We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT SHIP FEDEX!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas on the Potomac
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
1 review
“DO NOT SHIP FEDEX!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Because of a back injury which prevents me from shipping my luggage, I have been shipping my luggage to hotels via FedEx for over a year. This worked flawlessly a numerous hotels - the box would sit in the bellman area till I arrived and then they would bring it up to my room for no charge. And to send it home I preprinted labels, the bellman picked it up and fedex ground would pick it up for no charge.

Not so at the Gaylord resort. Because there is an actual fedex office in the adjoining conference room (which you'd think makes it easier for them), they charged a $30 handling fee to receive two boxes totaling 30 pounds, and a $25 handling fee to bring it to my room (their facility was steps from the elevator). I tried to avoid this (and the incredible frustration it creates) on the outbound trip by having a bellman come up. Sure enough, I get a call 10min later from the assistant manager complaining they can't see the fedex account number on my preprinted label. When I asked why they needed it, they said they needed to charge me another $30 handling fee! So basically it costs $53 to ship these 2 boxes across the country and $55 to ship them the last 1/4 mile within the hotel to my room.

I'm switching to UPS.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    824
    475
    252
    186
See reviews for
423
282
116
1,562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobb Island, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Traveled to Wash D.C end of Sept 2013 to take advantage of the "Endless Summer Days" promotion with my husband, 8 year old boy and 6 year old daughter. Two days cost us $800+, wicked expensive in my mind. Okay, the place is pretty spectacular, immense, marble everywhere, attentive staff, great pool, swanky atmosphere but all the resort fees ($18/night), parking ($24/night), state tax ($12/night), extraneous other taxes out the nose...the fees and taxes were at least $65/night in addition to the room rate. Spa was gorgeous, breakfast buffet quite nice, local restaurants quite nice. We went to Nat'l Zoo and Air & Space Annex near Dulles. Perfect, just a little too pricey. Room upgrade overlooking atrium and fountains was very nice although we feared for our children's lives on the 16th floor. Would NOT come back as a result of the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not only is this hotel away from any action, your choices are very limited for dining in the hotel. For breakfast, there is only a buffet option (overpriced and especially for kids) or a coffee shop, where one can grab a breakfast sandwich. There were three choices of buffet but the omelet bar was very limited with selection of vegetables for the price and it didn't even come with toast. For dinner, the kids steak was $49.00 and that was all that came on the plate as there are NO kid meal options. There was a small area of video games but again, they were costly and very yesterday games. There was nothing to do at this hotel or in this area without an expensive cab ride out to downtown DC. Only for conventioneers really! Don't bring the family!! Besides, this hotel is so large that it is not easy to navigate. There are many blooming flowers and constant gardeners replacing flowers but I felt it was at my expense of more practical choices.

Room Tip: Pick the nearby Residence Inn or Hampton Inn for a better value and easier to navigate hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was a great place for large conference group! Spacious and an excellent location plenty of shops an restaurants within walking distance! Rooms were nice and very clean. There are several restaurants in the hotel itself as well as some shopping and a spa. The pool was big and outdoor. Nice places to sit and just be outside on the Patomac.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here while attending a conference and overall, my stay was nice. I was upgraded to a room that that had a balcony overlooking the large atrium and that was nice. My room was nice but not incredible. I don't like that the elevators seem to be spread throughout the hotel and so it does take a walk to find the nearest elevator. The good thing about the hotel is that it's in a beautiful location within walking distance of a lot of fun restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference here for 4 nights. Was happy to get a 'conference rate' of $275: when I checked in however, I was shocked to find out what an average room it turned out to be, with no view of the harbor whatsoever. For the price that I paid, I could have gotten a better deal nearby. The rooms were clean with basic amenities. All the restaurants in the hotel were pricey of course! service was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I came for a conference and was surprised at the number of new buildings planned. Yes to MGM casino being built next door. Across the street is the Marriot Residence. Gaylord is a Marriot Hotel, and a grand one at them. Atrium setting is astounding. Eating areas inside abound and outside area, shopping and leisure eating establishments. Staff are very accommodating, friendly.

About 35$ from DCA and the same for cab to DC. Tours galore from the hotel. Belvedere lounge overlooks huge atrium area.

Internet included in special fee with other amenities. Internet in hotel is weak however. Bottled water included. Room is very comfortable. Bed, sheets very nice.

The Harbor area is nice but not downtown DC which would mean even more expensive .... I'd return again if there was a conference here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.