We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very big hotel. Hotel did great job on meals,etc. everything very clean. Housekeeping was great. Bell captain staff great. Pool and terrace area very pretty. View of Potomac very pretty. I've got to say though the glass enclosed river side kind of gave me claustrophobia. I kind of felt like I was part of that TV show Under the Dome. Most people loved it. National Harbor is a recent planned development with several restaurants all within 3-4 block walk. Several with outside terraces for dining. Very safe area. You are outside the beltway. Shopping in Natl Harbor limited. Tanger Outlet approx 1 mile away. Could walk or $5 cab ride for 2 people with cab arranged by hotel transportation desk. Everything is new construction in development. They are building a casino(MGM Grand?) at opposite end of National Harbor. Ferry available to Alexandria or Mount Vernon that can be accessed at hotel or 3 block walk to central dock. Most of restaurants outside hotel are $$$ but there are some $-$$ options and a McDonald's within an easy walking distance. Transportation desk at hotel very helpful. They have a shuttle (for charge) to DC/National Mall or will help with cab. Metro does not come to National Harbor. I did cabs and ferry to Alexandria.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    756
    448
    239
    172
See reviews for
395
268
114
1,466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were there for business and pleasure for 5 days and found the rooms with the river/pier view to be fantastic. Looking out and seeing the lighted ferris wheel and pier was great. The fountain shows in the evenings were nice and the extraordinarily large atrium was a nice atmosphere. We found the staff to always be very pleasant and wanting to serve. The event went well, the food was good. The breakfast buffets are over prices but really the only negative. It is a Gaylord hotel. The area has some great places to eat and shop, all in walking distance, and since it is a newly developed area, everything is new. At the pier they have a huge outdoor screen for watching ballgames and hanging out. So a nice area, growing quickly, and the entire trip was a very nice suprise.

Room Tip: Atrium view minimum and closer to the pier was our choice and at least the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed a few nights for a conference at the gaylord national. The hotel is huge, has everything from restaurants to gym to spa and (18th floor) nightclub and everything in between. Staff was helpful and atmosphere was good. Rooms are quiet and spacious. No complaints really.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights during a convention. Overall, it's a great place but very expensive. A cab ride from Reagan National is about 25 bucks and takes about 15 minutes. The hotel is in the National Pier area, which encompasses a few hotels a bunch of bars and a bunch of restaurants. There is a water taxi that can take you to Alexandria (and I believe a bunch of other different places).

The hotel is vast. The lobby floor was a bar, entrance to the spa and an elevator to a roof top bar. Across the hotel are convention areas. The floor below is where the restaurants (buffet, sports bar, steakhouse) are along with a few stores and some garden areas and streams.

The best rooms have a view of the atrium and a view of the river. The bathrooms are nice with a small stool for ladies to get ready. The beds are very comfortable and the room is pretty well appointed.

The downside of this place is the expense food. On average, I would spend $40 on dinner for room service. Drinks at the sports bar are about 12-15 dollars. This looks to be a place where there's convention after convention so maybe they aren't worried about cost since a lot seems to be expensed by the hosting companies. A lot of people ventured out for dinner to the many many bar and restaurants options that were literally 4 blocks away.

All in all a good trip.

Room Tip: View of the river, ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After expending 5 days in this property, it was like been in a resort but in a major city, WOW the best of both worlds. The staff was great,met every need and the property is well kept, with many facilities and services, plus with in a seclude and quite area, yet with in DC and other destinations.
The spa and gym are great too. Many restaurants with in walking distance and attractions too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river....high floor is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a great atmosphere. I highly recommend this hotel. The harbour area is awesome with loads of restaurants and upmarket shops to see.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently visited this hotel for three night on a business trip. As a Marriott Platnium traveler I was given preference treatment at cheek-in. I arrived at about midnight and was anxious to get to my room. The first room I was assigned unfortunately already had a guest in the room. The elite desk attendant was embarrassed by the error and as a result of his error, he gave me one of complimentary parking and a $75 meal credit.

When I awoke the first morning I realized I had left my electric razor at home. I called the front desk to ask if they had a complimentary razor I could use. They said yes and offered to bring it to my room as soon as possible. They brought a couple of Gillette disposables and some Gillette shaving cream to my room. It was more than I expected. I love the service provided by the staff at this hotel.

I took advantage of the meal credit in the onsite steak house. The meal was very good. I highly recommend the pork chop and the petite filet. Both very tasty. The atrium room have a balcony which overlooks the atrium. Very nice touch. I highly recommend this hotel. It's a real winner in National Harbor.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with an atrium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.