We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks -” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harborside Hotel to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No thanks -”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Creepy neighborhood, outdated rooms, musty smelling halls, slow and unsecured internet connection. The room was clean, but just outdated. The reservation said there would be a fridge and microwave in the room, but get there and find that's an additional charge (even though it was listed as included during the reservation). The staff were very nice, but that's not enough to make me stay again (or for more than 1 night). Switched hotels asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    17
    9
See reviews for
18
4
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly staff even at our 1:30am arrival, accommodated our request for adjoining rooms, very quiet so we were all able to sleep in until after 9:00am after late arrival. Comfortable beds and A/C worked well. Appears there are some recent upgrades in bathrooms (although the new soap dish had clearly fallen off in both showers), water pressure in shower was GREAT and everything was very clean. We missed breakfast, but the IHOP within a mile was a nice treat for the kids. Only suggestions: consider adding fridge to the rooms. If ever back in this area will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Location just off the beltway and close to a Metro park and ride. Friendly and courteous staff. Clean and comfortable room. But then it all falls down. Wi-fi was difficult to connect to, and usually dial up slow when I could connect. 4g on my phone was faster. Vending was supposed to be available on all floors, but many of the machines were damaged and unusable. No microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms.

I would stay again, but only if other hotels in the chain were unavailable at that time or rate.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

i booked this hotel online without reading any reviews and what not, i just went for the price because it was the best out there. i arrived at the hotel checked in only to find out there was no crib in the room like a requested and no refrigerator, to get one is to pay $10.00 a day which to me was unhead off i would have paid extra on the room rate but to know i'm paying that just for a refrigerator (something that usually comes with the room in every other hotel i've stayed in is crazy) irritates me. the bed was made all the days we stayed there but i cant say the same for the cleaniness since my trash wasn't taken out a couple of times and i will find my wife's hair on the floor from ealier in the morning before we left for site seeing. good location, good restuarant but the staff need to pay more attension to the rooms and the things in them that makes customers comfortable and ensure they are properly taken care off. it's the only way they will get returnees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

i arrived at 3am and they told me that they do not take cash and then i mentioned to the guy that i needed a fridge and microwave. (traveling with 2 kids and they drink milk) I went to room and there wasnt any. then the tv wasnt plugged like it had just been put in there. there was also no coffee in room. The hasp on the door was broken. In the morning the bathtub got clogged and when i went to call the front desk the phone was not working. I go to the front desk and they say that there are no more fridges and that there are lots of people in front of me waiting for a fridge and i tell her about the tub and says she will let her maintence guy no as soon as he finishes talking (he was joking around with a group of friends) 45 min later he comes and we had already fixed the tub then the hair dryer did not work. I work in a hotel and if i would treat ppl the way that i wasd treated i would be fired and the guest would be reimbured. worst expierence ever

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

As nice and polite as the staff was, i can not justify the $199.99 a night price tag on this hotel.
I have stayed at econo-lodge hotels that had better rooms. All the Suites are located right next to the elevator shafts, so you are hearing noises all night. I booked the room so my daughter and grandson could come visit and go swimming, but guess what? The pool is only open from 6:30pm-10:30pm.Gonna check out and try http://www.comfortinn.com/hotel-dumfries-virginia-VA355

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, stay away from the elevator shafts, and do not waste your money on the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel recently joined the Choice Hotel chain and is going through some upgrades. There were some minor inconveniences during these upgrades, but they were all well taken care of by a staff that is super gracious, smiling, a used my name a lot.

For the business traveler you are only one block from the Beltway and 30 minutes to DCA airport. Restaurant/bar on site and several fast food and nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the backside which is quieter from the Beltway traffic. Higher floors have bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Washington National Harbor
1.8 mi away
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel

Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborside Hotel ... Sleep, Shop and Explore Our Nation's Capitol Like Never Before The Harborside Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95/495 (Capitol Beltway) Exit 3A in Oxon Hill, Maryland, just steps away from the New MGM Grand Casino site and minutes from downtown Washington, DC, National Harbor and historic Old Town Alexandria. The neighboring area offers a variety of restaurants and year round entertainment at National Harbor as well as shopping at Tanger Outlets less than 1 mile away. This modestly priced, non-smoking, full service, high-rise hotel is comprised of 194 well appointed large guest rooms and suites with double queen or king-sized beds. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, cable TV, telephones with free local calls and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the facility. The Harborside Hotel amenities include: the Gallant Fox Restaurant & Lounge, over 7500 sq.feet of banquet and meeting space, room service, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center and ample free parking. The goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to our guests focusing on individual business and leisure travel, as well as travel associated with a variety of groups. Our well trained, enthusiastic Harborside staff is always pleased to be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.