We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just because u are not a big chain doesn't mean ur services has to be mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel National Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel National Harbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just because u are not a big chain doesn't mean ur services has to be mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

i booked this hotel online without reading any reviews and what not, i just went for the price because it was the best out there. i arrived at the hotel checked in only to find out there was no crib in the room like a requested and no refrigerator, to get one is to pay $10.00 a day which to me was unhead off i would have paid extra on the room rate but to know i'm paying that just for a refrigerator (something that usually comes with the room in every other hotel i've stayed in is crazy) irritates me. the bed was made all the days we stayed there but i cant say the same for the cleaniness since my trash wasn't taken out a couple of times and i will find my wife's hair on the floor from ealier in the morning before we left for site seeing. good location, good restuarant but the staff need to pay more attension to the rooms and the things in them that makes customers comfortable and ensure they are properly taken care off. it's the only way they will get returnees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    7
    14
    9
See reviews for
15
4
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

i arrived at 3am and they told me that they do not take cash and then i mentioned to the guy that i needed a fridge and microwave. (traveling with 2 kids and they drink milk) I went to room and there wasnt any. then the tv wasnt plugged like it had just been put in there. there was also no coffee in room. The hasp on the door was broken. In the morning the bathtub got clogged and when i went to call the front desk the phone was not working. I go to the front desk and they say that there are no more fridges and that there are lots of people in front of me waiting for a fridge and i tell her about the tub and says she will let her maintence guy no as soon as he finishes talking (he was joking around with a group of friends) 45 min later he comes and we had already fixed the tub then the hair dryer did not work. I work in a hotel and if i would treat ppl the way that i wasd treated i would be fired and the guest would be reimbured. worst expierence ever

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

As nice and polite as the staff was, i can not justify the $199.99 a night price tag on this hotel.
I have stayed at econo-lodge hotels that had better rooms. All the Suites are located right next to the elevator shafts, so you are hearing noises all night. I booked the room so my daughter and grandson could come visit and go swimming, but guess what? The pool is only open from 6:30pm-10:30pm.Gonna check out and try http://www.comfortinn.com/hotel-dumfries-virginia-VA355

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, stay away from the elevator shafts, and do not waste your money on the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel recently joined the Choice Hotel chain and is going through some upgrades. There were some minor inconveniences during these upgrades, but they were all well taken care of by a staff that is super gracious, smiling, a used my name a lot.

For the business traveler you are only one block from the Beltway and 30 minutes to DCA airport. Restaurant/bar on site and several fast food and nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the backside which is quieter from the Beltway traffic. Higher floors have bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent bar area, comfortable beds, clean rooms

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Clarion for 5 nights. On the whole it was clean with a very friendly staff for a great value in the greater DC area. If you want to be close to the major DC sights, this is may not be the most convenient place for you. The metro is not convenient. However, if you have your own transportation and are interested in a clean and inexpensive by DC standards place to stay, this should be considered. As someone who likes to exercise, the "gym" left quite a bit to be desired (outdated and marginally functional equipment). But again, clean, friendly and *very* budget friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is an older building, but well-maintained. Halls and elevator were quite nice, and my room was spotlessly clean--I had no reservations about putting my yoga mat on the carpeted floor.

My room was spacious, and furnished with a large desk and workspace. There were many outlets, well-spaced, for my laptop computer and various electronics that I wanted to recharge.

My room was quiet, and the hotel was generally quiet, possibly because it's not peak tourist season right now. Bed was comfortable. The heat and air conditioning unit in the room was a bit noisy, but completely functional.

The free WiFi had several networks, some slow at times, but no problem finding an adequate Internet connection as needed.

Bath area was spacious; there was plenty of hot water whenever I wanted it, and a powerful shower head.

The in-room coffee maker and coffee were better than average. I enjoyed the free Wall Street Journal.

Front desk and other staff were friendly and attentive.

The location is near many places of interest; free parking. I didn't find the immediate neighborhood particularly interesting; neither did it make me at all uncomfortable.

It is likely I will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel National Harbor

Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Lexington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel National Harbor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Interstates 95 and 495, the Oxon Hill, MD smoke-free Clarion Hotel® provides inviting accommodations near several national attractions. We are walking distance to the Oxon Hill Farm, seven miles from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, and minutes away from:White HouseUnited States CapitolLincoln MemorialWashington MonumentThe National Archives BuildingShop, dine and sight-see at the National Harbor, where you’ll also find the Gaylord National Convention Center. Several outdoor parks are also in close proximity.On site, enjoy a meal at the Clarion Restaurant and Lounge, which also offers room service. Other amenities include:Free wireless high-speed Internet accessFree local callsCopy and fax servicesAccess to our business center, exercise room and indoor heated pool is also provided. Host your next event in our five meeting spaces, which can accommodate up to 1,200 people.Our spacious guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail and cable television. Select rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators, work desks, sofa sleepers and wet bars.Microwave and refrigerator rentals are available at the front desk. Valet cleaning service is offered.Enjoy convenient location and cozy amenities at the Clarion Hotel in Oxon Hill, Maryland. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.