We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A perfect location on the water, accommodates conventions easily. Close to great restaurants, shopping and a water taxi to Alexandria available also. Gorgeous atrium inside, rooms very nice. Would easily stay again!

Room Tip: do not choose a room with a balcony facing inside the atrium. Can get very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    817
    473
    251
    185
See reviews for
418
281
115
1,559
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at the Gaylord for a convention. While the room was clean and comfortable, what impressed me was the hotel's ability to handle the load of many people. There were many staff people servicing the check-in counter and I did not have to wait. I was always seated immediately in the restaurants, even when they appeared full. While the buffet restaurant was expensive ($16-25), I appreciated being able to pick out my food and quickly get in and out.

The hotel was fine for a conference.

Room Tip: Some reviewers recommend getting a room on the lower floors to avoid elevator wait times during busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My first time at a convention in Washington DC. The events and hotel were great. Everything in one place. I enjoyed the fitness center. My room was lovely and service was great. The breakfast and lunch hotel restaurant only had buffet which was disappointing. The weather was poor but it was great to be inside and be able to look out and stay dry and warm.

Room Tip: Ask for an atrium room. Lovely views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel, and probably the worst. The hotel itself is beautiful and an architectural marvel. Unfortunately the awe ends as soon as you reach your room. The hotel has an awesome view of the Potomac, excellent food, and a great atmosphere. This hotel has a lot of underlying problems and personnel issues though. I'll cover some of the major issues that I saw during my four night stay:

Staff:
- Hotel staff is VERY rude and disrespectful, these people do not care about hotel guests, just about making money. I had an encounter with some staff member who yelled at me because my door was propped open while talking to a co-worker down the hall. If you call to get more towels/sheets/pillows they won't show up until about an HOUR after you called.

Room:
- Room had major maintenance problems. The closet's hinges were held on by one screw, causing the doors to not close. One hinge was gone, the other was hanging precariously with tape. The bathroom light has the overall brightness of a nightlight. It takes about 5 minutes for the light to warm up to a point where you can see. I eventually learned to turn on the light about 10 minutes prior to when I wanted to use the bathroom. Other problems included a broken TV remote control and torn carpet in the room. The carpet had bubbles or "speed bumps" where it had come off the floor. For a high-class hotel, these rooms are about as low class as you can get.

Hallways:
- Typically people don't comment on hotel hallways, but they were so bad it's funny! The staff seems to never vacuum the halls. There is trash, little bits of paper, and other junk all over the hallways on every floor. Dirty dishes from room service are left in the hallway for at least a day and cause the hallway to smell awful from the old food residue. To make this matter worse, there were even dishes and old wine glasses INSIDE THE ELEVATOR! I kid you not.

Prices:
- The last thing that struck me was the cost of everything. They nickle and dime you for everything here. From TV, to the internet, to the menu prices in the restaurant. Prices in the restaurants range from about $10-$30 per person.

I would recommend avoiding this hotel if at all possible... Drop by the lobby and take in the sights, but don't spend the night. I have been at Super 8 motels that were better maintained than this supposedly "up-class" hotel is supposed to be. Save your self a lot of money and go to any other hotel in the area, don't bother on this one.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was my third time staying in the Gaylord for a conference. It is a wonderful location for a conference hotel. Tucked in a more quite part of MD, easy access to DC by car.

I have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms are large, clean and have a fridge. There are many restaurants in and outside the hotel. There is a CVS and small upscale food store within walking distance (to get your own non-allergen food). I've been offered meals at the hotel through the conference and they have been very accommodating with allergen free meals.

Be prepared to walk quite a distance from your room to the hotel lobby or conference rooms. This is an extremely large hotel.

Overall a good solid hotel. No complaints but nothing that stood out either.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Gaylord National Resort. Both times I stayed here in December. They Gaylord goes all out for the holidays. The decorations are stunning. The nightly light show was spectacular. We had so much fun walking to the different restaurants and bars one night. The upstairs lounge/bar at the Gaylord would be a much better experience with a new DJ, but it was still a fun atmosphere. The rooms are nice, modern, and clean. We ate breakfast at a restaurant across the street...I think it was the Public House. It was good and not too expensive. We definitely plan to go back during warmer weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

TV didn't work half of the time. I had a double when I requested a king. Marriot Rewards did not matter. Great hotel for huge conference, but that is the only reason I would stay here. Staff was very attentive. Work out facilities were good. Views were very good and location was good.


Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.