We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel: pricey (watch those extras!) and so-so service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel: pricey (watch those extras!) and so-so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is huge, but it's a convention center, so that's to be expected. The atrium and conference areas are awesome! The Potomac is just outside the door, and the general area is great.

Rooms: The rooms were fine. The beds were adequate: one of them creaked pretty much and both had a wooden frame around the bottom - perfect for banging your leg in the dark (why have these at all?) The Internet (*see below) worked fine. Overall, a pretty average room in a fancy hotel.

Check-in took forever: I was 4th in line and it just crawled. Check-out: I was 3rd in line and it took about 20 minutes. No idea why!

Parking: very expensive, self or valet. There are other options nearby. No delf-use luggage carts (again, to be expected at a resort).

* pricey: Your rate doesn't include the "resort fee" or parking. For us, that added about $40-$60/day for both. The resort fee includes Internet and... was it just Internet? Internet and the privilege of being there?

We asked about a room upgrade and it was "$250 per night additional" Additional?!? It was an easy 'no'. I saw an earlier review talking about wildly different rates, and it makes sense. I suspect that's true.

We didn't eat in the hotel - everything seemed pretty pricey. There are plenty of places to eat in the complex around the resort.

One disadvantage is that the area is nowhere near the Metro in D.C. You can take a free shuttle (note - the Gaylord isn't in with the 'free shuttle' but the other hotels are. Just step on the shuttle and show your room key - it works). Take the shuttle to King St. Metro. The water taxi works also, or a cab, but not as convenient to get all around D.C.

Note - we also stayed across the street at the Residence Inn (I reviewed that as well) and they have some issues. So, would I stay here again? I'd certainly look at the other hotels at the Harbor first, but I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    699
    656
    405
    222
    161
See reviews for
365
240
110
1292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Gaylord for a conference and was very happy with all aspects of this hotel: location, session rooms, convenience, quiet in the evening, cleanliness. I did not eat in the restaurants but the hotel provided breakfast and lunch (snacks too) for the conference and it was all very good. The setting, across the Potomac from DC, is quite lovely. The front desk is very accommodating. Overall, a wonderful experience. I may need to try some of the other Gaylord's...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Truly an excellent choice for a corporate meeting in the greater DC area...All staff members were pleased to offer assistance and make my stay truly enjoyable. The food was very good. .room was comfy abd spotless. ...many restaurants and bars in the area ..the hotel is huge and offers lots of good options...nice coffee shop and the roof top lounge is certainly a good time with great views. .


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Gaylord in National Harbour is probably the most interesting hotels I've ever stayed in. We stayed for my daughters birthday and received a huge discount on our room. We had to show her birth certificate as proof. Understandable. I thought we would be given a dumpy room in a dark part of the property but boy was I wrong! We were given a room which was one floor down from the top floor and dead center of the length of the atrium. The room was immaculate and very well appointed. Beds were comfy. We had a balcony over the atrium giving us a birds-eye view of it all. The atrium was freaking massive, overlooking shops, restaurants and a beautiful, colorful, fountain which is synced to music. It is also enclosed in glass, giving a gorgeous view of the sky and allowing guests to shop/peruse the odd shops in inclement weather. How many other hotels offer that? Not many! My kids loved it! We could walk around the hotel and be fully entertained. They also have a nice gym and pool. We are hoping to return soon!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, ask for a room on a low floor. I could not set foot on the balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I needed a quick getaway for us with the kids. Ceritifkid ran a special that included tix to the upcoming Ice Show during the holiday season(which is also a must see) plus a resort credit!! So, off we went. The resort is beautiful. The room was immaculate and wonderfully appointed. It was a little small; we probably needed a suite, but the kids love the atrium view balcony. And, since it was going to rain one day, I was glad that the pool was indoors. The staff was all very gracious. Also, there are lots of shops and restaurants on the harbor that made it a perfect little getaway. They asked to come back again. I guess that makes it a winner. We even ran into some of the Redskins there. They were staying there before their last preseason game. (I hope their season turns around.) I digress, nothing but good reviews for the Gaylord!

Room Tip: Atrium view higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Gaylord National Resort. We were there for our anniversary. The hotel and grounds are beautiful also well maintained and clean. We were up graded to a suite. It was spectacular! All of the rooms were immaculate, bed was very comfortable. We had an atrium room with a beautiful view of the water and the atrium. Service was first class in all of the hotel. Loved viewing the fountain show at night from our balcony. We took the water taxi to Old Town Alexandria. Very easy to access, many times to choose from. We had room service for breakfast, it was delicious and promptly delivered to our room. We also walked to all the stores in the harbor, they have some very nice specialty stores and a lot of restaurants. We have stayed at several of the Gaylord properties and we were not disappointed in this one. They properties may be priced more than other hotels but you get what you pay for and so worth the stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I bookedthis because the conference was held there. beautiful resort, it's like a city, the hotel is huge, the floor plan is split and not easy to navigate. cute shops inside the hotel but pricey. the food was not special, the National pastime Bar and grill was open late, the service was poor, food was bland and it was pricey. overall hotel beautiful, but the food and service lousy. I would stay again but go outside the hotel to eat.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony but be prepared to barter over the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel
Gaylord National Oxon Hill
Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.