We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights here to celebrate our anniversary - and took advantage of a great special National Resort was offering. The hotel rooms were very nice - as was the rest of the resort. The spa was FANTASTIC.
We took the water taxi to a Nationals Baseball game - so fun! Definitely recommend staying here if you're in the DC area and don't need to be in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    716
    435
    230
    168
See reviews for
382
252
114
1399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for an event. The room was very clean and everything worked (e.g., hot water, iron, etc.). The room was relatively quiet. My only complaint at the hotel is the National Pastime restaurant. When the restaurant was crowded, we had to wait 2.5 hours to get our food. However, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. (The area outside the hotel is safe and very walkable.)

The fitness center in the hotel is nicely sized (larger than most). It had a nice selection of dumbbells. It had just a few Nautilus-style machines and some treadmills and bikes. So, the selection of exercise equipment was a bit better than what you usually see. I believe that the fitness center was open 24-hours.

There is a convenience store, of sorts, on the atrium level of the hotel where you can purchase bottles of water. However, two bottles of water are complimentary each day. (This is definitely good if you will be busy and may not have time to pick up any water.)

Unfortunately, the hotel room did not seem to have a safe to lock up valuables.

In terms of the layout of the hotel for events, I always find the "Convention Center" side of the hotel confusing. You can access the Convention Center from the second floor of the hotel as they connect to each other.

The fifth floor of the hotel has Room 5221 on the hotel side which can be used for a private party. If you enter the room, you will soon see that it is an "open" space and you will be able to see the holiday decorations which are up in the main area of the hotel's open space. Quite a nice site.

There is a CVS which is just a few blocks from the hotel (near the restuarants and such).

There are generally taxi cabs always waiting outside of the hotel. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes away from Reagan National Airport (DCA).

All in all, staying at this hotel was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've seen a lot of hotels decorated for the holidays but this was awesome. I was there for business and I still felt that holiday spirit. Everything was beautiful. Sports bar food was great............

Room Tip: The atrium view was pretty but a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our trade association signed a ten year contract to hold our annual conference at the Gaylord. Before we were at different hotels in DC. Close, but no cigar. It's a $40 cab ride to any of the sights in our nations capital and a $100 ride to Dulles Airport. You are trapped, so forget about bringing the family and having the kids go to the Smithsonian while your attending the conference. The building is beautiful, but other than shopping there is nothing to do. Everything is resort priced because you don't have a lot of options. It's a Marriott but doesn't have an executive lounge. Breakfast downstairs is very, very expensive with a limited selection. Resort fee is tacked on so even if you are Marriott Elite you still pay for internet. After the first year of the contract so many of our members defected to other properties the trade association instituted a surcharge of $250 for conference attendees who don't stay at the Gaylord. Because the hotel is large you get a sense of impersonality. Staff I did interact with were friendly and helpful. However, my wakeup call was missed two mornings in a row. I have spent hundreds and hundreds of nights in Marriotts around the world and this one is a miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at hotel for convention. This area is an artificial setting, so keeping that in mind...typical Marriott (good) room. Bed and bedding is sooo comfortable, bathroom clean, well-appointed. Cleaning staff did a great job (and hotel was filled with two different juvenile groups). Place is busy from doormen, baggage, check-in, check-out etc, but all was handled well. (Would suggest giving yourself 10-15 min extra time, over what you would normally allow). This was a good stay for a convention or family reunion. This is not where I would stay if I wanted to see anything regarding the city.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms look over the atrium, which is looking down upon it's own little village--very pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed recently to massage a client from the Redskins before their Monday night game. This place was GORGEOUS! Great service on the way in. Beautifully decorated for Christmas. Not very impressed on the way out. Wasn't able to get in touch with anyone to help me with my bags (many purchases + massage table). Literally walked past SEVERAL employees on my way down to my vehicle who didn't offer to help me. I ended up leaving with a REALLY bad taste in my mouth because of it. Of course, once I was 5 feet from the truck, EVERYONE offered help, to which I declined. After the valet guy INSISTED on helping even though I declined twice, he then decided to drop my bag that he was carrying in a puddle and walk away. So disappointing to leave on a bad note after how great the service had been.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The gaylord is a fancy huge hotel, no sense to sleep ther if you don't visit a convention there as it is far away from anything and very very costly. What made me feel cheated is the hidden resort charges that are 10% extra and are not presented initially. If it's not exteremely cold, get out from teh hotel and ask the conciege for places to eat..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.