We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Situated for Business and Great Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harborside Hotel to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well Situated for Business and Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel recently joined the Choice Hotel chain and is going through some upgrades. There were some minor inconveniences during these upgrades, but they were all well taken care of by a staff that is super gracious, smiling, a used my name a lot.

For the business traveler you are only one block from the Beltway and 30 minutes to DCA airport. Restaurant/bar on site and several fast food and nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the backside which is quieter from the Beltway traffic. Higher floors have bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    10
    17
    9
See reviews for
17
4
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent bar area, comfortable beds, clean rooms

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Clarion for 5 nights. On the whole it was clean with a very friendly staff for a great value in the greater DC area. If you want to be close to the major DC sights, this is may not be the most convenient place for you. The metro is not convenient. However, if you have your own transportation and are interested in a clean and inexpensive by DC standards place to stay, this should be considered. As someone who likes to exercise, the "gym" left quite a bit to be desired (outdated and marginally functional equipment). But again, clean, friendly and *very* budget friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is an older building, but well-maintained. Halls and elevator were quite nice, and my room was spotlessly clean--I had no reservations about putting my yoga mat on the carpeted floor.

My room was spacious, and furnished with a large desk and workspace. There were many outlets, well-spaced, for my laptop computer and various electronics that I wanted to recharge.

My room was quiet, and the hotel was generally quiet, possibly because it's not peak tourist season right now. Bed was comfortable. The heat and air conditioning unit in the room was a bit noisy, but completely functional.

The free WiFi had several networks, some slow at times, but no problem finding an adequate Internet connection as needed.

Bath area was spacious; there was plenty of hot water whenever I wanted it, and a powerful shower head.

The in-room coffee maker and coffee were better than average. I enjoyed the free Wall Street Journal.

Front desk and other staff were friendly and attentive.

The location is near many places of interest; free parking. I didn't find the immediate neighborhood particularly interesting; neither did it make me at all uncomfortable.

It is likely I will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed from July 28-31 for a family reunion. There were two family reunions that weekend and one night was an event with 20 or so vendors and a DJ. With that being said there were no incidents of loud noises or disturbances.

Location - good location, close to fast food restaurants and stores. I read reviews about the area being a little “iffy” and “urban”, I agree but had no problems.

Room – for the most part it was clean however there were quite a few tiny ants in my bathroom. I heard a lot of other guests complain about ants as well.

Front Desk – very courteous and helpful

Pool – I didn’t take advantage of the pool but it looked clean and well kept (the kids loved it)

Restaurant – I only ate in restaurant on Sunday for breakfast buffet; food was good, nice selection and they had an omelet station. A couple family members ordered breakfast on Friday morning and waited over 30 minutes for their food! It seemed as if the restaurant was understaffed. I was glad I avoided that headache by driving down the street to McDonalds.

Bar – I didn’t utilize but did see plenty of people sitting there and the lounge area was nice and spacious.

Parking – ample parking but the rear of the building was not well lit.

There really isn’t much else to say, it’s just a regular hotel, no bells and whistles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Visit to DC for Cherry Blossom Festival with 1,000,000 of our closest friends! Found this location across the Potomac from Alexandria, VA and right around the corner from National Harbor for almost $100 less per night than any other major chain. Easy access to highway 10 minutes to Southern Blvd Metro. This is not the best best neighborhood, and those not comfortable in a very urban area might want to look elsewhere. We had no problems, and were heading into the city early each morning, and returned late each night.

Room was clean, large and quiet. There were two or three school groups there at the same time, but we simply requested a floor they were not on, and never had a problem.

Front desk was efficient and friendly, as well as all the staff we encountered.

We only used the pool once, but it was adequate. We didn't eat or drink at the restaurant/bar.

Parking was ample and secure. No large chains within walking distance, but national Harbor with restaurants and shops was right around the corner, and Old Town Alexandria was right back across the Potomac with hundreds of place to shop and eat.

Bottom line is this was a great value for a visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My husband and I had to travel from MI to Ft. Washington for a friend's funeral. This hotel was 1 of 3 recommended to us by the deceased's family. Upon arrival I was met by a very pleasant and professional receptionist name Denise. I explained why we were in MD and that we were very tired from the long drive. I wanted to upgrade to a suite if possible. Denise found us a lovely suite (#828) on a quiet floor. The bed was so comfortable we slept all thru the night with no disturbance. We travel often usually staying @ 4 & above stars hotel. This stay @ this hotel certainly rates as a 4 stars. The restaurant food and service was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Oxon Hill
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
1.7 mi away
The Westin Washington National Harbor
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel

Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborside Hotel ... Sleep, Shop and Explore Our Nation's Capitol Like Never Before The Harborside Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95/495 (Capitol Beltway) Exit 3A in Oxon Hill, Maryland, just steps away from the New MGM Grand Casino site and minutes from downtown Washington, DC, National Harbor and historic Old Town Alexandria. The neighboring area offers a variety of restaurants and year round entertainment at National Harbor as well as shopping at Tanger Outlets less than 1 mile away. This modestly priced, non-smoking, full service, high-rise hotel is comprised of 194 well appointed large guest rooms and suites with double queen or king-sized beds. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, cable TV, telephones with free local calls and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the facility. The Harborside Hotel amenities include: the Gallant Fox Restaurant & Lounge, over 7500 sq.feet of banquet and meeting space, room service, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center and ample free parking. The goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to our guests focusing on individual business and leisure travel, as well as travel associated with a variety of groups. Our well trained, enthusiastic Harborside staff is always pleased to be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.