We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. The first time was for Abbey Road on the Potomac (Beatles Festival) and the second just because we found the resort so romantic that we slipped away for 3 days. The location is convenient to great area restaurants, pubs and night life. Romantic walks along the waterfront are a must.

Do not let the size of this resort overwhelm you; the staff catered to all of our wishes, recommended great restaurants, when we did not eat at the resort, and must see sights.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    796
    463
    245
    179
See reviews for
402
275
115
1,530
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a beautiful hotel and wonderful location. The shopping is terrific with a scavenger hunt for the children which kept them entertained. there is even a peeps store close by. The hotel itself is beautiful...but, that is where it ends. when I arrived by limo service, there was no bellman in sight (and it was not a busy time). my driver offered to get a kart and help me with my luggage. when we got to the door, a bellman mysteriously appeared and started yelling that I was not supposed to use the luggage kart...only bellman could. The next day, we were locked out of our room...due to a mistake in the reservation...that took almost an hour to get back into our room..all of our things were there...we were just locked out. That night, there was a party next door...when we called front desk, no one answered. we then tried concierge's desk, maid service...no one answered (and this was about eleven at night). we ended up having to go thru the 800 number for Gaylord and about 10 prompts. The hotel just needs some management help, more employees and just a tiny bit of sprucing up. what a shame to have such a wonderful facility and such lousy service.

Room Tip: try to get a room in section two and an odd room number to get a great view of the atrium and water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
sophie_marie_11, I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. There seems to be much more negative than positive that happened while you were here. I am not sure if you addressed your concerns with management at some point during your stay, but if you did not and would like to discuss them, please feel free to call me at 301-965-2109. Warm regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I joined hubby who was attending a conference at the Gaylord National in June 2014. The hotel, inside and out, was lovely and pretty darn big. The staff, for the most part, was very accommodating. But be warned - the prices at the hotel's restaurants, bars, etc., as well as every establishment at National Harbor, are very expensive. Folks who stay here are "captive" unless they have a car as there is no access to the Metro, and this hotel and all surrounding places take full advantage of that fact. The hotel does run a shuttle to the outlet mall and there is also a ferry from the boat dock over to Alexandria at a cost of about $16 roundtrip. The hotel is fine for a conference, but I would not stay here just to vacation.

Our room, which looked out over the main entrance of the hotel, was a corner room with two windows. Phillip, in customer service, picked it out for us as we called a day before arrival to find a "good" room that was near elevators and the conference center. It might be fun to stay overlooking the atrium, but it is very noisy as many others have written. The housekeeper, Nicole, was excellent, and did her best to meet every need. The only staff member who was less than helpful was, of all people, the concierge! We stopped by the desk around 5:30 one evening to ask for some restaurant suggestions. The concierge was clearly on a personal call, and did not even acknowledge us standing there for a couple of minutes. When she finally asked what we wanted, she didn't bother to hang up the phone. Her suggestions were not helpful at all and she flatly refused to call one restaurant we asked about because she said they didn't take reservations. Imagine our surprise when we went there anyway and the restaurant manager assured us that they did, indeed, accept reservations and would have appreciated a call from the hotel!

Room Tip: Be aware that this is a large hotel. You may want to stay near elevators and/or the conference cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Zinfandelover, Thanks for the recognition of Phillip and Nicole. I'll make sure that they are acknowledged in their departments for taking excellent care of you. I also appreciate the information about the concierge and apologize about that for happening. We will address this immediately with the team so it doesn't happen to someone else in the future. We hope to see you again here at the Gaylord in the future. Warm Regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stumbled across the Gaylord as it was under construction. We could not wait till it was completed. Once it was done we enjoyed our first stay and now come down twice a year. Everyone should experience such a great place. Inside the massive atrium is like a city within including restaurants, coffee shop, a bar and night club and great shopping. The atrium views have a great balcony overlooking all the action. It is quite breathtaking. Visiting a Christmas time is a must. The giant tree and decorations as well as the light show are incredible. Pay the extra money for the atrium view room.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra money for the Atrium View room. Great balcony overlooking all the action wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
travelgang4, Thank you for your recent 5 Star review of the hotel and your continued loyalty each year. We are so glad you enjoy yourself each and every time you are here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Warm Regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I usually stay at this particular Gaylord at least once a year. It was great as usual. The room was clean and the service was great. The staff does a great job ensuring customers are happy. My daughter and her friends had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
FerdiFam, Its great to hear we were able to provide you, your daughter and friends another memorable experience this year. Thanks so much for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you for years to come. Warm Regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a meeting. It is big and has a convention center, fedex office and different meeting points.
The room was good and clean. They have a shuttle service to the nearest outlet mall and to Washington for sight seeing. The grill house of the sport bar offered reasonable good food. There is a Starbucks too.
The hotel is on a great view of the harbor with a walking distance to it and the different restaurants around it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Amany R, Thanks for the recent 5 Star review of our hotel. It sounds like you were able to experience a lot of what's to offer here at the hotel and National Harbor. We hope that you get to come back and visit again soon. Warm Regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here for a week (July 10-16) for my masters graduation. Staff were friendly and attentive. The only hiccup was checking out, where the lady tricked us saying she would have given my family a Senior's discount due to my aunt's age but was billed the standard costs without the special for my university's graduation or the first two days when the rate dropped. The state tax were the bummer. Overall, the hotel is great scenery, near affordable shopping complexes and tourist attractions.I would return again.

Room Tip: The balcony i a good option and lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Director of Operational Excellence at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jeva G, Congratulations on earning your master's degree. Glad to hear that you had a great time during your graduation week here with us. Your comment about the rates sounds a little confusing, but if there is something we can do to clarify for you, please don't hesitate to give us a call. Warm Regards, Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.