night, we had to switch two rooms due to the bugs in the beds and on the walls. When we awoke the next morning, none of the three elevators were working and for the next two nights we had to walk down/up 6 flights of stairs.

The breakfast we had was okay, but as all the workers stood around, they yelled at the kids to clean their own dishes and service the tables as the workers just stood around.

We bring our students every year to Washington DC but will never return here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    6
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
3
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Clarion Hotel is in a great location near the Harbor but you would think since it is a great location they would do a better job keeping the hotel clean the rooms are not in good condition the have bugs and dirty sheets on the beds and the halls are dark and dull looking the furniture is not clean and it looks like second hand furniture i think when you use the name harbor you could go the extra mile to make your guest stay a pleasant one. CONCERN GUEST

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Comfortable beds and friendly staff are the only perks found here. The furniture had ink marks all over them upon check-in and rather than take care of the problem maintenance/housekeeping said it would get wiped down after our stay. The high-speed internet did not work properly regardless what hour it was tried - hotel desk staff stated there were too many people. HBO was listed as a feature of the room but was not provided until well into the stay and a complaint filed. The fitness center had two machines broken down with no notice to guests which limited use. The 24/7 available coffee was not kept fresh and full 24/7 and front desk staff had to be notified. The indoor pool hours were horrible limiting children from enjoying their stay. There was no courtesy breakfast offered for guests and prices of breakfast was not worth the value. For the price - it should have been nice but unfortunately what you see is not what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We asked for wake up calls. Wrong tea, both mornings. The heater went on with a loud pop during the night, then continued in a dull roar. It was very cold out, so turning it off was not possible. They served a marginal breakfast.

Staff was nice, but the desk did not answer unless it was late at night.

The elevators opened directly across from rooms, at least on Several floors. Bad enough, but a large part of their clientele is student education trips--many bus loads of older children, many badly behaved, loud groups. The location close to Washington, DC.

We did not use the pool, but it looked nice.

If you go, make certain to request rooms far from the elevators if sleeping is of interest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Creepy neighborhood, outdated rooms, musty smelling halls, slow and unsecured internet connection. The room was clean, but just outdated. The reservation said there would be a fridge and microwave in the room, but get there and find that's an additional charge (even though it was listed as included during the reservation). The staff were very nice, but that's not enough to make me stay again (or for more than 1 night). Switched hotels asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly staff even at our 1:30am arrival, accommodated our request for adjoining rooms, very quiet so we were all able to sleep in until after 9:00am after late arrival. Comfortable beds and A/C worked well. Appears there are some recent upgrades in bathrooms (although the new soap dish had clearly fallen off in both showers), water pressure in shower was GREAT and everything was very clean. We missed breakfast, but the IHOP within a mile was a nice treat for the kids. Only suggestions: consider adding fridge to the rooms. If ever back in this area will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Location just off the beltway and close to a Metro park and ride. Friendly and courteous staff. Clean and comfortable room. But then it all falls down. Wi-fi was difficult to connect to, and usually dial up slow when I could connect. 4g on my phone was faster. Vending was supposed to be available on all floors, but many of the machines were damaged and unusable. No microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms.

I would stay again, but only if other hotels in the chain were unavailable at that time or rate.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill
Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel National Harbor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Interstates 95 and 495, the Oxon Hill, MD smoke-free Clarion Hotel® provides inviting accommodations near several national attractions. We are walking distance to the Oxon Hill Farm, seven miles from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, and minutes away from:White HouseUnited States CapitolLincoln MemorialWashington MonumentThe National Archives BuildingShop, dine and sight-see at the National Harbor, where you’ll also find the Gaylord National Convention Center. Several outdoor parks are also in close proximity.On site, enjoy a meal at the Clarion Restaurant and Lounge, which also offers room service. Other amenities include:Free wireless high-speed Internet accessFree local callsCopy and fax servicesAccess to our business center, exercise room and indoor heated pool is also provided. Host your next event in our five meeting spaces, which can accommodate up to 1,200 people.Our spacious guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail and cable television. Select rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators, work desks, sofa sleepers and wet bars.Microwave and refrigerator rentals are available at the front desk. Valet cleaning service is offered.Enjoy convenient location and cozy amenities at the Clarion Hotel in Oxon Hill, Maryland. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel National Harbor to your Saves list