We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a conference.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Perry Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a conference.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Gaylord for a conference and was very happy with all aspects of this hotel: location, session rooms, convenience, quiet in the evening, cleanliness. I did not eat in the restaurants but the hotel provided breakfast and lunch (snacks too) for the conference and it was all very good. The setting, across the Potomac from DC, is quite lovely. The front desk is very accommodating. Overall, a wonderful experience. I may need to try some of the other Gaylord's...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    761
    721
    434
    230
    168
See reviews for
382
253
114
1407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Truly an excellent choice for a corporate meeting in the greater DC area...All staff members were pleased to offer assistance and make my stay truly enjoyable. The food was very good. .room was comfy abd spotless. ...many restaurants and bars in the area ..the hotel is huge and offers lots of good options...nice coffee shop and the roof top lounge is certainly a good time with great views. .


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Gaylord in National Harbour is probably the most interesting hotels I've ever stayed in. We stayed for my daughters birthday and received a huge discount on our room. We had to show her birth certificate as proof. Understandable. I thought we would be given a dumpy room in a dark part of the property but boy was I wrong! We were given a room which was one floor down from the top floor and dead center of the length of the atrium. The room was immaculate and very well appointed. Beds were comfy. We had a balcony over the atrium giving us a birds-eye view of it all. The atrium was freaking massive, overlooking shops, restaurants and a beautiful, colorful, fountain which is synced to music. It is also enclosed in glass, giving a gorgeous view of the sky and allowing guests to shop/peruse the odd shops in inclement weather. How many other hotels offer that? Not many! My kids loved it! We could walk around the hotel and be fully entertained. They also have a nice gym and pool. We are hoping to return soon!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, ask for a room on a low floor. I could not set foot on the balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I needed a quick getaway for us with the kids. Ceritifkid ran a special that included tix to the upcoming Ice Show during the holiday season(which is also a must see) plus a resort credit!! So, off we went. The resort is beautiful. The room was immaculate and wonderfully appointed. It was a little small; we probably needed a suite, but the kids love the atrium view balcony. And, since it was going to rain one day, I was glad that the pool was indoors. The staff was all very gracious. Also, there are lots of shops and restaurants on the harbor that made it a perfect little getaway. They asked to come back again. I guess that makes it a winner. We even ran into some of the Redskins there. They were staying there before their last preseason game. (I hope their season turns around.) I digress, nothing but good reviews for the Gaylord!

Room Tip: Atrium view higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Gaylord National Resort. We were there for our anniversary. The hotel and grounds are beautiful also well maintained and clean. We were up graded to a suite. It was spectacular! All of the rooms were immaculate, bed was very comfortable. We had an atrium room with a beautiful view of the water and the atrium. Service was first class in all of the hotel. Loved viewing the fountain show at night from our balcony. We took the water taxi to Old Town Alexandria. Very easy to access, many times to choose from. We had room service for breakfast, it was delicious and promptly delivered to our room. We also walked to all the stores in the harbor, they have some very nice specialty stores and a lot of restaurants. We have stayed at several of the Gaylord properties and we were not disappointed in this one. They properties may be priced more than other hotels but you get what you pay for and so worth the stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I bookedthis because the conference was held there. beautiful resort, it's like a city, the hotel is huge, the floor plan is split and not easy to navigate. cute shops inside the hotel but pricey. the food was not special, the National pastime Bar and grill was open late, the service was poor, food was bland and it was pricey. overall hotel beautiful, but the food and service lousy. I would stay again but go outside the hotel to eat.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony but be prepared to barter over the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first time to National Harbor and the Gaylor National Resort. The Resort is spectacular- gorgeous facility (fountains, all glass with a view of the Potomac ... rooms look out at the Potomac where you can watch planes land in DC or face the gorgeous inner courtyard). The wi-fi is FREE. The fitness center is top of the line and also has no charge. I would HIGHLY recommend a visit to the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center AND National Harbor if you are traveling to the DC area - they offer free shuttle service to the metro/DC sites.

Room Tip: You might prefer a courtyard view OR a Potomac River view- be sure to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.